WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Blizzard Mail Frame Question (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39264)

Wickedshifts 03-13-11 06:56 PM

Blizzard Mail Frame Question

I was wondering if it's possible to edit or even create an entirely new frame to replace the default Mail frame? I ask because I have an idea for an addon (Yes it has been done before, but to be honest I hate running 2 - 3 addons for different functions, when they can possibly be all added together into one single addon) & I think for it to work corretly & even look right in my eyes (Im a very visual person... Yes, I draw my frames & layout on paper before I even start to try & code anything... im a coding newb BTW :( But want to learn!), the mail Frame would have to be completly remade to fit my UI.

Dawn 03-13-11 07:50 PM

Skinning normally doesn't require a complete rewrite, unless new/different features/functionality is involved.

You should get away with adjusting/changing the appearance and position of existent frames. Again, this depends on what you are aiming for.

Wickedshifts 03-13-11 08:27 PM

Well im using a copy of ElvUI amd I have modified some things but nothing major, just UF layout etc... Im really asking about the mail things because as of right now I am using Jeebus & Postal for my mail, reason being is this. Jeebus does a GREAT job of remember Alt names, guild members, friends, etc... Postal does it to, however, does not remember my horde Shamans name I send BoAs to from time to time when I level him. Postal has the main feature I am looking for a 'Take All' button, or I can check a box next to the mails I want to take from my box & it will open those mails, instead of me having to it manually.