Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-01-09, 04:20 PM   #1
Haavok
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Haavok's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Post Minimap moved/missing

By default Carbonite moves your minimap into the Carbonite map as an overlay.

If you would like to restore your original minimap functionality please follow these steps:
Right-click on the Carbonite (C) button and select ‘Options’
Select ‘Map Minimap’
Uncheck ‘Move Minimap into Carbonite map’

Update:

Version 3.0+ will ask you if you want to move the minimap into the Carbonite map.
__________________
-Haavok

Last edited by Haavok : 04-01-09 at 04:23 PM. Reason: cleanup
Haavok is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-03-09, 10:37 AM   #2
sxizzor
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Not working. I've logged out and back in, reloaded WoW, reinstalled Carbonite, unchecked all other addons. It works just fine for one account, I even tried loading the exact same addons on both of them, but it won't for my other.
sxizzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-09, 11:50 PM   #3
Ceonalas
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
I too am having the same issue...it worked earlier today...now my little square minimap is gone and nothing i do brings it back

Edit:after several tries at what you suggested...i got it to return temporarily...but its still spotty at best.

Last edited by Ceonalas : 04-15-09 at 11:56 PM.
Ceonalas is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-16-09, 02:04 AM   #4
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
The "Move Minimap into Carbonite map" option is either off or on. It does not change itself. After you change it and reload, open the options page again and check the setting. If it is not how you last set it, then your addon settings are not saving, which is a folder permissions or read-only problem.

Also disable all other addons and test it, since it may be a conflict with another addon.

Settings Wont Save:

Addon settings are saved by the game when you log out. Many people have had that problem with Warcraft in general, Vista makes it worse and it normally effects the entire game, not just a single addon.

On Vista, right click the shortcut you use to start the game and select "Run as administrator". If that makes the settings save, then it is a permissions problem.

On XP, right click the shortcut you use to start the game and select "Run as...", click "The following user" and set the user name to Administrator.

If that makes the settings save, then it is a permissions problem.

The WTF folder may be Read-only. You can right click the WTF folder in the World of Warcraft folder, select Properties and make sure it is not set to "Read-only". You could also rename the WTF folder to WTFold and see if it starts saving.
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-09, 09:02 AM   #5
waae
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
"If you would like to restore your original minimap functionality please follow these steps:
Right-click on the Carbonite (C) button and select ‘Options’
Select ‘Map Minimap’
Uncheck ‘Move Minimap into Carbonite map’"

When ive done this my video settings goes rampage making it unplayable. Looks like im the minimap and zoomed in like 1000times.. And the same thing happens when i unable the carbonite addon or when i remove it completly..
waae is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-09, 11:27 AM   #6
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by waae View Post
When ive done this my video settings goes rampage making it unplayable. Looks like im the minimap and zoomed in like 1000times.. And the same thing happens when i unable the carbonite addon or when i remove it completly..
I have done those steps hundreds of times over the last year and it does a simple reload and the minimap is either in or out of the Carb map.

Sounds like you have some weird video problem. Reboot and test. If still happens, then try exiting the game, renaming WTF folder to WTFold, run game and test it.
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-09, 12:40 PM   #7
alliepooh989
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
When is asked me if I wanted the minimap and the carbonite map to be together I said yes, as the new thing was loading it kicked me off WoW completely. The only way I can get on and play WoW is if I uncheck the Carbonite addon. I really enjoy this addon, but WoW won't let me play any of my characters now with it on. What should I do? I've uninstalled the addon on several times already and it still isn't working.
alliepooh989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-09, 01:17 PM   #8
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Read http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=22372
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-09, 03:01 PM   #9
Muggsmanmuggs
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
mini map / radar fixed

Originally Posted by Haavok View Post
By default Carbonite moves your minimap into the Carbonite map as an overlay.

If you would like to restore your original minimap functionality please follow these steps:
Right-click on the Carbonite (C) button and select ‘Options’
Select ‘Map Minimap’
Uncheck ‘Move Minimap into Carbonite map’

Update:

Version 3.0+ will ask you if you want to move the minimap into the Carbonite map.

It totally worked for me on the recently updated Carbonite. No problems whatsoever, it even restored a few quests that were previously not showing up. Perfection. Thx.
Muggsmanmuggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-09, 07:12 PM   #10
Nocturna
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 21
Confusion?

There are two issues being (confusingly) discussed and intermingled in this thread. One issue is the disappearance (or, failure to appear) of the square Carbonite minimap, and the other is the disappearance of the WoW (round) minimap because it has been incorporated into the Carbonite minimap by user option.

The issue I'm having is that the Carbonite minimap (the square one that sits near the bottom-left of the screen by default) will not appear no matter what I do. "Move minimap to Carbonite minimap" is NOT checked. In the past (previous releases of the addon), pushing M once toggled the Carbonite minimap, pushing it again hid the Carbonite minimap and displayed the main Carbonite map (if the "hide minimap when main map displayed" option is checked.) This was perfect.

Now, with the latest release, this no longer happens. Pushing M just displays the main Carbonite map. I can't get the Carbonite minimap to appear no matter what I do, no matter which options are checked or unchecked. Meanwhile, the WoW minimap displays and works as always.

I have tried this with Cartographer enabled and disabled, and it makes no difference- I get the same "no Carbonite minimap" behavior. I am not running any other addons which seem that they would interfere with Carbonite- I'm running only Karthus' Hunter Timers, Omen, Deadly Boss Mods and Recount.

Does anyone have any specific hints or troubleshooting suggestions on this? I purchased the Carbonite addon package (not just Carbonite Quest, the whole package) several months ago and have been pleased with it until this problem arose.

Thanks
Nocturna is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-09, 01:28 PM   #11
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by Nocturna View Post
The issue I'm having is that the Carbonite minimap (the square one that sits near the bottom-left of the screen by default) will not appear no matter what I do. "Move minimap to Carbonite minimap" is NOT checked. In the past (previous releases of the addon), pushing M once toggled the Carbonite minimap, pushing it again hid the Carbonite minimap and displayed the main Carbonite map (if the "hide minimap when main map displayed" option is checked.)
The Carbonite map is never called a minimap. Blizzard calls their radar map the minimap. Doing so to ours would be confusing. Small or large, our map is the same map, just with a different size and location.

The Carbonite small map position/size may be off screen, tiny, under another frame or it is set as being hidden. Is "Hide maximized map when ESC or map toggle (M) key pressed" checked on the Map page of the Options window? You can also press M, then right click the map window border or title and select "Reset Layout".
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-09, 02:58 PM   #12
Nocturna
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
The Carbonite map is never called a minimap. Blizzard calls their radar map the minimap. Doing so to ours would be confusing. Small or large, our map is the same map, just with a different size and location.

The Carbonite small map position/size may be off screen, tiny, under another frame or it is set as being hidden. Is "Hide maximized map when ESC or map toggle (M) key pressed" checked on the Map page of the Options window? You can also press M, then right click the map window border or title and select "Reset Layout".
Excellent, concise information! Thank you! I just went in-game, pressed M to toggle the Carbonite map, right-clicked the top border and clicked Reset Configuration- and got the small Carbonite map right where it is supposed to be!

Unfortunately, pressing M again produces the maximized map, pressing it again hides both maps, and pressing it a 3rd time just gives me the big map again- there is apparently NO way to get the small map to come up OTHER than toggling the big map with M, then "Reset Configuration," which is a clunky way to do it at best, and too time-consuming and tedious to do on a regular basis every time I want the small map. So I have lost the cool and effective functionality I want and had before- M once for the small map, M again for the large map, and the third M drops the large map back to the small map.

"Is 'Hide maximized map when ESC or map toggle (M) key pressed' checked on the Map page of the Options window?" Yes, it is- that's what I want the maximized map to do when it is open and I press M: I want it go away. Whether that means "close" "dock" or "hide," I have no clue. But I'll go play with that option to see if I can get the M key to act like it used to act with previous releases.

I will go back in-game and play with all the options one at a time until I get what I used to have, or die of frustration and/or boredom. I wish there were some "plain English" translation of what each option actually does. Telling me "Dock this or Hide that" is confusing to my non-tech-guru brain because I don't understand the *precise* meaning of the terminology used in the option text or the tooltips- it seems that understanding these terms requires a fore-knowledge of how the addon works, and I don't have that knowledge.

Thanks again for your response, at least I have the beginning of a clue where to look and what to spend hours fiddling with. Plus, I can get my small map to show up now, even though the "Reset Config" process is less than convenient.

Last edited by Nocturna : 04-30-09 at 03:05 PM.
Nocturna is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-09, 05:14 PM   #13
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by Nocturna View Post
"Is 'Hide maximized map when ESC or map toggle (M) key pressed' checked on the Map page of the Options window?" Yes, it is- that's what I want the maximized map to do when it is open and I press M: I want it go away. Whether that means "close" "dock" or "hide," I have no clue. But I'll go play with that option to see if I can get the M key to act like it used to act with previous releases.
That is the problem right there. When that option is off, Esc or M causes the map to get small again instead of hiding.
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-22-11, 06:30 PM   #14
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
see http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...401#post230401 carbonite cause the black texture?
__________________
*sry my english
http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...romania/simple
xromania™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-11, 11:55 AM   #15
xromania™
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
xromania™'s Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 284
hello, only i have this serious problem?
__________________
*sry my english
http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...romania/simple
xromania™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-09, 08:50 PM   #16
sinokreal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by Nocturna View Post
There are two issues being (confusingly) discussed and intermingled in this thread. One issue is the disappearance (or, failure to appear) of the square Carbonite minimap, and the other is the disappearance of the WoW (round) minimap because it has been incorporated into the Carbonite minimap by user option.

The issue I'm having is that the Carbonite minimap (the square one that sits near the bottom-left of the screen by default) will not appear no matter what I do. "Move minimap to Carbonite minimap" is NOT checked. In the past (previous releases of the addon), pushing M once toggled the Carbonite minimap, pushing it again hid the Carbonite minimap and displayed the main Carbonite map (if the "hide minimap when main map displayed" option is checked.) This was perfect.

Now, with the latest release, this no longer happens. Pushing M just displays the main Carbonite map. I can't get the Carbonite minimap to appear no matter what I do, no matter which options are checked or unchecked. Meanwhile, the WoW minimap displays and works as always.

I have tried this with Cartographer enabled and disabled, and it makes no difference- I get the same "no Carbonite minimap" behavior. I am not running any other addons which seem that they would interfere with Carbonite- I'm running only Karthus' Hunter Timers, Omen, Deadly Boss Mods and Recount.

Does anyone have any specific hints or troubleshooting suggestions on this? I purchased the Carbonite addon package (not just Carbonite Quest, the whole package) several months ago and have been pleased with it until this problem arose.

Thanks
I to have a similar effect going on my interface. I hit the letter "M" on my keyboard and niether the map comes up, i mean by map the area map or the little map.
I right clicked the carbonite button and tried hiting the show map part, and guess what NOTHING!.
so whats the deal?

FYI i have a mac.
sinokreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-09, 08:55 PM   #17
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,783
Originally Posted by sinokreal View Post
I to have a similar effect going on my interface. I hit the letter "M" on my keyboard and niether the map comes up, i mean by map the area map or the little map.
I right clicked the carbonite button and tried hiting the show map part, and guess what NOTHING!.
so whats the deal?

FYI i have a mac.
Carbonite and WoW version you are playing on?
__________________
Vis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-09, 08:57 PM   #18
sinokreal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Carbonite and WoW version you are playing on?
never mind it fixed when i loaded out of date addons ty guys DOnation time
sinokreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-09, 05:44 AM   #19
khoinoor
Premium Member
 
khoinoor's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 38
Minimap issue

Originally Posted by Haavok View Post
By default Carbonite moves your minimap into the Carbonite map as an overlay.

If you would like to restore your original minimap functionality please follow these steps:
Right-click on the Carbonite (C) button and select ‘Options’
Select ‘Map Minimap’
Uncheck ‘Move Minimap into Carbonite map’

Update:

Version 3.0+ will ask you if you want to move the minimap into the Carbonite map.
I've followed all suggestion in all post here and there around forum but my issue is not fixed yet. When I hit M buttom for open the bigger Carbonite Map and then I hit it again for come back to the smaller one (or either hit ESC button) the big Carbonite Map hide but the small one not show where it should be. Already checked all option and them all are marked or not as suggested..
What can i do for let small Carbonite Map appear when I hide the big one?
khoinoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-09, 08:39 AM   #20
Mycroftxxx1
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mycroftxxx1's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 103
I think you hit 'M' again and it acts like a toggle on the small map. May not be totally accurate but I do know it is a way to get the little map back.
Mycroftxxx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: Bug Reports - Live Release Version » Minimap moved/missing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off