WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Iriel's revolution! (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2084)

shouryuu 10-17-05 12:25 PM

Iriel's revolution!
 
Hey guys, check this thread out
https://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/t...n&T=245792&P=1

This will change lots of things in UI design, it adds a whole new dimension and perspective to iit! Thank you Iriel!

Cairenn 10-17-05 12:35 PM

Yup, it certainly does. I'm playing with it right now, it's cool!

shouryuu 10-17-05 12:36 PM

Dang I;m trying to understand first of all what she wrote in that thread, and secondly the code... None are making sens :( ARRGHHH!

shouryuu 10-17-05 12:46 PM

3 things:
Firstly, has this thread been moved section? If not, must have been those mushrooms I ate...
Secondly, herrrre come the questions!! Whipeee! Lucky you...
So question number 1:

Quote:

Angles from 45 degrees

This is different simply to keep the first rendered piece as significant as possible.

First draw the rectangular subset of the ring from the top left corner, down to point O, the intersection with the outer edge of the ring. This is your desired ring segment with a triangularish section chopped off the end to the bottom.
She says "First draw the rectangular....". Draw it on what? On the Slice texture or on the ring texture? On a blank texture? I don't understand what she's talking about... I understand everyhting else, the maths, etc... But what is her "support"?

Second one a code question! WHiipeee!!!

Code:

if (hm < 1) then hm = 1 end
          self:SetAngle(h*360/hm);
          if (hm == h) then
            if (not self.fullHealth) then
              StatRingsTest_SetAlpha(self, 0.1);
              self.fullHealth = 1;

First of all, what does this do "if (hm < 1)" ? I have never seen that before and really have no idea what it does.
Secondly what is this "self" thing? Is it a table she pulled out of her a.. or is it similar to "this:"?


I'll stop there for now :p

Beladona 10-17-05 02:03 PM

the
Code:

<
is simply her attempt at making the character
Code:

<
show up in the forums. Some forum post editors automatically interpret the latter as an html character and therefore doesn't show it. In such cases, using the code format would allow it to show up correctly in the final post.

What it should have looked like is this:
Code:

if (hm < 1) then hm = 1 end
          self:SetAngle(h*360/hm);
          if (hm == h) then
            if (not self.fullHealth) then
              StatRingsTest_SetAlpha(self, 0.1);
              self.fullHealth = 1;


shouryuu 10-17-05 02:08 PM

Cool thanks :p Just finished installing wow, need to update and going to tiiiinkkkkerrrrrr :eek:

shouryuu 10-19-05 12:21 PM

So I've been tinkering with this, and I wanted to thicken the bars. So in order to do so, I increased the texture size from 256 pix to 512. Thickens fine but I get some weird texture response around it... Anyone know why? Is there another way to thicken this bar?

http://www.imagedump.com/index.cgi?pick=get&tp=330705

I'm talking about the square texture around the rings, ont the crappy dots everywhere on the pic.

Beladona 10-19-05 12:27 PM

did you resize the alpha channel as well? When resizing an image, you usually have to resize the alpha channel as a separate channel and then resave it.

To me it looks like the alpha opacity of the image is wrong, so you are getting the background color of the circle as well as the circle.

shouryuu 10-19-05 12:35 PM

Yatta! I got it! Now I'm not that far away from those target and party rings...

Dhargo 11-11-05 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shouryuu
Secondly what is this "self" thing? Is it a table she pulled out of her a.. or is it similar to "this:"?

self is the table that contains the function you're in. It's only available if you use the colon syntax to define the function.

Code:

sometable = {}

function sometable:somefunction(a)
  self.x = a
end

sometable:somefunction(10)

results in sometable.x == 10


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI