WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   LF Someone willing to update a old oUF template (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35471)

Dessembrae 10-13-10 03:29 PM

LF Someone willing to update a old oUF template
 
2 Attachment(s)
I'm looking for someone willing to update a old oUF template to current version.

It managed to last worked with the 1.3x tree of oUF.
There's so many changes now that I don't know where to begin.

The template was based on the oUF_Ammo template.
It comes out of the TenUI compilation.

I'm trying to update the UI package as far as possible so it can be posted again for the 4.x patch of WoW.

If anyone is willing please send me a PM.

Thanks, Dessembrae.

Edit: Added the 2 files from the oUF part in case anyone want's to have a look at it.
layout.lua is from the TenUI oUF setup (1.3.28 works)
pic.lua is the 3D portrait

Dessembrae 10-15-10 04:28 PM

I am gonna give it a stab and try and do it myself.
It's gonna take some time and probably alot of reading and digging trough other layouts to get even a hint of understanding lua properly and what does what, but nonetheless....

I have just a question to start with.

With 1.5.x there's a extra map in the download package of oUF called Elements.
Are these elements called upon to make use of the function in the main layout, or are they meant as code references for the available functions in oUF?

And if they are called upon in the main layout, where can I see a (preferably working) example of this?

Thanks, Dessembrae.

Dessembrae 10-16-10 07:51 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, pic.lua was not that hard (although I don't have the slightest clue why this version works, and the former doesn't).

Now to the layout itself *cowers in fear*

MoonWitch 10-16-10 08:21 AM

my best advice to you is to look at a working layout, look at the differences.

1.5 is very different from the older versions, there's new elements, new way of spawning secure headers etc..

And for your previous question : Elements are parts that can be called from your layout. :)

Dessembrae 10-16-10 09:12 AM

I saw that Ammo updated his layout (files are awaiting approval).
According to the original creator of this layout (Tenelov) it's based on Ammo's oUF.

So I hope it still looks a bit the same (so I can compare it and see what has changed).
If not I will have to pick another layout similar and start taking it apart and see what it does etc.

Worst case I get a layout together and use the MoveFrames oUF to get the items where I want them :)
I'm a total coding l33t, so it's really first steps for me on this front.
I always used to get away with copy/paste the differences ^^

Edit: Unfortunately Ammo's layout doesn't work for me. It doesn't spawn any frames at all. I already posted a message in his release topic. The similarities are still immense, so I guess if his layout works I can get mine running too.

MoonWitch 10-16-10 05:33 PM

Are you getting errors? If so which ones..

Dawn 10-16-10 05:43 PM

Try to think of oUF layouts as what they are ... a layout, a style, an appearance. You don't need to know about code, unless you want to add functionality. All you need to know is how to place stuff and that is probably the easiest thing to learn. Even commonly used tags are part of ouf, just take a look at the elements folder and into the different element files there.

Start with oUF_Lilly or Classic and change what's already there until it looks like what you want. ;)

Dessembrae 10-19-10 11:17 AM

Progress and setbacks...
 
1 Attachment(s)
Well, Hurray, the frames are shown at last (after murking trough different styles and compare changes. Thanks oUF_Ammo, oUF_Elen and oUF_Lily for the pointers, voluntary or not).

Only the names are not shown :(

So on to step 2, finding out why it doesn't show names.
This stuff aint as easy as it looks, specially since I don't want it to look differently than before the major oUF change...

Here's a pasty that I have so far. (And before you say it, I will say it myself, it looks like **** Haste. I know :D )

Another question regarding the buffs and debuffs. Is it possible to have buffs and debuffs shown together (so mixed in 1 frame).
As it stands it shows only buffs above the targetframe, and debuffs below the target's target frame (I know this is the positioning of the frames currently), but I would prefer them together sorted on buffs first, and debufs afterwards. Is this possible or would it be better for me to give up on that for now?

Also spark seems to have lost it's spark, but that is the least of my concerns currently, Names are more important (to make the frames usable at all).

