Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-11-11, 03:14 AM   #1
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 537
Looking for a DefaultUI Mover

I am currently looking for a Addon that can move certain things. I am not looking for something complex, maybe something along the lines of:

/[addonname] config; (for the addon)
or
/[addonname] unlock; -- Will unlock things from the UI, such as durability, world state, text that comes up in the middle, error text (abilities), etc.

Something easy that will just let me do that, and maybe let me hide things.
Not something that gives me everything but the kitchen sink though lol.

Any suggestions?
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah
Lily.Petal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 03:52 AM   #2
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,530
Originally Posted by Lily.Petal View Post
I am currently looking for a Addon that can move certain things. I am not looking for something complex, maybe something along the lines of:

/[addonname] config; (for the addon)
or
/[addonname] unlock; -- Will unlock things from the UI, such as durability, world state, text that comes up in the middle, error text (abilities), etc.

Something easy that will just let me do that, and maybe let me hide things.
Not something that gives me everything but the kitchen sink though lol.

Any suggestions?
Hmm, since it's for your own UI, it'd be most efficient to make your own little addon to do it. Gimme 30 minutes, and I'll whip up some Lua.
Nibelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 03:55 AM   #3
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 537
Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
Hmm, since it's for your own UI, it'd be most efficient to make your own little addon to do it. Gimme 30 minutes, and I'll whip up some Lua.
You're a God send you know that? I feel bad at the same time since you always come to my rescue xD
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah
Lily.Petal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 04:22 AM   #4
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,530
EDIT: looks like you deleted your post when I posted mine lol
Figured I'd just make the addon, as it's quick enough

LP_FrameMover
removed link to off-site download -Seerah
added link back in (at bottom), take that! -Nibelheim

Now, it's certainly not the most convenient method of moving / hiding frames, but it's the most reliable.

Just /framestack to find the name of the frame you want to move / hide, and edit the Core.lua file accordingly.

To find out the current Point, RPoint, X, and Y positions of any frame, simply type this code into your chat window:

Code:
/run print(FrameName:GetPoint())
It'll print out "Point Parent RPoint X Y"


PS.
If you want to start moving / hiding frames that are created by Load-on-demand addons, things get a little trickier. There's also some complex frames to look out for, one of note is the VehicleSeatIndicator frame.

PSS.
This is untested as I'm not at my WoW PC atm, so if any errors occur, let us know

PSSS.
Interesting, it actually took me exactly 30 minutes to do. >.>

PSSSS.
Heh, just kidding, 4 PSs would be nuts!
Attached Files
File Type: zip LP_FrameMover.zip (983 Bytes, 767 views)

Last edited by Nibelheim : 04-12-11 at 05:37 AM.
Nibelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 04:27 AM   #5
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 537
You're like half the reason my UI is working correctly/as intended xD <3

PS: Drink much coffee lol? I did one RL and you have like 4 PSSSSSSSS

Code:
/run print(DurabilityFrame:GetPoint())
Got me:
Code:
TOPRIGHT table: 1EFFBBA0 BOTTOMRIGHT -0 0
Time to see if this works
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah

Last edited by Lily.Petal : 04-11-11 at 04:33 AM.
Lily.Petal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 04:33 AM   #6
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,530
Just as reference, these are some of the frame names I'm manipulating in RealUI.

"ZoneTextFrame" -- Text that appears when you change zones
"RaidWarningFrame" -- Raid warning messages in the middle of screen
"TicketStatusFrame" -- GM Ticket status
"GroupLootFrame1" -- Loot Rolling frames
"GroupLootFrame2"
"GroupLootFrame3"
"GroupLootFrame4"
"WorldStateAlwaysUpFrame" -- PvP info at Top Center of screen
"UIErrorsFrame" -- Error messages
"PlayerPowerBarAlt" -- Sound bar and Insanity gauge on Atremedes, Cho'gall, etc
"DurabilityFrame"
"Boss1TargetFrame"
"Boss2TargetFrame"
"Boss3TargetFrame"
"Boss4TargetFrame"
"CompactRaidFrameManager" -- I hide the default Blizz raid frames
Nibelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 04:34 AM   #7
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,530
Originally Posted by Lily.Petal View Post
You're like half the reason my UI is working correctly/as intended xD <3

PS: Drink much coffee lol? I did one RL and you have like 4 PSSSSSSSS

Code:
/run print(DurabilityFrame:GetPoint())
Got me:
Code:
TOPRIGHT table: 1EFFBBA0 BOTTOMRIGHT -0 0
Time to see if this works
Just don't use "table: 1EFFBBA0" in the code. :P Best to leave the Parent field as nil for now.


Actually, noticed a small bug. In Core.lua, change the line:

Code:
p = t.parent and _G[t.parent] or UIParent
to

Code:
p = t.parent and _G[t.parent] or f:GetParent()

Last edited by Nibelheim : 04-11-11 at 04:36 AM.
Nibelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-11, 04:13 AM   #8
Lily.Petal
A Molten Giant
 
Lily.Petal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 537
Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
Hmm, have you made any addons before?
None, what so ever

My only experience is changing something in the Lua to fit my needs, adding a thing here and there, and some other things. I do not know how to make a entire addon though ^^v

EDIT: looks like you deleted your post when I posted mine lol
__________________

Aggro Color to KG Panels Borders - Nibelheim
Lua Based UI Hider - Nibelheim
Custom LUA PowerText - Stuf - Nibelheim, Seerah
Lily.Petal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Looking for a DefaultUI Mover

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off