Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-12-12, 03:08 PM   #1
footsoldr2
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
nUI + CT Viewport + Eyefinity(2 monitors) + Noob = Chaos

Greetings.

I'm trying to setup WoW to take advantage of two 1280x1024 monitors combined using Eyefinity with CT_Viewport to shift the character to the right hand monitor. I have read as many threads as I can find, but have not had success.

I can get CT_Viewport to make the shift of the character to the right half. nUI is stretched across the full (2 monitors) screen. I saw the news that stated /nui viewport toggles diabled/abled (http://www.nuiaddon.com/index.php/th...50721-released). When I enter that, each time it states disabled, never abled. My char is in SW and not in combat.

I edited one of my characters nUI.lua files per the instructions here (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=20917) using the settings 0.5 and 0.64125. That reduced the overall size and it was centered between the full 2 screen width.

I was going to attempt the changes to the main nUI file identified here (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ight=eyefinity), but in comparing the file that was posted by spiel2001 (the last one http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...7&postcount=12) to my current file they seem different and I was afraid to simply use the one posted since there have been version changes since then.

I apologize in advance if I am dragging you back through a trivial solution again.

Thank you in advance for your patience
footsoldr2 is offline  
Unread 08-12-12, 03:36 PM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,028
Just in case it is the reason it didn't work bear in mind that you have to use the nUI viewport toggle twice for it to work. Thanks for reminding me about it. Will have to take a look at if there is a programmatic reason it is doing that.

As to the adjustments to the file. Make a copy of the file that you have as standard and then make the specific changes Scott has mentioned. Regardless of the lines around the block of lines he is talking about it should hopefully work.

I don't use dual monitors so I can't help you with that side of thing as I am unable to test changes out for you.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
Unread 08-12-12, 04:01 PM   #3
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Have you tried http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=32257 ?

Don't think the viewport command will do any good here, as the it only moves it up, not sideways right?

*note that Eyefinity makes 1 big screen, not 2 x 1 screen, the game (neither the OS kinda) is "aware" there are 2 monitors.
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.

Last edited by Seer : 08-12-12 at 04:06 PM.
Seer is offline  
Unread 08-12-12, 04:42 PM   #4
footsoldr2
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Seer View Post
Have you tried http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=32257 ?

Don't think the viewport command will do any good here, as the it only moves it up, not sideways right?

*note that Eyefinity makes 1 big screen, not 2 x 1 screen, the game (neither the OS kinda) is "aware" there are 2 monitors.
Thank you for the response.

I tried that and it did not change anything.

I did note that in the example in http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=32257
that it shows
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", UIParent, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 0 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", UIParent, "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0 );
Whereas my version of the file has
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", nUI_MasterFrame, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 0 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", nUI_MasterFrame, "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0 );
I may just be doing this completely wrong.

Thank you.
footsoldr2 is offline  
Unread 08-13-12, 10:06 AM   #5
footsoldr2
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
I saw this thread (http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ight=eyefinity ) and realized I was changing the wrong value. So I made the change as follows to the Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua file, but nUI still sits centered between the two monitors. It did not appear to move at all.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- everything in nUI is anchored to, and a child of, the dashboard anchor
-- frame or one of the bar anchor frames. The purpose in doing this is to tie
-- everything into a universal scale so that nUI can adjust itself to fit
-- whatever display it is thrown at.

nUI_BottomBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_BottomBars );
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", nUI_MasterFrame, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 1400, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBars, "TOP", 0, 0 );

nUI_Dashboard.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_Dashboard );
nUI_Dashboard:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_Dashboard.Anchor:SetPoint( "CENTER", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );

nUI_TopBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_TopBars );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMRIGHT", nUI_MasterFrame, "TOPRIGHT", 1400, 0 );
nUI_TopBars:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBarsLocator, "BOTTOM", 0, -115 );
nUI_TopBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBars, "BOTTOM", 0, 0 );

nUI.BlizUI = CreateFrame( "Frame", "nUI_BlizUI", UIParent, "SecureFrameTemplate" );

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Perhaps I am editing the wrong file?

Thanks in advance for your help and patience.
footsoldr2 is offline  
Unread 08-13-12, 01:47 PM   #6
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,028
I thought that was the idea of that thread, if you look at the screenshots they show with their queries the screen is slightly off center and they were wanting it to be dead center.

Try tweaking the values higher and lower and see how it moves it on the screen when you reload the UI.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
Unread 08-12-12, 04:21 PM   #7
footsoldr2
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Thank you for the response.

In the version of the file I have these lines (located near the top of the file) and I changed the value from 0 to 1400 and it did not change anything.
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_MasterFrame, "BOTTOM", 0, 1400 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_MasterFrame, "TOP", 0, 1400 );

However in his example he shows the following. Should I add these lines to the code since they state "BOTTOMLEFT" and "TOPLEFT"?
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT", nUI_MasterFrame, "BOTTOMLEFT", 0, 0 );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT", nUI_MasterFrame, "TOPLEFT", 0, 0 );
I also tried with changes to the very end of the file, again with no change. However that is listed after the final "end" statement.
nUI_MasterFrame:SetHeight( 1024 );
nUI_MasterFrame:SetWidth( 1280 );
nUI_MasterFrame:ClearAllPoints();
nUI_MasterFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", UIParent, "BOTTOM", 0, 1400 );
nUI_MasterFrame:SetPoint( "TOP", UIParent, "TOP", 0, 1400 );
Thank you.
footsoldr2 is offline  
Unread 08-12-12, 04:31 PM   #8
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,028
Where the code fragment he has shown is 2 years old you would have to look at the code that existed at that to identify what specific change he is talking about.

since 2010 there has been reported a problem with the viewport option in regards to certain zones so he may have changed nUI to resolve this issue while blizzard sort it out. This could mean that dual monitors isn't possible but I don't know.

To download the files that far back go to the download page as normal and click on the other files tab and scroll down the archive files until you see the one just before the date he posted that comment. Look at the file he is talking about and hopefully the only difference is the highlighted number. The first number is the left to right value and the second number is the top to bottom or rather bottom to top in wows regards rofl.

So theoretically simply changing that first number and doing a reload should have an effect on the UI.

I wish I could help you further but this is an area of nUI that I have never touched.
__________________
Xrystal is online now  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » nUI + CT Viewport + Eyefinity(2 monitors) + Noob = Chaos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off