WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   "realmName" no longer a valid CVar (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48427)

semlar 10-29-13 01:24 PM

"realmName" no longer a valid CVar
 
Any instances of GetCVar("realmName") should probably be replaced with GetRealmName().

I'm not sure how early GetRealmName() returns valid information, but you might have to wait until PLAYER_LOGIN.

bsmorgan 10-29-13 02:11 PM

Way to go Blizzard! Not even a release note!

I did a mass search and replace (using grepWin) but that isn't enough. Either I play with no addons or instead of playing, I spend the rest of the day doing a binary search for which addons are busted.

Dridzt 10-29-13 02:18 PM

CVar still returns data for me on 5.4.0 (EU so no maintenance yet)

Is that a 5.4.1 thing?

Nimhfree 10-29-13 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsmorgan (Post 286361)
Way to go Blizzard! Not even a release note!

I did a mass search and replace (using grepWin) but that isn't enough. Either I play with no addons or instead of playing, I spend the rest of the day doing a binary search for which addons are busted.

How about changing directories to the AddOns and doing:

find . -type f -exec grep "GetCVar" {} /dev/null \; | grep realmName

Should tell you what still uses realmName (or whatever you choose to replace that with).

Fizzlemizz 10-29-13 02:52 PM

Apparently. I've just been bitten by it after the new download.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dridzt (Post 286362)
CVar still returns data for me on 5.4.0 (EU so no maintenance yet)

Is that a 5.4.1 thing?


bsmorgan 10-29-13 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dridzt (Post 286362)
Is that a 5.4.1 thing?

Yes it is!

bsmorgan 10-29-13 03:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nimhfree (Post 286364)
How about changing directories to the AddOns and doing:

find . -type f -exec grep "GetCVar" {} /dev/null \; | grep realmName

Should tell you what still uses realmName (or whatever you choose to replace that with).

Since WoW doesn't (officially) run on Linux, I used winGrep which is a Windows version of grep with a GUI.

Nimhfree 10-29-13 03:56 PM

Sorry for the "Mac-only" find command. I thought Windows had adopted a bunch of the Unix commands a while back. I don't have anything more modern than Windows NT and I used to use Unix commands in that.

Xrystal 10-29-13 04:34 PM

The same seems to be for SetCVar("raidFramesDisplayIncomingHeals", 1 ) which is used in nUI. Looking at UnitFrame.lua in the 5.4.1 FrameXML it looks like they removed that one as well. Does this mean that all cvars have been removed I wonder.

Fizzlemizz 10-29-13 05:04 PM

Probably just the ones they added function calls for in 5.4.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xrystal (Post 286377)
The same seems to be for SetCVar("raidFramesDisplayIncomingHeals", 1 ) which is used in nUI. Looking at UnitFrame.lua in the 5.4.1 FrameXML it looks like they removed that one as well. Does this mean that all cvars have been removed I wonder.


Haleth 10-30-13 05:13 AM

And apparently you can't overwrite WORLDMAP_WINDOWED_SIZE anymore without causing a guaranteed taint error every time you open the world map. :(

There goes easy resizing.

Edit: this workaround was added to Mapster:

Code:

setfenv(WorldMapFrame_OnShow, setmetatable({ UpdateMicroButtons = function() end }, { __index = _G }))

AnrDaemon 11-05-13 03:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsmorgan (Post 286372)
Since WoW doesn't (officially) run on Linux

http://cygwin.com/
No need to be on Linux to have a full-feature command line toolset.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI