Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-29-08, 11:51 AM   #1
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
How to make smaller .tga files?

Photoshop can save things as WoW-compatible .tga files, but they're kind of big. A 256x256 pixel image is ~300 KB. My guess is that Photoshop is saving a lot of other information in there about view states, histories, and such. Is there a way to strip all that extra stuff out and just get the image by itself?
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 12:01 PM   #2
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
Photoshop can save things as WoW-compatible .tga files, but they're kind of big. A 256x256 pixel image is ~300 KB. My guess is that Photoshop is saving a lot of other information in there about view states, histories, and such. Is there a way to strip all that extra stuff out and just get the image by itself?
Photoshop don't saves additional informations within tga files.

It's not possible to create smaller files without changing the settings.
(is WoW able to handle 16 bit tga files?)
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 12:40 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,710
It must be 32-bit. 8 each for r,g,b,a.

Size depends also on how detailed your image is.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 12:46 PM   #4
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Size depends also on how detailed your image is.
Really? Is RLE allowed with WoW?

[edit] I'm almost sure that 24 bit is also ok.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 01:16 PM   #5
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
Photoshop don't saves additional informations within tga files.
Well, when I open up a tga statusbar texture from the SharedMedia library, make no changes to it, and resave it as a 32 bit tga file, the file size goes from 68 KB to 116 KB. Either the original isn't 32 bit, is compressed, or Photoshop is adding stuff to the file.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 01:18 PM   #6
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
My guess is that the original is 24 bit.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 01:22 PM   #7
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
If I resave the file as 24-bit tga it goes from 68 KB to 100 KB. Just open it, "save as". Same name, different location. Photoshop 7.0 on OSX 10.3.9.

Edit: Saving it RLE compressed, "Alpha channels" unchecked only goes up to 88 KB.

Last edited by lieandswell : 09-29-08 at 01:26 PM.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 01:35 PM   #8
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
Okehe ...

I saved a test tga as 24 bit without RLE with Photoshop CS (8.0.1) and Paint .NET. File size is exactly the same.
Of course ... it could be possible that Paint .NET adds informations too. But my believe is that the file size will be the same with any other application.

I'm not sure if wow accepts 16 bit tga files. Maybe the original file is saved as 16 bit?

[edit] 68 kb and 100 kb really looks like 16 bit/24 bit
(100/68)*16 = 23,53

Last edited by Duugu : 09-29-08 at 01:39 PM.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 01:41 PM   #9
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Resaving 16 bit, no compression, no alpha channel: 68 KB -> 84 KB.
Resaving 16 bit, RLE compression, no alpha channel: 68 KB -> 56 KB.

Edit: I wonder if this would be happening if the original file was created on a PC but now I'm modifying it on a Mac?

Last edited by lieandswell : 09-29-08 at 01:45 PM.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 02:38 PM   #10
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
Well ... strange.

I'm out of ideas now.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 02:43 PM   #11
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,871
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
(is WoW able to handle 16 bit tga files?)
No. Wow can handle 28 bit and 32 bit, but not 16 bit. If you try to use a 16 bit tga in the game, the image turns white.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 04:15 PM   #12
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Well, it looks like one thing Photoshop was adding was icon & thumbnail images. That was an extra 40 KB per image, right there. Maybe I can find other things to turn off.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 04:19 PM   #13
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
Photoshop can save things as WoW-compatible .tga files, but they're kind of big. A 256x256 pixel image is ~300 KB. My guess is that Photoshop is saving a lot of other information in there about view states, histories, and such. Is there a way to strip all that extra stuff out and just get the image by itself?
Save them as png files and convert them to blp, they'll be much smaller.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
Dreadlorde is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 05:52 PM   #14
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,871
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
Well, it looks like one thing Photoshop was adding was icon & thumbnail images. That was an extra 40 KB per image, right there. Maybe I can find other things to turn off.
My Photoshop CS doesn't add icon or thumbnail images... is that a setting somewhere?

The only thumbnail images that ever got added on my machine were from Windows...... I have thumbnail caching turned off.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 06:31 PM   #15
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by Silenia View Post
My Photoshop CS doesn't add icon or thumbnail images... is that a setting somewhere?
On my Photoshop 7.0 it's under Preferences/File Handling.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 07:33 PM   #16
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,871
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
On my Photoshop 7.0 it's under Preferences/File Handling.

I have CS (version 8), and in Preferences/File Handling it doesn't say anything about icons or thumbnails. It's no biggie really... was mainly just curious as I had never heard of that before. Thanks for trying to help me find it though!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 07:59 PM   #17
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 786
It's very ambiguous to me what this option is for ... but it has no effects to tga files (just tested this). I think it's about Photoshop files ... not about all file formats.
Furthermore I guess this option is different for Mac and Windows (I've read something about this in the Photoshop help), but because I know exactly nothing about Mac's I don't know what's different.

Secondly, the tga file format itself specifies a thumbnail. (tga 2.0 at least)
But the thumbnail's max size is 64x64 pixel. (which means the max size of a thumbnail is 16 kb)

Not very helpful at all.
But I'm still think that's not a Photoshop or thumbnail problem.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-08, 08:49 PM   #18
lieandswell
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Well, my Photoshop has checkboxes for icon, Windows thumbnail, and Mac thumbnail. When I started saving things with these turned off, my files stopped having thumbnail images and started using the generic tga icon. Of course, right?

At the moment, my 128x128 images (32 bit w/ alpha channel) are all sitting at exactly 84 KB each. Still seems a bit big. I looked for blp converters, but the only Mac ones I found required OSX 10.4 or later.
lieandswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » How to make smaller .tga files?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off