WoWInterface

WoWInterface (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Carbonite Development (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=157)
-   -   [Suggestions] Official Thread (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44608)

myrroddin 10-03-12 08:31 AM

[Suggestions] Official Thread
 
Rythal is going to be very busy, having already posted his future plans elsewhere. In the meantime, I thought I would start a new Official Suggestions Thread. No bug reports, please. Only post "Hey, wouldn't it be a good thing if Carbonite supported, was changed like, or could be improved with" ideas.

Since Rythal as mentioned supporting Ace3, that gave me a few ideas I'd like to see in Carbonite.
  1. Improve the Warhouse so members of the same guild automatically get the guild bank synced when one person visits. Mobile Vault already does this using LibGuildBankComm-1.0.
  2. Use LibGuildPositions-1.0 in order to see guild members on the world map. This might be a toggle in Carbonite, with default on.
  3. Don't reinvent the wheel: HandyNotes and its plugins already handle NPCs, trainers, vendors, etc on the world map. They only improvement might be to include a preloaded database rather than have the user interact with each NPC at least once first to add the icon.
  4. Don't reinvent the wheel 2: use either GatherMate2_Data or GathererDB_WoWHead to add herbs, mines, treasures, etc. Personally, I'd use GM2_Data, as it contains fish, gas clouds, and other types that Gatherer does not. Further, GM2_Data is updated weekly using WowHead data mining.

tinyu 10-03-12 07:36 PM

LibDataBroker so users can easily access some of the main features via a broker addon like Titan Panel.

DanComputerX 10-04-12 07:52 PM

Tooltips
 
I am grateful for Rythal taking over development; it seems churlish to ask for more. But...

It would be lovely to have tooltips on the settings in options. I have no idea what many of them do.

Perhaps this is something that could be undertaken by a poweruser.

Thank you, Rythal, for your fine work.

Rythal 10-04-12 08:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DanComputerX (Post 265907)
I am grateful for Rythal taking over development; it seems churlish to ask for more. But...

It would be lovely to have tooltips on the settings in options. I have no idea what many of them do.

Perhaps this is something that could be undertaken by a poweruser.

Thank you, Rythal, for your fine work.

It won't be in the next patch, but a complete overhaul of the options system is planned

unmploied 10-06-12 02:10 PM

just a thought
 
I would like to see a "lite" version. Or add a toggle on/off on some options.


Thank you so much for your hard work.

tinyu 10-07-12 03:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by unmploied (Post 266080)
I would like to see a "lite" version. Or add a toggle on/off on some options.


Thank you so much for your hard work.

That's why Rythal is modularizing Carbonite so you can enable/disable what you want.

Temptress 10-07-12 01:26 PM

Quest auto-learning
 
I'm not a programmer but i was wondering if it's possible for a mod to auto learn quests as the player does the quest. And is it possible to transmit that quest data that was learned to all carbonite users via a hidden channel thus expanding the quest area/blob area of quest items or npcs.

Sincerely
Teamptress @ Feathermoon

Qin 10-08-12 05:40 AM

Turn Off / Log Out
 
I know that the two "chat" channels are required to share data when working with other Carbonite Users.

Although I would like the ability to turn those chat joins off automatically.

regards,

myrroddin 10-08-12 11:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Qin (Post 266195)
I know that the two "chat" channels are required to share data when working with other Carbonite Users.

Although I would like the ability to turn those chat joins off automatically.

regards,

Actually, it is one "chat" channel that is in reality the addon communication channel, which is not normally viable or accessible to users. What are you seeing?

Rythal 10-08-12 05:31 PM

they are right, there is 2 channels it joins, crb2 and crb[random] ... crb2 is used for global talk for version information so you can see when a new version is out, and world positions which is why you can see every other carbonite user in your zone. That one can be turned off in the options already. The second channel I don't know what it's used for yet, group communication is all done through the API for addon communication.

mcaran 10-09-12 10:13 AM

I have a suggestion regarding the instance/dungeons/scenario maps. They are much smaller than the world maps ones. Zoom them automatically once we enter or leave such places.

For quests databases, unless you have a tool to parse wowhead/thotbot to create the quest db for you, use any good/stable/consistent already known addon (there are many GPLs out there) as base db instead of recreate it from the scratch as you're planning. I guess its a waste of time maintaining a local quest db because there are people that already do that.

If you decide to use a own database, users could help a lot installing the wowhead tool in their machines. This small tool collects a lot of data in-game. You could use it to extract the desired information.

myrroddin 10-09-12 04:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcaran (Post 266324)
If you decide to use a own database, users could help a lot installing the wowhead tool in their machines. This small tool collects a lot of data in-game. You could use it to extract the desired information.

