Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-01-08, 08:57 AM   #1
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 979
oUF - Layout discussion

The old oUF thread over at WoWace has become, quite a monster to say it softly. It's a mess of bug reports, layout issues and general issues/feature people have/want.

Please use this thread for layout discussion only.

Related forum thread: oUF - General discussion
Bug reports and feature requests should be posted over at the author portal. Issues with specific layouts should be posted in their respective place (not here, unless you are the author of the layout in question (and don't you dare to bend this exception! :p)).

Last edited by haste : 10-01-08 at 09:02 AM.
haste is offline  
Unread 10-01-08, 10:27 AM   #2
MoonWitch
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 342
Haste, is there actually a way to overwrite/override the pvp functions, because I prefer a textual tag, but would like to do that by not editting the oUF core?
MoonWitch is offline  
Unread 10-01-08, 10:54 AM   #3
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 979
There isn't any internal functions for that on PvP, mostly because it's a shared event, and the shared event system is still to be written.

You can however do: self.UNIT_FACTION = myOwnUpdatePvPFunction;. Setting functions directly on the layout doesn't touch the core at all.
haste is offline  
Unread 10-01-08, 11:41 AM   #4
MoonWitch
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by haste View Post
There isn't any internal functions for that on PvP, mostly because it's a shared event, and the shared event system is still to be written.

You can however do: self.UNIT_FACTION = myOwnUpdatePvPFunction;. Setting functions directly on the layout doesn't touch the core at all.
Thanks I'll do that. I still get freaked out when I see the pvp icon, so I figured it'd be better for my heart to use text. :P
MoonWitch is offline  
Unread 10-02-08, 02:52 AM   #5
Caellian
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Caellian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Is it possible to change the level of a text (fontstring) the same way it works for frames (SetFrameLevel).
I'm toying with portraits and would like to display something over it, but right now the portrait comes above of the text.
__________________
if (sizeof(workload) > sizeof(brain_capacity)) { die('System Overload'); }
Caellian is offline  
Unread 10-02-08, 04:06 AM   #6
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,343
Maybe I can help you out here. You could just use a helperframe that lays between portrait and text.

Code:
    
    --I don't know the Portrait call but it should be similar
    self.pm1 = CreateFrame("PlayerModel", nil, self)
    self.pm1:SetFrameStrata("BACKGROUND")
    self.pm1:SetAllPoints(self)
    self.pm1:SetUnit(unit)
    --self.pm1:SetModelScale(1)
    self.pm1:SetCamera(0)    
    --self.pm1:SetRotation(0)    
    
    self.pm1helper = CreateFrame("FRAME", nil, self.pm1)
    self.pm1helper:SetFrameStrata("LOW")
    self.pm1helper:SetAllPoints(self.pm1)
    
    self.pm1helper.Text = SetFontString(self.pm1helper, nil, 13, "THINOUTLINE")
    self.pm1helper.Text:SetPoint('CENTER', 0, 0)
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 10-02-08 at 04:25 AM.
zork is offline  
Unread 10-05-08, 03:22 AM   #7
Frayol
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Frayol's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by MoonWitch View Post
Thanks I'll do that. I still get freaked out when I see the pvp icon, so I figured it'd be better for my heart to use text. :P
Did you get this to work? I'd be really interested to see the code you used if you did as it is something that I'd like to add as well. I too would prefer to see a text tag rather than the icon... for some reason the icon doesn't always register in my brain whereas text does.

On another note, is it possible to add the AFK and DND flags with oUF? I've tried looking, but haven't managed to find an answer yet. The only reason I ask is that I have a bad habit of setting flags and forgetting about them if there is nothing to remind me on my character frame.
Frayol is offline  
Unread 10-05-08, 04:42 AM   #8
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,229
Originally Posted by Frayol View Post
Did you get this to work? I'd be really interested to see the code you used if you did as it is something that I'd like to add as well. I too would prefer to see a text tag rather than the icon... for some reason the icon doesn't always register in my brain whereas text does.

On another note, is it possible to add the AFK and DND flags with oUF? I've tried looking, but haven't managed to find an answer yet. The only reason I ask is that I have a bad habit of setting flags and forgetting about them if there is nothing to remind me on my character frame.
You can easily do this with custom tags, but it doesnt really have anything to do with unitframes, so thats the reason haste havent implemented it.
p3lim is online now  
Unread 10-04-08, 12:44 AM   #9
zynix
A Cliff Giant
 
zynix's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 70
some help please

how in the earth do you move stuff, do you need to edit something in the .lua files or something


would love you help

Zynix
zynix is offline  
Unread 10-04-08, 02:41 AM   #10
zhr
A Kobold Labourer
 
zhr's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
i have a trouble with target names, they run on target hp http://img139.imageshack.us/my.php?image=lolnv5.jpg
how it to correct?
P.S. sorry for my english (:
zhr is offline  
Unread 10-04-08, 04:30 AM   #11
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 979
Caellian, you really need to stop using that edit button . Especially when you add ten pages of text (and that 3 hours after it's been posted).

1) "Interface\AddOns\oUF_Caellian\oUF_Caellian.lua:56: attempt to index local 'parent' (a nil value)" tells you that you should take a look at line 56 in your layout code.