Edit: Hmm, the spark shows on Powerbars, not on manabars. And the names are a funny story alltogether. If you login with a character with a pet (warlock my case) the names are not shown. If you login with a character, the player name and level are shown. All other frames are still blank. When you log back to the warlock the player and petframe have a name.
So whatever it is, it's a mess obviously. I will have to sort trough it, not even starting about health and mananumber display. The bars diminish, but no numbers either.

Dessembrae 10-19-10 04:36 PM

Besides the questions and issues in the former post I have another one.

Is there something similar as
Code:

oUF:DisableBlizzard('party')
to hide blizzards hideous raidframes (Besides making use of another addon that does this)?

Talyrius 10-19-10 04:40 PM

lua Code:
  1. CompactRaidFrameManager:UnregisterAllEvents()
  2. CompactRaidFrameManager:Hide()
  3. CompactRaidFrameContainer:UnregisterEvent("RAID_ROSTER_UPDATE")
  4. CompactRaidFrameContainer:UnregisterEvent("UNIT_PET")
  5. CompactRaidFrameContainer:Hide()

Dessembrae 10-19-10 05:49 PM

Thanks, works like a charm.
At least something that goes right :D

haste 10-20-10 07:44 AM

I don't provide a way for oUF to toggle the raid frames, as the user can simply click Hide in the raid manager frame, which is visible during raids.

I could make oUF call the function or set the CVar however...

Dessembrae 10-20-10 01:20 PM

Well, considering you have the 'Hide Party' function already, wouldn't hurt to hide the raid trough the same simple line (I tried that before asking, just in case but didn't work).

For party and raids I use grid.
It's more than enough to play properly (at least as I'm used to it).

These few lines added to the layout hides the frame perfectly.
If it can be done with a single line even better :)

haste 10-20-10 01:53 PM

The reason there's a hide party option is because the UI doesn't provide you with one. It does for raid however.

Dessembrae 10-20-10 03:34 PM

Either way it's no biggy.
The single line and the few lines provided by forever does what I wanted.
Hide those hideous blizz frames:
Code:

oUF:DisableBlizzard('party')
CompactRaidFrameManager:UnregisterAllEvents()
CompactRaidFrameManager:Hide()
CompactRaidFrameContainer:UnregisterEvent("RAID_ROSTER_UPDATE")
CompactRaidFrameContainer:UnregisterEvent("UNIT_PET")
CompactRaidFrameContainer:Hide()


Dessembrae 11-20-10 07:46 AM

W.I.P (Thanks ALZA)

http://pastie.org/1312864

I've borrowed the classbars from Dawn, but I have some troubles with it (I can't move the frame around with movable frames, it's lodged into the player frame).

PowerSpark doesn't seem to work with mana anymore? Anyone else that have issues with it? For now the code is removed from the layout.
I have the spark with power users (cat druid for example) but mana users don't have the spark anymore, but would like to put it back in again.

Dawn 11-20-10 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dessembrae (Post 218664)
I've borrowed the classbars from Dawn, but I have some troubles with it (I can't move the frame around with movable frames, it's lodged into the player frame).

Because you aren't using the unit.specific functions. You simply spawn the classbars within your player frame. Instead of a "second player frame", which would appear as a different unit and therefore be moveable. ;)

Dessembrae 11-20-10 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dawn (Post 218683)
Because you aren't using the unit.specific functions. You simply spawn the classbars within your player frame. Instead of a "second player frame", which would appear as a different unit and therefore be moveable. ;)

I will have a look to see what I forgot to 'Steal', that is ofc if I'm able to find it :banana:

Dawn 11-20-10 12:20 PM

I don't believe you will be able to copy that, unless you change the whole structure of your layout to match the current standard or create a real mess. :)

It should be possible to create a frame, make it movable and and parent the classbar(s) to it, though.

Dessembrae 11-22-10 06:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dawn (Post 218704)
I don't believe you will be able to copy that, unless you change the whole structure of your layout to match the current standard or create a real mess. :)

It should be possible to create a frame, make it movable and and parent the classbar(s) to it, though.

I'm excellent in creating a real mess. I've proven myself in the past, hehe :)
Any hints on which layout I could have a look on how it's supposed to be done without having to copy all of it :p
This stuff stays half abracadabra to me, doesn't matter how much I look at it :P


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:15 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI