Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-25-10, 07:58 AM   #1
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,164
Replacing Blizz textures with empty ones

Hello.

For a while I've been trying to replace the default Blizzard textures in the Interface folder with 'empty' textures - textures with the same size, but simply completely transparent, so the end result appears without any visible textures at all. Then, I'd simply add a custom frame in lua with a background and boom, restyled the Blizz frames.

Thing is though, I'm not good with Photoshop and Gimp. No matter what I do, when I make the textures fully transparent, they always appear in solid green ingame. I think I'm doing something wrong with the format, but I've no clue.

Can anyone help me out here?
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 08:36 AM   #2
Ailae
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Ailae's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 317
Originally Posted by Wowwiki
Images that have non-power of two dimensions will show up as solid green textures.
Have you checked the sizes?

http://www.wowwiki.com/XML/Texture
__________________
Oh, the simulated horror!
Ailae is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 08:48 AM   #3
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,164
I have. No luck.
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 09:03 AM   #4
grom
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
something to do with the alpha channel of the texture file?

don't know much about it, but remember something alike for transparent gifs
grom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 09:32 AM   #5
Xinhuan
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Xinhuan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170
The texture must be saved in 32-bit format (i.e must have a alpha channel, full RGBA). The minimum width and height is 16 and the maximum is 1024 and both must be powers of 2, they don't have to be equal. The TGA texture can be saved with or without RLE (run-length encoding).
__________________
Author of Postal, Omen3, GemHelper, BankItems, WoWEquip, GatherMate, GatherMate2, Routes and Cartographer_Routes
Xinhuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 10:37 AM   #6
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,164
Alright - I'll pay attention to that. Thanks
Haleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-25-10, 01:18 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,561
Originally Posted by Xinhuan View Post
The minimum width and height is 16
Nah, the minimum is 8. Maybe even 4. I've never tried 2, though.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Replacing Blizz textures with empty ones

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off