WoWInterface

WoWInterface (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   MoP archived threads (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   Anyone having this taint with custom UnitFrames? (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44065)

tukz 08-31-12 03:53 AM

Anyone having this taint with custom UnitFrames?
 
I would like to know if anyone is having taint issues with their custom unit frames on 5.0.4 on live servers.

Code:

Global variable INSPECTED_UNIT tainted by Tukui - Interface\AddOns\Blizzard_InspectUI\Blizzard_InspectUI.lua:9 InspectFrame_Show()
how to reproduce:

1- Inspect someone
2- Go into your talent, try to unlearn a talent
3- confirm it
4 ... interface blocked blah blah blah ...

Trying to find a solution for this since the last 2 hours without any result. This taint is driving me crazy. I even tried with some others custom unitframes just in case if the issue was on my unitframes only but... same problem, same taint.

Code:

8/31 05:55:28.501  Global variable INSPECTED_UNIT tainted by ShadowedUnitFrames - Interface\AddOns\Blizzard_InspectUI\Blizzard_InspectUI.lua:9 InspectFrame_Show()

zork 08-31-12 04:17 AM

Maybe another taint caused by the dropdownmenu bug.

There is another bug that is related to the dropdownmenu. If you leave combat in a group it will spit out that CompactUnitFrame or CompactRaidFrame was tainted without any addon actually touching that part of code.

Maul posted (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...38&postcount=2) that he could track down the message for using the dropdownmenu.

Maybe your issue has to do with the dropdownmenu aswell. (Since you use the dropdown to inspect)

So atm it may be possible that using the dropdownmenu at all nets us random taints.

tukz 08-31-12 04:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zork (Post 261397)
There is another bug that is related to the dropdownmenu. If you leave combat in a group it will spit out that CompactUnitFrame or CompactRaidFrame was tainted without any addon actually touching that part of code.

Ehm, unfortunately i don't have this taint. Probably because I changed how I disable the Blizz Raid frames with 5.0 patch when my raid frames are enabled.

I know its related to uidropdown, but it happen even if the dropdown is unedited/untouched, which is weird.

Dridzt 08-31-12 04:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tukz (Post 261404)
Ehm, unfortunately i don't have this taint. Probably because I changed how I disable the Blizz Raid frames with 5.0 patch when my raid frames are enabled.

I know its related to uidropdown, but it happen even if the dropdown is unedited/untouched, which is weird.

Sorry but is he actually writing the INSPECTED_UNIT global variable? (not reading it)

If that's the case then don't?

tukz 08-31-12 04:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dridzt (Post 261406)
Sorry but is he actually writing the INSPECTED_UNIT global variable? (not reading it)

If that's the case then don't?

No, I'm not.

Dridzt 08-31-12 04:54 AM

Was referring to shadowed, and sorry if it came across terse (quick tabbing while fixing addons on beta has me typing telegraphic responses)

on topic: that's odd :confused:

tukz 08-31-12 04:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dridzt (Post 261408)
Was referring to shadowed, and sorry if it came across terse (quick tabbing while fixing addons on beta has me typing telegraphic responses)

on topic: that's odd :confused:

shadowed unit frames is not writing or reading INSPECTED_UNIT in his addon as well. :P

Dridzt 08-31-12 05:22 AM

TalentFrame_Update() from TalentFrameBase.lua accesses INSPECT_UNIT and is used in both the InspectUI and TalentUI (through PlayerTalentFrame_Refresh() when you're on the talent tab)

If that's the codepath spreading taint, not sure how/if you can workaround.
(maybe replace/prehook TalentFrame_Update() with a copy that doesn't use INSPECT_UNIT merely as a test, not suggesting this as an actual workaround, just to help with the detective work)

zork 08-31-12 11:08 AM

Dargen posted this regarding the DropDownMenu bug.
http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/to...24969?page=1#2


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.

vBulletin © 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
©2012 ZAM Network LLC