WoWInterface

WoWInterface (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   nUI: Customizing Layouts (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=95)
-   -   Custom Bar Texture (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21439)

NynjaMonkii 03-25-09 10:15 PM

Custom Bar Texture
 
I sucessfully added an Arena unit panel type by modifying the raid10 group to show your team on the left side and the opposing team using the arenaN identifiers on the right side. However, the one other change I am trying to do is replace the bar textures with LiteStep from Quartz, but when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!

Zyonin 03-26-09 02:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NynjaMonkii (Post 122472)
I sucessfully added an Arena unit panel type by modifying the raid10 group to show your team on the left side and the opposing team using the arenaN identifiers on the right side. However, the one other change I am trying to do is replace the bar textures with LiteStep from Quartz, but when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!

What arena frames are you trying to customize? Often times the easiest way to replace bar textures with your own is to:
  • Drop the bar texture of your choice into that AddOn's folder (into the same folder as the AddOn's textures)
  • Then rename the current bar texture. Example, the bar texture's name is statusbar.tag. Rename the texture to something like statusbar.old.
  • Finally rename your chosen texture to the same name as the old texture. Example: LiteStep.tga -> statusbar.tga

This how I got started modding my AddOns. There is no need to mess with the AddOn's lua.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 04:47 AM

nUI uses a custom set of unit frames that move the different frames around based on solo, party, etc. I simply extended that system to support arena frames for your opponents. Indeed, I've dropped textures before, but when trying to do this instead of replacing the textures it just places the entire texture on the bar without colors and full even when its not.

spiel2001 03-26-09 06:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NynjaMonkii (Post 122472)
when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!

Did you exit WoW and re-enter after adding the textures to the art folder? Without getting into the detail of it all, WoW will only look for textures when you first load it. Once loaded, even logging out and back in, will not detect new textures in the addon directory.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 07:26 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Right, what happens is it looks like the textures are being applied directly as an image without any coloring or anything, heres a screenshot of what happens. The achievement tracker shows what should happen with the texture, and you can see in my unit panel what really happens. LiteStep is a tga, I've tried changing it to a blp and replacing the overlays with it, using it by itself, etc. Obviously I'm doing something wrong, but I'm not sure what. Anyhow, once I get this working I plan on doing a diff with the things I added for the arena frames and e-mailing it to you. I had based my work on Gladius and I'd like to port a few more of the features from that great addon over as well, such as trinket status.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 07:28 AM

Also you can see in that screenshot how the entire bottom skin is shifted over about 10-15 pixels, any idea what causes that? its not a huge issue and doesnt affect playability but Id like to fix it if I could. For the record, using a custom nUI 5.0 12 dev version.

spiel2001 03-26-09 07:44 AM

Ah... the little light in the attic goes on... you're using the overlay texture? The overlay is what goes OVER the top of the bar itself. The bar is UNDER the overlay. If the overlay is not transparent, it will hide the bar. I bet that's that problem, your overlays aren't transparent and I don't have a transparency option in the overlay object.

I can add that later, but that's almost certainly the issue.

EDIT: Oh yeah... the shift... you have FuBar installed.... make sure the bottom bar is the full width of the display and centered... nUI attaches to it.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 07:46 AM

Ah I see, so what do I need to use to get the bar, like which blps should be replaced? And thanks for help!

spiel2001 03-26-09 08:06 AM

Take a look at the ["Health"] second in the HUD skins in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > HUDLayouts > PlayerTarget ] -- they use graphics for the backgrounds and overlays for the frames.

EDIT: You shouldn't be replacing any BLPs by the way... only changing the texture paths in the skin files.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 04:52 PM

Yea i got that, I had already reverted the blps and working on the changes you mentioned, I'll post here with the results.

NynjaMonkii 03-26-09 06:33 PM

Well, this is odd.

I added the lines texture = "Interface\\...\\LiteStep",

and commented out the overlay lines and it works...sortof.

The health bar works as expected, except the power bar is showing
full and actually extends the entire length of the texture (256). I'm confused as to why. It happens on my death knight when he starts with his runic power at 0, and I wouldn't be surprised to see it happened to other classes whose power starts at 0 such as rogues or warriors. However, once I generate runic power the bar operates as normal even when the current power returns to 0. Any idea why this would be happening?

spiel2001 03-27-09 04:34 AM

Offhand... no... sounds like a bug in my initialization code. I'll have a look at it.

NynjaMonkii 03-27-09 11:05 AM

I tried looking through it but I'm not sure exactly where the bars are created. Have you had any luck or any advice on where I should be looking?

spiel2001 03-27-09 11:13 AM

I'm at work atm, so I can't look at it until I get home this evening.

The relevant code for initializing and updating status bars is in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Bars > nUI_StatusBar.lua ] I believe

mscott998 03-27-09 03:09 PM

can you post the changed you made for the arena panels, i want to add panels for 2v2, 3v3 and 5v5

NynjaMonkii 03-27-09 05:01 PM

1 Attachment(s)
This is a zipfile of all the changes I believe are required for my panel support. Its very simplistic, just shows the opposing team on the right side when the gate opens. Just unzip this and copy it over your nUI folder. You'll probably want to make sure you comment out all of the texture lines in the Arena folder of the layout and uncomment the overlay line as I've been working on my custom textures. Easiest way is to use AddOnStudio and open all of the files and do a replace and check using regular expressions with the following:

Find:

{texture.*LiteStep.*}--{overlay.*BarOverlay.*}

Replace:

--\1\2

NynjaMonkii 03-27-09 08:49 PM

Any luck on finding out what might cause this?

spiel2001 03-28-09 08:44 AM

Not yet :-(

NynjaMonkii 04-04-09 06:20 PM

Its been a while, have you found any reason for this?

spiel2001 04-04-09 06:25 PM

I'm ashamed to admit that I got caught up on the pile of other things on the to-do list and completely forgot about this one. I'll get on it.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 PM.

vBulletin © 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
©2012 ZAM Network LLC