WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   nUI: Bug Reports (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=90)
-   -   nUI keybinds + my mcaro conditions = a mess (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=33752)

Rogumino 07-06-10 01:11 AM

nUI keybinds + my mcaro conditions = a mess
 
just a quick little thing i'd like to say has happened to me since 3.3.5(alone from the chatbox not going in the corresponding place)is the problem i get when trying to cast a spell from a macro that contains a modifier using a bound key. So basically i have a macro
Code:

#showtooltip
/cast [nocombat, nomod] Charge;[combat, nomod] Heroic Strike;[combat, mod:shift] Rend
/startattack

on my nui main page button 1. |<<I walk up to a mob>>| i press 1 |<< i charge >>| i press 1 again |<< i Strike him in a heroic fashion >>| i hold down shift and press 1 |<< nothing happens>>|
plz tell me if it's my macro, a setting in the addon or if i'm just SOL and i'll need to chop my macro =$:confused:
edit:i got the latest newsletter and i'm gonna dwonload the latest version i'll see if helps and i'll keep you posted
edit2:nope still doesn't work =( respond as soon as you can

spiel2001 07-06-10 04:00 AM

I know there were some changes in how macros work in an attempt to reduce the "no thinking" style of macros. (which is not to say this is what your macro is) -- it's possible that this is collateral damage. I'm not sure.

I can't recall the details, but something along the lines that previously if a spell couldn't be cast, it was skipped and the next spell would cast. So you could stack spells such as you're doing and have the spell on cooldown get skipped and the next spell executed. However, I believe that with the change when the macro hits a spell that's on cooldown, it eats the keypress.

I would think the 'nomod' would cause that not to happen, but I dunno. I can tell you that nUI does not tinker with macros, key mods, etc., so it should be a non-issue. Certainly nothing has changed in the action bars in a very long time now, so it's more likely a change in 3.3.5 is the root cause than a change in nUI.

What happens if you use the macro without nUI?

Kodewulf 07-06-10 04:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rogumino (Post 196075)
just a quick little thing i'd like to say has happened to me since 3.3.5(alone from the chatbox not going in the corresponding place)is the problem i get when trying to cast a spell from a macro that contains a modifier using a bound key. So basically i have a macro
Code:

#showtooltip
/cast [nocombat, nomod] Charge;[combat, nomod] Heroic Strike;[combat, mod:shift] Rend
/startattack

on my nui main page button 1. |<<I walk up to a mob>>| i press 1 |<< i charge >>| i press 1 again |<< i Strike him in a heroic fashion >>| i hold down shift and press 1 |<< nothing happens>>|
plz tell me if it's my macro, a setting in the addon or if i'm just SOL and i'll need to chop my macro =$:confused:
edit:i got the latest newsletter and i'm gonna dwonload the latest version i'll see if helps and i'll keep you posted
edit2:nope still doesn't work =( respond as soon as you can

You can also try this:
Code:

#showtooltip
/castsequence reset=target [nocombat] Charge;[combat] Heroic Strike,Rend
/startattack

I didn't test this, but it should:

Button 1 => Charge
Button 1 => Heroic Strike
Button 1 => Rend

This will do it in sequence.

If you want to alternate between Heroic Strike and Rend the following should do it:


Code:

#showtooltip
/castsequence reset=target [nocombat] Charge;[combat] Heroic Strike;[combat,mod:shift] Rend
/startattack

Hope this helps.

-- Kodewulf

Rogumino 07-06-10 01:20 PM

@spiel2001 I'll try out the macro with the standard Blizzard User Interface -as soon as the realms are back up-. 'Til then I'll keep you posted once again thanks for the help

Rogumino 07-06-10 04:59 PM

yep it still doesn' work in the standard blizz UI

Xrystal 07-06-10 05:06 PM

Try the castsequence suggestion offered. To use the same button repeatedly like that you need to use castsequence.

Code:

/castsequence reset=combat/24 Shadow Word: Pain, Devouring Plague, Vampiric Touch, Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Shadow Word: Pain, Mind Flay, Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Vampiric Touch, Mind Blast
This for example is one of my shadow priests old rotation macros. Each press of the button will execute the next spell in the list and will reset the list when combat ends or 24 seconds has passed. Whether you can use modifiers in a sequence I don't know as I don't use them.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI