Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-05-14, 05:38 AM   #1
suicidalkatt
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
suicidalkatt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 317
New PC for 2014

As my computer currently stands, I'm in no shape to do much of anything.

Code:
Windows:            	Microsoft Windows 7 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
Memory (RAM):       	DDR2 4096 MB
CPU Info:           	Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
CPU Speed:          	2396.9 MHz
Sound card:         	Speakers (Realtek High Definition)
Display Adapters:   	NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti
Monitors:           	2
Screen Resolution:  	1920 X 1080 - 32 bit
Manufacturer:       	American Megatrends Inc.
Product Make:       	MS-7380
Motherboard:        	MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD P7N SLI-FI (MS-7380)
So I'm looking to jump up to this before the end of the year and I'm curious as what your opinions are of my parts I've selected.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($334.98 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i 77.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($94.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($183.98 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: G.Skill Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($109.94 @ Amazon)
Storage: PNY XLR8 240GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($129.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($117.95 @ Amazon)
Storage: Toshiba 3TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($117.95 @ Amazon)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB Video Card (Purchased For $0.00)
Case: Corsair 750D ATX Full Tower Case ($159.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair Gaming 600W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply (Purchased For $0.00)
Total: $1239.79
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)

I should have some leg room for overclocking, SSD for some nice performance and possible raid 0 with the dual Toshibas.
suicidalkatt is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 08:44 AM   #2
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 422
Your proposed components look very good. Just one question, if I may: why bother with the platter hard drive? Why not get a second solid state, or put the cost of the platter into a larger solid state? I get that 250GB isn't large by today's standards, even if it is large by SSD standards.

Do you have enough movies, songs, games, and other software that you will run out of room on 250GB and you absolutely, positively, must have 6TB of slow hard drive space?
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:06 AM   #3
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 784
This reminds me on TESO. The system requirements state a minimum of 60 GB storage space.

Are the two identical 3TB hard disks planed as a redundant storage solution?
I'm not really up to date with the SSD technology. As far as I can rember SSD is not the technology of choice for redundant storage solutions (failures, robustness, number of read/write operations, etc.).

Last edited by Duugu : 02-05-14 at 09:14 AM.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:31 AM   #4
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 422
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
This reminds me on TESO. The system requirements state a minimum of 60 GB storage space.
OWWWWW. Probably worth it, however. Still won't dent 250GB enough, even with WoW, Windows, and some apps, there is still room. Add a few movies, and then start to worry. That still illustrates that having a second or larger primary SSD would be a better choice.

Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
Are the two identical 3TB hard disks planed as a redundant storage solution?
I'm not really up to date with the SSD technology. As far as I can rember SSD is not the technology of choice for redundant storage solutions (failures, robustness, number of read/write operations, etc.).
I'm not sure either. I do know that SSDs have gotten much better, but like you, I can't/won't confirm.

Originally Posted by ckramme View Post
Looks nice.I do have a comment on the CPU.

If its a pure gaming rig then I think an i7 may be a bit over the top.
I run an i7 and at the time of this writing I'm running 2x WoW clients, Browser with 6 tabs open, skype, mumble, utorrent, steam and a mod manager for Skyrim.
My CPU is only utilizing 4 cores, sometimes a 5th does 5% load.
I respectably disagree, based on going from an i5 2.4GHz to i7 3.5GHz. I very visibly noticed a massive bump in overall smoothness in Rift, Diablo III, and WoW. Since I also have nVidia's 3D solution, I can tell you the i5 could not handle that, but the i7 does it with flair.

Granted, not everybody uses 3D, streams, etc, but even without those CPU hogs, the bump was worth it.
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:41 AM   #5
karmamuscle
Premium Member
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 196
Sure from 2.4GHz to 3.5GHz there's quite a difference.But having an i5 4670K 3.4GHz clocked at 4.2GHz with an H100 and my i7 3770K 3.5GHz clocked at 4.2GHz with the same kind cooler gives absolutely no difference in any game we have installed, WoW, D3, Skyrim, ArmA3 and SWTOR.

Both computers have 16GB of RAM.
The i5 has a GTX770 and the i7 a GTX680.

The only time I really appreciate my i7 is when I start using Photoshop and Premiere. Those a massive hogs.


I've never used 3D and rarely watch streams, so can't say if those things require that much more CPU.
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765

Last edited by karmamuscle : 02-05-14 at 09:47 AM.
karmamuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:50 AM   #6
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 784
Originally Posted by ckramme View Post
The only time I really appreciate my i7 is when I start using Photoshop and Premiere.
As far as I heared EQNext would be another good candidate for it. The voxel technology needs a lot of cpu processing power.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:49 AM   #7
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 784
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
I'm not sure either. I do know that SSDs have gotten much better, but like you, I can't/won't confirm.
I just did a quick lookup on it, and I think my concerns regarding Raids and SSDs are actually outdated.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TRIM_%28computing%29
But please don't nail me down on it.

Last edited by Duugu : 02-05-14 at 09:52 AM.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 10:09 AM   #8
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 654
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
OWWWWW. Probably worth it, however. Still won't dent 250GB enough, even with WoW, Windows, and some apps, there is still room. Add a few movies, and then start to worry. That still illustrates that having a second or larger primary SSD would be a better choice.
Why on earth would you store movies on an ssd?
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 11:37 AM   #9
Othgar
"That" Guy
 
Othgar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 228
Just wanted to add my .02 to the whole SSD discussion. I've been running a pair of (albeit small) Corsair Force Series 3 60 gig SSD's in RAID 0 for almost 2 years now, and while the performance for boot up and program loading is great, using them for anything other than programs, apps, and windows is a waste. I haven't had any stability issues since I installed them and I've tried watching movies from them and from my spinners. There really is no notable improvement in the video quality or loading. I don't use a RAID array for my spinners, but the OS side functions are enough faster that my rig still loads anything from them faster than it did when I was running strictly spinners.

IMHO a 256gb SSD is about the right size for running windows and games from. However if you have a huge Steam library you might want to consider keeping it on a spinner or getting a bigger SSD.
__________________


Othgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 09:20 AM   #10
karmamuscle
Premium Member
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 196
Looks nice.I do have a comment on the CPU.


If its a pure gaming rig then I think an i7 may be a bit over the top.
I run an i7 and at the time of this writing I'm running 2x WoW clients, Browser with 6 tabs open, skype, mumble, utorrent, steam and a mod manager for Skyrim.
My CPU is only utilizing 4 cores, sometimes a 5th does 5% load.


Depending of how many new games you plan to play I might upgrade the graphics card.


Regarding the storage, that is entirely up to your personal needs what you might want.
I think 250GB SSD is enough for games and programs.
Once you start needing to store images and videos it can skyrocket fast.
We've switched to NAS in our family to preserve things like that.
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765
karmamuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 12:15 PM   #11
10leej
A Firelord
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 486
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
Your proposed components look very good. Just one question, if I may: why bother with the platter hard drive? Why not get a second solid state, or put the cost of the platter into a larger solid state? I get that 250GB isn't large by today's standards, even if it is large by SSD standards.

Do you have enough movies, songs, games, and other software that you will run out of room on 250GB and you absolutely, positively, must have 6TB of slow hard drive space?
Honestly if that hard drive is only used for music and videos and other files that aren't actively used then why waste the money on an ssd?
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 02:01 PM   #12
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,738
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
Do you have enough movies, songs, games, and other software that you will run out of room on 250GB and you absolutely, positively, must have 6TB of slow hard drive space?
I have 300GB+ in music alone. I currently have 4TB total HDD capacity in my home computer (Windows and important programs are running on a 120GB SSD) and it's pretty much maxed out, to the extent that I recently bought the hardware to set up a dedicated media server (though I haven't set it up yet, because I'm lazy) because there are no more HDD slots in my case and I'm tired of having to delete things in order to download new things.

On the other hand, I also know people who just stream everything instead of downloading it in glorious HD, and they will never use 250GB in their lives, so it really depends on your needs... I'd guess someone planning to buy 6TB of HDD space probably needs it.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-05-14, 05:50 PM   #13
rocnroll
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
rocnroll's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 110
I find it interesting that you consider your current computer not in much shape to do anything. I see it is lacking video ram of any consequence, but it can still do many things, maybe not at top speed.

I do like your choice of upgrades though.

Phanx, build your home system.
rocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » New PC for 2014

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off