Double up, since Curse's WoWDB.com tracks some things that WoWHead does not, like mailboxes. For Curse, you need the addon WoWDB Profiler, and the Curse Client needs to be running when you exit the game. You can do this every few days, unless you truly want to run the client all the time. Unfortunately, Mac users, while they can install the addon and collect data, cannot upload with the v4 Mac Curse Client. Also, there is no way to manually upload the data to WoWDB.

WoWHead requires the WoWHead Looter program, which installs their addon for you. It is compatible with both Windows and Mac, and does have a manual upload option, along with automatic.

Kathan 10-12-12 03:36 PM

Glad to see the devs made the right choice for the community. Grats Rythal! :)

Is it possible to translate over the Blizzard 'big map' quest blob POIs over to the Carbonite map? If you integrate Blizzards minimap into the carbonite map, it's kind of funky because they added showing POI blobs to the minimap, but since the minimap is integrated into carbonites, it only shows the blobs from the minimap object that gets moved around/scaled.

If you can grab the POIs to place over Carbonite's map, then you could probably grab the ?'s too for NPC turn ins?

Kreelor 10-13-12 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kathan (Post 266587)
Glad to see the devs made the right choice for the community. Grats Rythal! :)

Is it possible to translate over the Blizzard 'big map' quest blob POIs over to the Carbonite map? If you integrate Blizzards minimap into the carbonite map, it's kind of funky because they added showing POI blobs to the minimap, but since the minimap is integrated into carbonites, it only shows the blobs from the minimap object that gets moved around/scaled.

If you can grab the POIs to place over Carbonite's map, then you could probably grab the ?'s too for NPC turn ins?

I like this idea. Anything that can be done to allow seeing POI's on both sizes of the Carbonite map would be wonderful. Ideally, I'd like to have the Carbonite map(s) use its own separate user-selectable options from the ones that Blizzard offers on its minimap. (Note: I never move Blizzard's minimap into my Carbonite map). That way, users have more control over the Carbonite map, while maintaining selected options on the Blizzard minimap.

As it is now, I never see anything on Carbonite's maps except possibly Mailboxes, Flightmasters, Inn's, Banks, various Nodes, and Auction Houses. I'd like to see a full-range of optional POI's, and be able to turn on/off the ones I want (on each size of the Carbonite map).

cheriea99 10-14-12 06:24 AM

Future release suggestion- Profiles
 
I'd like to ask that you consider including in future releases profiles? Nearly every addon these days has them, and they're certainly helpful to create one or two types of set ups one time, and then just be able to model after them. They're also a huge time saver after certain patches when Blizzard likes to make their Users redo everything.
:banana:

Kreelor 10-17-12 04:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cheriea99 (Post 266689)
I'd like to ask that you consider including in future releases profiles? Nearly every addon these days has them, and they're certainly helpful to create one or two types of set ups one time, and then just be able to model after them. They're also a huge time saver after certain patches when Blizzard likes to make their Users redo everything.
:banana:

I believe I'm using the latest version(s) of Carbonite with Rythal's great fixes. It's really hard to find a single source to get Rythal's; there's this/these forums (several possible locations here), Rythal's Development Blog, and probably more.

Anyway, my version DOES have a 'Profile' setting, but it's hard to find. It's in the Carbonite "Options" under "Reset," I believe. Maybe it could be an option unto itself.

Rhiyz 10-18-12 12:36 AM

Request for 2 more "use quest watch item" keybindings
 
hi

i have a Request for 2 more "use quest watch item" keybindings.

Emmiebean 10-21-12 05:06 PM

Would it be possible to include the ability to track battle pet locations in the same way the gathering tracker works?

tednik 10-22-12 03:34 AM

Quote:

Don't reinvent the wheel 2: use either GatherMate2_Data or GathererDB_WoWHead to add herbs, mines, treasures, etc. Personally, I'd use GM2_Data, as it contains fish, gas clouds, and other types that Gatherer does not. Further, GM2_Data is updated weekly using WowHead data mining.
Yes please use gathermate2. Like they said it is updated at least once a week sometimes more and it seems to be more widely used now more so than gatherer. Once again great work with the addon and glad to see someone working on it that actually cares for the community.

:banana::banana::banana::banana::banana::banana:

Emmiebean 10-23-12 03:52 PM

Gathermate 2 has stated they have no intention whatsoever of including battle pets in their database. But thx anyway. There is a pet tracker addon BUT it does not work with carbonites map.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 AM.

vBulletin © 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
©2012 ZAM Network LLC