Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-21-13, 03:29 AM   #1
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
Work log on the next beta

Well, as I mentioned in another thread, I've managed to decrypt the entire quest database... unfortunately it increases memory usage by 5M in it's new form.

For those with good computers it's nothing, not much more then any of the other questing addons/trackers but I want the option to turn parts of it off, if your 90 doing panda quests, do you really need the quests from teldrasil in memory? no... no you don't :P so the first part i'm working on is the change over to ace libraries and moving all the options / configuration to the blizzard addon window.

At the same time i'm experimenting with the future of it as modular, disabling entire scripts like favorites or guide and watching how it reacts (so far... it reacts badly :P but i'm learning why and where)

tonight's main change to the code was the complete removal of all the leftovers from when it was a paid addon, Nxsec.lua is no more, and all the licensing functions, duplicate functions for paid or free etc has been removed.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-13, 12:48 PM   #2
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,865
This sounds so awesome... can't wait till everything is modular!!

Thanks so much for everything you do!!!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-13, 03:07 PM   #3
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,842
Personally, I'll miss Carbonite having its' own options window. For me at least that works nicer. While it's nice to just go to one spot for all of your addon options, I really like those addons that have their own options windows.

I'd go for it if you can somehow make the Carbonite options tab in the Blizzard options look/act pretty much like it currently does, except, of course, using the Blizzard options window. Y'know, things like no drop down menus........
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-13, 02:10 AM   #4
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
reorganized the entire carbonite directory, data files are now in data subdirectory, locale is now in locale subdirectory, libraries in lib.

finished first part of ace conversion... Nxtimer is gone, everything converted to AceTimer.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-13, 06:37 AM   #5
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 403
Not that I expect you to need help, Rythal, but if you do want some, I'm sure the people on wowace.com would be able and willing to answer any questions.

I'd be willing to help where I can, but between my mediocre skills and time constraints, I don't know how valuable my help would be. But I do know one thing I'd like to see in Carbonite eventually: the Warehouse supporting the guild bank, and that, I do know in a very powerful way. I could even write a Carbonite module if I knew Carb's API; Ace is the easy part.
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-13, 07:29 AM   #6
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
right now, the main thing i'm trying to figure out is how to take current saved variables, and convert it to acedb for easier profile support... not sure there is a way I can do it without everyone losing there current settings
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-13, 10:59 AM   #7
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
Tired... thought i'd post another update

- AceDB is in, every option is converted to the new.
- Map icons all now scale from 0.1 to 10 instead of 0.1 to 3, I found 3 to small.
- all the lua's are updated to use _G instead of getvalue
- Moved some options from per character to per account, like map locations/sizes with the inclusion of
profile support it just made more sense.

I broke NPCScan overlay support :/ since it called carbonites GOpts which no longer exists, debating between letting them update to use the new Nx.db, or adding GOpts back containing whatever variables they want just to keep it working.
Edit: thinking more, leave it broken since a) NPCScan should be updated to not display in carbonites microdungeons and b) they are calling the old saved variable array NxData.GOpts.

Next up, the new options window since right now after the aceDB conversion I can't change 90% of the options lol.

Last edited by Rythal : 01-30-13 at 11:07 AM.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-13, 07:34 PM   #8
crazzzzi
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
crazzzzi's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
go Rythal go! i tihnk even Heracles would pat you on the back
crazzzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-13, 07:53 AM   #9
Hentaya
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by crazzzzi View Post
go Rythal go! i tihnk even Heracles would pat you on the back
I agree...this is an equivalent task to cleaning out the Augean Stables...though YOUR day is more on the cosmic level, having no river to divert other than your own energies.
Hentaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-13, 09:36 AM   #10
Tenchi9000
A Defias Bandit
 
Tenchi9000's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
I think Carbonite2 or Carbonite v.2 would be the best names for the new version so people can find the new version much better. Keep up the great work Rythal!
Tenchi9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-07-13, 07:22 AM   #11
Mardread
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 19
I say Carboniter 2: Rise of the Maps
Mardread is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-25-13, 08:43 PM   #12
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
So.. been a while since I updated this.. the last beta is almost working except a few minor things so I started pushing forward towards the next one... Quest system rewrite

So far in my developer build, i'm now standing in northshire with the new quest database layout... quest start and end track properly, now i'm trying to get the blobs to show up.

Still a long way to having it working, but closer then I was. I've also noticed some smaller issue's which isn't totally carbonite's fault, like the northshire quests are all off by +15,-10 ... but so is wowhead so obviously blizzard moved the zone coords when they redid the zone.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-26-13, 12:42 AM   #13
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,066
Check WoWDB - the coords may be a better fit.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-13, 01:31 AM   #14
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,131
Half the options menu's are converted and working in blizzard options, trying to actually write decent descriptions of what everything changes at the same time

Got bored of doing the same thing over and over and took some time to fix that black box showing across half of wandering isle, and at the same time got the satellite map for wandering isle to display
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: Bug Reports - Beta Release Version » Work log on the next beta

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off