Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-27-07, 08:51 AM   #1
Felankor
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
Question Problem creatnig images for my addon

Hi,

I want to create an image for my minimap button. But when I use it in game I just get a green square...

I'm making the image in PNG format and then converting it to BLP with BLP2PNG.

The canvas size of the image is 32x32 (I've heared that it has to be a multiple of 16)

The image is being saved as a 32bit PNG file before its converted.

The background of the image is transparent.

Anyone know why its just appearing as a green square?
Felankor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-07, 09:01 AM   #2
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
I think i's a multiple of 2 (2,4,8,16,32,64,128,256,512)
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
Dreadlorde is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-07, 09:11 AM   #3
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,421
You may want to try converting the PNG to a .tga using a program like The GIMP (which using the standard setting, produces WoW friendly tgas). This what I do when I create custom images and textures for use in game. You file has be mutilples of 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, or 512 or any combo therein such as 32x16

BLPs can be a bit tricker as that is a Blizzard format and can be changed at Blizzard's whim. If you are using an older version, it may not produce WoW friendly BLPs.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter


Last edited by Zyonin : 05-27-07 at 09:14 AM.
Zyonin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-07, 09:46 AM   #4
Felankor
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
I downloaded the gimp and converted the png to tga.

But im still getting a green square.
Felankor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-07, 10:33 AM   #5
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
is it the right dimensions? did you code something wrong? double check you work, I think minimap buttons are usually 32x32 aren't they?
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
Dreadlorde is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-07, 11:40 AM   #6
Felankor
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
Its working now. Thanks for the help all.
Felankor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Problem creatnig images for my addon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off