Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-09, 06:59 AM   #1
rmhawk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
A few issues i found so far

1- When i minimize the WoW screen to go to my desktop then go back to full screen, my bars are all messed up, have to /nui rl to get it back to normal

2- Cannot move the Bag bar. The bubble moves but the frame itself doesnt.

3- player/target mana and hp bars often go black. Have to /nui rl to get it back to normal

4- When switching duel spec, from one spec to another, the bars change to the appropriate spec bar, but sometimes spells are missing in the bars and need to be reapplied.

5- I noted my chat settings were not saving, kept having to reset them

6- When the HUD is on, i would get 2 and sometimes 3 casting bars on my screen, disabled HUD to get this to stop

Thats all i can think of atm....I noted that the biggest problem is when switching from full screen mode to surf your desktop. When i put WOW back in full screen mode, the UI is all messed up. /nui rl fixes it tho

Last edited by rmhawk : 04-15-09 at 07:02 AM.
rmhawk is offline  
Old 04-15-09, 07:16 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
[quote=rmhawk;126751]1- When i minimize the WoW screen to go to my desktop then go back to full screen, my bars are all messed up, have to /nui rl to get it back to normal[/qupte]

This is a known issue and a long standing bug in WoW, not nUI (or any other mod affected by it) -- read the known issues sticky in the bug reports section for more info on it.

2- Cannot move the Bag bar. The bubble moves but the frame itself doesnt.
Also a known issue that affects some users and not others and one that I'm working on. For some users, fwiw, you can move the bag bar, lock the bars back down then do a '/nui rl' and the UI will redraw with the bag bar in the right place. Doesn't work for everyone though.

3- player/target mana and hp bars often go black. Have to /nui rl to get it back to normal
Probably related to #1 above.

4- When switching duel spec, from one spec to another, the bars change to the appropriate spec bar, but sometimes spells are missing in the bars and need to be reapplied.
Hmmm... not sure if this is a nUI bug or a WoW bug with the new dual spec system. I'll add it to my list of things to watch. Just know that nUI does not manage what is on your action bars, WoW does.

5- I noted my chat settings were not saving, kept having to reset them
Do you have any other problems with settings not saving when you reload? Which chat settings are not being saved? Can you change nUI options with the slash commands and reload and have it remember them? Are you using any mods that may in any way alter the chat frame? This is another of those issues where nUI does not save your chat settings... WoW does.

6- When the HUD is on, i would get 2 and sometimes 3 casting bars on my screen, disabled HUD to get this to stop
Ummm... huh? nUI has one cast bar for the player and one cast bar for the target. Period. Can you post a screenshot of this?

Thats all i can think of atm....I noted that the biggest problem is when switching from full screen mode to surf your desktop. When i put WOW back in full screen mode, the UI is all messed up. /nui rl fixes it tho
Thanks for the feedback... it is much appreciated. I'll look into the action bar thing with dual spec and see if I can figure out what's going on.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-15-09, 08:27 AM   #3
rmhawk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. I will attempt to recreate what i saw (or what i think i saw) about the casting bars. Maybe it was just late and i was tired.

I do not notice any other chat setting not savin, mine were the local, general, lfg, and trade channels, and a few global ones, that didnt seem to save. HOWEVER, im thinking that when you switch from one spec to another now with duel spec, the chat settings may have to be set up the same on both specs. I will try this theory when i get home tonight.

Also good to know what WOW manages and nUI manages. Thanks for the mod.

All in All, a simple /nui rl (in full screen mode) seems to fix almost all the issues.
rmhawk is offline  
Old 04-15-09, 08:38 AM   #4
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,025
When you are talking about the chat settings not being saved. Are you talking about the ones you have set up on the Guild Chat optional addon if you have that installed that is ?

That is working the way it was designed. When you first log in it resets it to only show guild related messages. I forgot to add GUILD_ACHIEVEMENT messages to it so will adjust and update the project accordingly once Ive finished testing it.

Also, sounds like you may have some other optional nUI addons. Could you list which nUI addons you downloaded and installed.
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-15-09, 11:01 AM   #5
rmhawk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
nUI
Bagnon
DBM
Decursive
SmartBuff


Thats all i have installed
rmhawk is offline  
Old 04-15-09, 04:18 PM   #6
rmhawk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
I have confirmed that the COMBAT LOG settings will not save once logged out. Not sure why.
rmhawk is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 08:59 AM   #7
Banzaibunny
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
mmm, small issue i have is that when i change specs, my bars don't change at all...

now i don't use the primary bar as primary bar... so i need the top 3 bars to shift, any way of setting that up? cuz i really love nui and would be a shame to install more addons that may mess it up again

i play druid, and specced for healing and feral, so i need a lot of buttons
Banzaibunny is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 09:06 AM   #8
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I'm not sure how Bliz has set up the multi-spec on action bars yet, but I'm betting the main action bar is the only one they update. I am working on adding profiles to the action bars so you can store and select from multiple sets of action bar setups.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 09:35 AM   #9
Banzaibunny
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
cool...

any suggestions on what to do untill then? since i guess that will take quite some time to make
Banzaibunny is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 10:22 AM   #10
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Maybe "reflux" can offer some help;

Reflux

Can't try it at the moment myself tho, so so don't go ballistic if it doesn't
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.
Seer is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 11:21 AM   #11
Vis
Premium Member
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,782
Kinda odd. On my paladin, I'm dual specced for prot and holy. When I swap talents all the buttons change, not just the primary. This may be another little glitch that came into play from the patch on Blizz's part. Some see it, some dont :/ I'll play with mine some more later and see what happens on my end, maybe I'm imagining things, lol.
Vis is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 11:56 AM   #12
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,025
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
I'm not sure how Bliz has set up the multi-spec on action bars yet, but I'm betting the main action bar is the only one they update. I am working on adding profiles to the action bars so you can store and select from multiple sets of action bar setups.

Hmm, time to see if spec changing changes the bar in blizz. I thought they were setting up the ability to store your action bars but just assumed that they hadn't finished it as I didn't notice it specifically. Time to test...


edit : Nope standard blizz doesn't switch either. As the pics below show.

edit2: Scratch that. Might be good if I did physically change the bars for each spec - rofl. Just did a slight change to one of my action bars and then did another talent switch and it changed the bars. So priests work from shadow/holy specs. For me in normal blizz. Yep and in nUI usage too.

edit3: Grrr .. I should really read every post.. Testing non main action bar Yep at least the below left and bottom left bars switched when I switched specs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_041709_190650.jpg
Views:	599
Size:	328.2 KB
ID:	2498  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_041709_190703.jpg
Views:	601
Size:	331.0 KB
ID:	2499  

Last edited by Xrystal : 04-17-09 at 12:17 PM.
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-17-09, 01:54 PM   #13
Banzaibunny
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
gonna check as well what bars change, maybe i should have tested a bit more before asking for help

ok, indeed it does work.
after i dragged some abilities from my spellbook into the action bars they went back into their "normal" state when i changed specs, and back when i changed again

Last edited by Banzaibunny : 04-18-09 at 03:24 AM.
Banzaibunny is offline  
Old 04-18-09, 03:52 PM   #14
rmhawk
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
I have another question about nUI+ and Video effect. Does nUI do anything to the video settings? i cannot change my shadow quality setting. Also, when i drag the Video Quality slider down to Low, it goes back to custom.
rmhawk is offline  
Old 04-18-09, 04:21 PM   #15
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
No... it does not. Are you playing on a Vista box? Can you save other settings between sessions?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-19-09, 08:23 AM   #16
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
Yea I would say spiel probably hit the nail on the head if your using vista there is a permission issue when the game is installed in the c:/public/games folder if you google it you'll find tons of threads with these problems not saving settings the only fix that I know of is to install it in a different place I simply moved mine to c:/programfiles/
But I wound up with an additional folder in a really weird spot forget where as it was a pretty long time ago, something like c:/local app/virtual data (show hidden files must be enabled to find this I believe) that had to be erased for my add-ons to run right and save my settings
Hopefully some of that might be useful
__________________


Last edited by neuralassassin : 04-19-09 at 08:25 AM.
neuralassassin is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » A few issues i found so far

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off