2) :GetText() returns a string containing the text of the fontstring, it won't do some magic updating for you. What you could do is to remove .Name, and use the castbar .Text to display name. You can do this with a post hook in the stop functions. Remember that you will have to do all the name updating yourself, and that is has to be aware of casts/channels.

vaddn, use locals and not globals when you create those frames. The initial code should work fine with that.

zhz, it's because your fontstrings have no width limitations. You can set these with :SetWidth and/or :SetPoint.

zynix, read up on :SetPoint, and look for it in the layout. Usually placed at the bottom.
haste is offline  
Unread 10-04-08, 05:43 AM   #12
vadda
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by haste View Post
vaddn, use locals and not globals when you create those frames. The initial code should work fine with that.
Works like a charm...thx...made my day
vadda is offline  
Unread 10-05-08, 06:11 PM   #13
garnerh42
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
garnerh42's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Hiding Cooldown

Starting with latest oUF and oUF_Ammo layout. I'm using OmniCC for cooldown numbers, but I'd prefer not to show the numbers or clock animation.

I found the block of code in aura.lua that shows or hides the cooldown on the icon, but I haven't been able to figure out what code to call in oUF_Ammo to turn it off permanently. I can, of course, comment out the block of code, but then I'd have to do that every time I get a new version.

I also tried creating my own PostUpdateAuraIcon like looked like this:

Code:
-- params omitted for brevity
local function myPostUpdateAuraIcon ( ... )
    if icon.cd then
        icon.cd:Hide()
    end
end
But that code didn't work. Can someone point me in the right direction, please?
__________________
Grynn (80 Druid), Trig (80 Rogue), Krajen (80 Warrior), Jovix (80 Hunter), Sqeeve (80 Mage) on Cenarion Circle
garnerh42 is offline  
Unread 10-05-08, 06:19 PM   #14
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,229
Code:
local function PostCreateAuraIcon(self, button, icons, index, debuff)
	button.cd:Hide()
end
drycoded
p3lim is online now  
Unread 10-05-08, 06:46 PM   #15
MoonWitch
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Code:
local function PostCreateAuraIcon(self, button, icons, index, debuff)
	button.cd:Hide()
end
drycoded
That's what I have to disable omnicc cd counts.
MoonWitch is offline  
Unread 10-06-08, 06:46 AM   #16
Kellen
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
I'm setting up player auras and wanted to have them displayed with a numeric duration next to them, like Elk's BuffBars (just time, I don't care about bars).

Looking at the Blizzard API's, it seems like you're only supposed to be able to get durations for things you cast. Elk's code gets around this (I think) with the follow type of code:

Code:
local buffIndex, untilCancelled = GetPlayerBuff(index, "HELPFUL")
local name, rank = GetPlayerBuffName(buffIndex)
local timeleft = GetPlayerBuffTimeLeft(buffIndex)
local timemax = timeleft
It also looks like there's a lookup table in there for recording/comparing the maximum time. Furthermore, I'm aware that the way you get aura information and calculate duration is changing, but until it does, I'd like to do things for the Live server.

I think I can duplicate this, but I'd love two pointers:

1. Is PostUpdateAuraIcon() the hook I want to be using for this? It seems to have the information I want and is per-aura.
2. If so, why is the 'index' parameter a table?

Still noobish with this stuff.
Kellen is offline  
Unread 10-06-08, 08:27 AM   #17
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 979
Originally Posted by Kellen View Post
2. If so, why is the 'index' parameter a table?
It isn't.

Code:
self:PostUpdateAuraIcon(icons, unit, icon, index, offset, filter, isDebuff)
-- is equal to:
self.PostUpdateAuraIcon(self, icons, unit, icon, index, offset, filter, isDebuff)
You're missing an argument in your function, hence to offset. Also do note that EBB only operates on your buffs, and that the index of GetPlayerBuff doesn't equal that of UnitBuff.
haste is offline  
Unread 10-06-08, 11:54 AM   #18
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,554
Originally Posted by Kellen View Post
I'm setting up player auras and wanted to have them displayed with a numeric duration next to them, like Elk's BuffBars (just time, I don't care about bars).

Looking at the Blizzard API's, it seems like you're only supposed to be able to get durations for things you cast. Elk's code gets around this (I think) with the follow type of code:
You always have the time for auras on yourself and your pet(?). It's when the auras are on other units that you only get the time for ones you cast. That's how the API works. And EBB does work for target, but if it's something you didn't cast, it won't have a time for it.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline  
Unread 10-07-08, 08:39 AM   #19
Quokka
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Quokka's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Is there a way to show temp enhancements (Weapon Buffs) in the aura?
Quokka is offline  
Unread 10-08-08, 09:01 AM   #20
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 979
Originally Posted by Quokka View Post
Is there a way to show temp enhancements (Weapon Buffs) in the aura?
Not without you doing all the work. The current weapon enchant API is _horrible_, and requires polling to even work. They are completely disconnected from the unit auras, and oUF will _never_ support them as long as that's the case/
haste is offline  
Closed Thread

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » oUF - Layout discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off