Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-19-12, 11:14 AM   #1
Mikord
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
MikScrollingBattleText 5.7 for MoP

I've released an initial update of MSBT to support MoP: MikScrollingBattleText (MoP Beta)

I believe I have handled the vast majority of updates needed, however I could use your help with the following:
  • New Triggers that would be useful for all classes, particularly Monks
  • Identification of any old triggers that I've missed which are now incorrect or no longer apply
Mikord is offline  
Unread 07-19-12, 01:32 PM   #2
Shmii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13
I tried to update the addon myself several days ago and ran into that UnitGUID bug too. I managed to get rid of the lua errors by checking for nil around line 687 in MSBTParser.lua. I haven't noticed any glaring bugs come out of it, but at least it got the error spam to stop.

Code:
if(guid ~= nil and unitMap ~= nil) then
  unitMap[guid] = unitID
  if (not classMap[guid]) then _, classMap[guid] = UnitClass(unitID) end
  classTimes[guid] = nil
end
Shmii is offline  
Unread 07-19-12, 02:36 PM   #3
Mikord
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks for the information.

I was considering adding a nil check there as well, but I decided against it since it would result in any triggers that involve party/raid members to fail due to the parser relying on the GUIDs to identify them.

That said, I probably should still add it for the time being at the expense of the party/raid triggers until either Blizzard fixes it, or I implement a delay to work around the Blizzard issues.
Mikord is offline  
Unread 07-20-12, 09:22 AM   #4
Mikord
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Potential Brewmaster Tweaks

For Brewmaster Monks, I'm considering the following changes:
  • Handle Chi power like Combo Points and Holy Power (showing the number of Chi you have rather than +X Chi on gains) (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.2)
  • Suppress all Elusive Brew gains (it's super spammy) and instead create triggers for Elusive Brew x5, x10, and x15 (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.3)
  • Suppress all Power Guard gains and add trigger for Power Guard x3 (Edit: Implemented in 5.7.3)

I've tried these out and it cleans up the spam for me quite a bit. Thoughts or concerns?

Last edited by Mikord : 07-21-12 at 10:21 AM.
Mikord is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 07:01 AM   #5
Coldkil
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Coldkil's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 50
My monk chi bar is treated as combopoints - the only thing that's different is the talent that makes you have 4 or 5 maximum chi.

As a side note, can you please add in the options for font the "MONOCHORMEOUTLINE"? It would be awesome to support pixelfonts.

EDIT: dunno if i'm missing the option, but would be awesome also if you could set up an option for truncating numbers. So 12600 could become 12k6 or whatever.

Atm for my UI i'm editing your files adding the methods to truncete numbers, but it would be really cool if that was a part of native support.

Last edited by Coldkil : 07-21-12 at 07:03 AM.
Coldkil is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 07:54 AM   #6
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,405
In addition to shortening "12600" to "12.6k" or just "12k", it would also be nice to get an option for digit grouping, eg. turning "12600" into "12,600". In MoP beta builds, UIParent.lua defines functions for both (AbbreviateLargeNumbers and BreakUpLargeNumbers) but both could probably be written more efficiently.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 10:54 AM   #7
Mikord
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?
Mikord is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 01:23 PM   #8
Coldkil
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Coldkil's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by Mikord View Post
For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?
this is the code i'm using
Code:
lib.siValue = function(val)
	if(val >= 1e6) then
		return ('%.1f'):format(val / 1e6):gsub('%.', 'm')
	elseif(val >= 1e4) then
		return ("%.1f"):format(val / 1e3):gsub('%.', 'k')
	else
		return val
	end
end
so i prefer the nearest hundred would be awesome if the string format could be user-defined instead of fixated. I don't know how complicated would be that anyway
Coldkil is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 03:39 PM   #9
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 764
For international release addons, keep in mind that "." is for US while in EU it's "," so US code where the char is hard-coded would only work properly on US locale. It's not about the game locale too, I think it's the computer region that decides, take a look at: SetEuropeanNumbers - not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.
Vlad is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 05:35 PM   #10
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,405
Originally Posted by Vladinator View Post
For international release addons, keep in mind that "." is for US while in EU it's "," so US code where the char is hard-coded would only work properly on US locale. It's not about the game locale too, I think it's the computer region that decides, take a look at: SetEuropeanNumbers - not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.
DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR are defined in GlobalStrings.lua, misspelled variable names and all.

Also, for decimals, string.format("%.1fk", "32765") will return "32.7k" or "32,7k" depending on your locale. There is no digit grouping function built into Lua, though, so you'll have to write your own.

Originally Posted by Mikord View Post
For shortening and rounding the numbers, would you guys prefer the nearest thousand or nearest hundred?

For example, 32,765 becomes 33k (nearest thousand) or 32.8k (nearest hundred)?
I'd prefer 33k (or even 32k; accuracy is less important than brevity in this context) but as long as it's only one decimal place, either way is acceptable.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!

Last edited by Phanx : 07-21-12 at 06:46 PM.
Phanx is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 07:11 PM   #11
Mikord
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 61
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR are defined in GlobalStrings.lua, misspelled variable names and all.
I noticed those misspelled variables as well when looking through GlobalStrings ^_^.

I've decided to just make it a customizable precision of 0 or 1. So 33k or 32.8k depending on user preference. As far as the digit grouping, I've got it in my local version already as well. Both of the functions do make use of DECIMAL_SEPERATOR and LARGE_NUMBER_SEPERATOR so they work properly in all locales.

Thanks for the feedback all.
Mikord is offline  
Unread 07-21-12, 05:45 PM   #12
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by Vladinator View Post
not sure if there is a "get" version to figure out what the client is running.
Coincidentally, there is the new IsEuropeanNumbers() function added in mop (wowprog | wowpedia) (returns true/false)
Ketho is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » WoD Beta » MoP archived threads » MikScrollingBattleText 5.7 for MoP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off