WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   MoP Beta archived threads (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   MikScrollingBattleText 5.7 for MoP (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43751)

Mikord 07-19-12 11:14 AM

MikScrollingBattleText 5.7 for MoP
 
I've released an initial update of MSBT to support MoP: MikScrollingBattleText (MoP Beta)

I believe I have handled the vast majority of updates needed, however I could use your help with the following:
  • New Triggers that would be useful for all classes, particularly Monks
  • Identification of any old triggers that I've missed which are now incorrect or no longer apply

Shmii 07-19-12 01:32 PM

I tried to update the addon myself several days ago and ran into that UnitGUID bug too. I managed to get rid of the lua errors by checking for nil around line 687 in MSBTParser.lua. I haven't noticed any glaring bugs come out of it, but at least it got the error spam to stop.

Code:

if(guid ~= nil and unitMap ~= nil) then
  unitMap[guid] = unitID
  if (not classMap[guid]) then _, classMap[guid] = UnitClass(unitID) end
  classTimes[guid] = nil
end


Mikord 07-19-12 02:36 PM

Thanks for the information.

I was considering adding a nil check there as well, but I decided against it since it would result in any triggers that involve party/raid members to fail due to the parser relying on the GUIDs to identify them.

That said, I probably should still add it for the time being at the expense of the party/raid triggers until either Blizzard fixes it, or I implement a delay to work around the Blizzard issues.

Mikord 07-20-12 09:22 AM

Potential Brewmaster Tweaks
 
For Brewmaster Monks, I'm considering the following changes:
  • Handle Chi power like Combo Points and Holy Power (showing the number of Chi you have rather than +X Chi on gains) (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.2)
  • Suppress all Elusive Brew gains (it's super spammy) and instead create triggers for Elusive Brew x5, x10, and x15 (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.3)
  • Suppress all Power Guard gains and add trigger for Power Guard x3 (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.3)

I've tried these out and it cleans up the spam for me quite a bit. Thoughts or concerns?

Coldkil 07-21-12 07:01 AM

My monk chi bar is treated as combopoints - the only thing that's different is the talent that makes you have 4 or 5 maximum chi.

As a side note, can you please add in the options for font the "MONOCHORMEOUTLINE"? It would be awesome to support pixelfonts.

EDIT: dunno if i'm missing the option, but would be awesome also if you could set up an option for truncating numbers. So 12600 could become 12k6 or whatever.

Atm for my UI i'm editing your files adding the methods to truncete numbers, but it would be really cool if that was a part of native support.

Phanx 07-21-12 07:54 AM

In addition to shortening "12600" to "12.6k" or just "12k", it would also be nice to get an option for digit grouping, eg. turning "12600" into "12,600". In MoP beta builds, UIParent.lua defines functions for both (AbbreviateLargeNumbers and BreakUpLargeNumbers) but both could probably be written more efficiently.

Mikord 07-21-12 09:12 AM

Coldkill:

I'm pretty sure Monochrome + Outline is already supported and has been for quite some time. Go to the master font settings (or if you want it on a specific scroll area / events, change those accordingly) and select "Monochrome + Thin" for the Outline.

I have number rounding on the agenda of things to update for MoP, so it should be in withing the next 2-3 releases.

Phanx:

I'll add digit grouping as an option too. Now that the numbers are getting larger, it makes sense to have these options.

Coldkil 07-21-12 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikord (Post 258537)
Coldkill:

I'm pretty sure Monochrome + Outline is already supported and has been for quite some time. Go to the master font settings (or if you want it on a specific scroll area / events, change those accordingly) and select "Monochrome + Outline" for the Outline.

rally? last time i have checked and i needed to edit the files - updating now to last build and making sure there is the option.

EDIT: found the option, i was really blind to miss that ;)

Mikord 07-21-12 10:54 AM

For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?

Coldkil 07-21-12 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikord (Post 258545)
For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?

this is the code i'm using
Code:

lib.siValue = function(val)
        if(val >= 1e6) then
                return ('%.1f'):format(val / 1e6):gsub('%.', 'm')
        elseif(val >= 1e4) then
                return ("%.1f"):format(val / 1e3):gsub('%.', 'k')
        else
                return val
        end
end

so i prefer the nearest hundred ;) would be awesome if the string format could be user-defined instead of fixated. I don't know how complicated would be that anyway ;)

Vlad 07-21-12 03:39 PM

For international release addons, keep in mind that "." is for US while in EU it's "," so US code where the char is hard-coded would only work properly on US locale. It's not about the game locale too, I think it's the computer region that decides, take a look at: SetEuropeanNumbers - not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.

Phanx 07-21-12 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vladinator (Post 258552)
For international release addons, keep in mind that "." is for US while in EU it's "," so US code where the char is hard-coded would only work properly on US locale. It's not about the game locale too, I think it's the computer region that decides, take a look at: SetEuropeanNumbers - not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.

DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR are defined in GlobalStrings.lua, misspelled variable names and all. ;)

Also, for decimals, string.format("%.1fk", "32765") will return "32.7k" or "32,7k" depending on your locale. There is no digit grouping function built into Lua, though, so you'll have to write your own.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikord (Post 258545)
For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?

I'd prefer 33k (or even 32k; accuracy is less important than brevity in this context) but as long as it's only one decimal place, either way is acceptable.

Ketho 07-21-12 05:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vladinator (Post 258552)
not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.

Coincidentally, there is the new IsEuropeanNumbers() function added in mop (wowprog | wowpedia) (returns true/false)

Mikord 07-21-12 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phanx (Post 258554)
DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR are defined in GlobalStrings.lua, misspelled variable names and all. ;)

I noticed those misspelled variables as well when looking through GlobalStrings ^_^.

I've decided to just make it a customizable precision of 0 or 1. So 33k or 32.8k depending on user preference. As far as the digit grouping, I've got it in my local version already as well. Both of the functions do make use of DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR so they work properly in all locales.

Thanks for the feedback all.

Mikord 07-23-12 05:24 PM

Version 5.7.4 has the shorten number and group by thousand options implemented.

Coldkil 07-24-12 03:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikord (Post 258666)
Version 5.7.4 has the shorten number and group by thousand options implemented.

/props

Another thing that has come to my mind while tweking my UI. First it would be awesome if the output format is user-defined (like the event strings, to choose if you prefer 32.8k or 32k8 or whatever).

Second, i think it should be possible to add a spec check for triggers. Afaik it isn't possible to choose it in the conditions already built in (but i can probably be wrong like as for monochrome outline), and a GetSpecialization() method is already in the new API.

Mikord 07-24-12 07:32 AM

Coldkill:

There is a trigger exception for Active Talents which serves that purpose. The trigger won't fire if the selected talents specified via that exception are active (a little backwards from the way you described it, but same end result).

Coldkil 07-24-12 12:20 PM

Ok, going to give a try to it ;)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI