Thread Tools Display Modes
01-06-06, 10:12 AM   #1
Crusty
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Floater Problem

Can anyone tell me how to edit a floater so it will only show after I parry to indicate I can use "Riposte"?

Another question is I made one too many floater buttons and I wish to delete them to add to the bar of my choice, I see a "Delete" text on the right side of the "Floaters" label but theres no minus sign only a Plus "+" and a drop down menu thanks in advance and more power to Loz
__________________
One day I loaded this UI and thats why I'm here...
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 10:35 AM   #2
Apate
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Apate's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
to delete it, just select it in the drop-down and it's gone.

for the parry->riposte issue, I don't have the exact script on-hand, but previously I did something similar with dodge->overpower. in the events section, you can select 'unit misses' (or something similar to that) and do a string.gfind for parry (or dodge) and teh use the script command that's something like DAB_ShowFloater(#)

sorry for the lack of any exact syntax. I've got it on my home computer, and it was very similar to something on loz's site, but maybe that can get you started until someone else comes along.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 11:02 AM   #3
Crusty
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Ok thank you that solved my problem 1

still cannot figure out how to make the Riposte Floater to reapper I have it on "Hide" on the Floater Config option I had it working before I read in one of the Threads in Loz's website and used "DAB_Floater_ShowWhenUsable(120);" script on the OnUpdate but now when I use it it gives me errors Ill post the exact guide which I copied from the original thread and saved in my guild website unfortunately its now an obsolete guide due to 3.0


Heres the Floater Guide:

-Make the Button Appear Only When Useable:

Now the extremely cool part, and your first taste in macros. We're gonna take some floaters and make them only appear in the heat of battle, right when you need them. Here are the relevant skills by class (to be updated later):

WARRIORS: Execute, Revenge, Overpower
HUNTERS: Mongoose Bite, Counterattack

-1 Create a Floater for each of these skills, and place them where they will pop out at you in battle. Lozareth puts em right on top of his character, I like em just below, you put them where you want them. Size them the way you want.

-2 In the DAB menu, select "On Event Macros". Macros are little snippets of code that allow you to customize things exactly the way you want. Don't be intimidated by them! I'll explain them more in Part 3, but for now just follow my instructions.

-3 In the "Choose Event" drop-down, select "OnUpdate". This part tell DAB when to execute our macro. Look through it really quick, just to get an idea of what DAB can do.

-4 In the big window below, type in the following, exactly as I have it:

DAB_Floater_ShowWhenUsable(120);

The number in parenthesis corresponds to the number of the Floater you want to use.

-5 Add a copy of the same line above for each Floater you have created. For example, if you have 3 floaters, your window should now look like:

DAB_Floater_ShowWhenUsable(120);
DAB_Floater_ShowWhenUsable(119);
DAB_Floater_ShowWhenUsable(118);

I hope someone can explain to me how to make my Riposte button work thanks
__________________
One day I loaded this UI and thats why I'm here...

Last edited by Crusty : 01-06-06 at 11:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 11:32 AM   #4
Rags
A Cyclonian
 
Rags's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 44
that's what I'll be tackling tonight when I get home, but what you're describing sounds like the old way of coding for DAB.

Not quite the same now (it's mondo better)
__________________
Rags
Warrior|Druid [Blackhand]
Warrior|Mage [Deathwing]


"I had a stick of Carefree gum, but it didn't work. I felt pretty good while I was blowing that bubble, but as soon as the gum lost its flavor, I was back to pondering my mortality." - Mitch Hedberg
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 11:57 AM   #5
Crusty
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks if you will, please post here on how to set this up when you figure it out I appreciate the help, its now 4 am here and my UI is almost complete gonna get some well deserved sleep this mod gives me anxiety lol
__________________
One day I loaded this UI and thats why I'm here...
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 12:04 PM   #6
Arin
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Set up your floater, Drop in the Riposte button, go to DAB select the floater at the bottom of the scroll, hit Advanced Config(?) where it says Active Conditions. From the dropdown, select Target Just Parried, Make sure it is You, and then on the second dropdown, select Show. May aso want to select Hide on click so it goes away after you hit it.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 01:15 PM   #7
Apate
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Apate's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
Originally Posted by Arin
Set up your floater, Drop in the Riposte button, go to DAB select the floater at the bottom of the scroll, hit Advanced Config(?) where it says Active Conditions. From the dropdown, select Target Just Parried, Make sure it is You, and then on the second dropdown, select Show. May aso want to select Hide on click so it goes away after you hit it.

wow. I hadn't tackled floaters yet, but it sounds like they got very easy.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 01:33 PM   #8
Arin
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by Apate
wow. I hadn't tackled floaters yet, but it sounds like they got very easy.
Incredably easy. No long strings to copy/paste...it may be awhile until i actully "play" wow...
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 02:10 PM   #9
Lozareth
An Onyxian Warder
 
Lozareth's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 366
Hehe, don't have to use scripts anymore. Just go to the Control tab for the floater:

Condition: Action Usable - choose Riposte; Response: Show
Condition: Action Unusable - choose Riposte; Response: Hide
__________________
High Pope of the Divine Chihuahua
http://www.discordmods.com
  Reply With Quote
01-06-06, 07:08 PM   #10
Crusty
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Gee Thanks alot! that helped my problems Props to Rags Loz Arin and Apate!
__________________
One day I loaded this UI and thats why I'm here...
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » Floater Problem


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off