Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-27-13, 04:29 PM   #1
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,391
Boss frames not working anymore

*edit*
Bug is fixed. The trick is to use frequentUpdates for the statusbar and the health tag for boss frames. UNIT_HEALTH does not fire properly for bossframes.
Damn. Since the last push and changes to the bossframe only the bossframe you are currently watching will update. All other bossframes will stick at 100% hp.

Made a screenshot of the Magera encounter.


All heads are at 100%. The tooltip shows the correct health of the other snake head.

Oh...

Maybe it is my issue. Has the way how bossframes will be spawned got changed? I'm curious because on my screenshot two of the bossframes have the same name aswell. Could be a hint.

My spawn code is:
Lua Code:
  1. if cfg.units.boss.show then
  2.     oUF:RegisterStyle("diablo:boss", createStyle)
  3.     oUF:SetActiveStyle("diablo:boss")
  4.     local boss = {}
  5.     for i = 1, MAX_BOSS_FRAMES do
  6.       local name = "oUF_DiabloBossFrame"..i
  7.       local unit = oUF:Spawn("boss"..i, name)
  8.       if i==1 then
  9.         unit:SetPoint(cfg.units.boss.pos.a1,cfg.units.boss.pos.af,cfg.units.boss.pos.a2,cfg.units.boss.pos.x,cfg.units.boss.pos.y)
  10.       else
  11.         unit:SetPoint("TOP", boss[i-1], "BOTTOM", 0, -5)
  12.       end
  13.       table.insert(oUF_Diablo_Units,name) --add frames to the slash command function
  14.       func.applyDragFunctionality(unit)
  15.       boss[i] = unit
  16.     end
  17.   end
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 04-02-13 at 01:55 PM.
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-13, 02:47 AM   #2
Kagura
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Think your answer might be next :

https://github.com/haste/oUF/commit/...0c563bcff13c3b
Kagura is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-13, 03:13 AM   #3
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,391
If I understood haste correctly boss frames are now real unitframes. Thus they should poll events like UNIT_HEALTH/UNIT_POWER on unit basis.

Thus you should be able to do sth like this:

Lua Code:
  1. RegisterUnitEvent("UNIT_HEALTH","boss1","boss2","boss3","boss4","boss5")
  2. RegisterUnitEvent("UNIT_POWER","boss1","boss2","boss3","boss4","boss5")

Either this is not working as intended or sth else is wrong. Either way. The bossframes do not update correctly atm.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 03-28-13 at 03:21 AM.
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-13, 03:45 AM   #4
Kagura
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
I don't think boss units are real units (maybe they changed it and they are supposed to be, but they are still not). I don't use oUF, but I have the exact same problem in my own unitframes if I don't poll boss units.
Kagura is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-13, 05:40 AM   #5
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,751
RegisterUnitEvent only supports up to 2 units to filter on:

frame:RegisterUnitEvent(event, unit1, unit2)
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-13, 06:00 AM   #6
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,391
Thanks.

I checked ShadowedUnitFrames. He is still polling boss frame updates via OnUpdate. That is because his download is version 3.8.5.

The latest changelog including the clique-shiv and bossframe change is 3.8.6 but that version is not available for download. The download on wowace is working properly:

http://www.wowace.com/addons/shadowe...s/9127-v3-8-6/

*edit*

I checked version 3.8.6. He did remove the OnUpdate polling of the boss frames. Not sure if he has any issues though.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| Roth UI | Roth UI FAQ | GoogleCode | Zork | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 03-28-13 at 08:14 AM.
zork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » Boss frames not working anymore

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off