Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-10, 12:34 PM   #1
Amenity
Guest
Posts: n/a
SetCursor borked?

I've made a nice 32x32 .blp mouse cursor image, and am attempting to use it by simply adding a SetCursor("path\filename.blp") to my "kitchen sink" addon. I'm getting nothing.

Am I doing it wrong, or was this feature removed?

Last edited by Amenity : 01-23-10 at 12:34 PM. Reason: Typo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-10, 12:36 PM   #2
Cralor
Mmm... cookies!!!
 
Cralor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 767
Try "Interface\\AddOns\\ADDONNAME\\file.file"

I've tried assuming that it knows you are in your AddOn's directory, but I'm pretty sure it only likes the full thing :P

Hope this helps!
__________________
Never be satisfied with satisfactory.
Cralor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-10, 01:04 PM   #3
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 941
It does want the entire path since it is possible to use textures from the core game too.
This is always relative to WoW's installation directory.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-10, 02:40 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,524
From http://www.wowwiki.com/API_SetCursor

If the cursor is hovering over WorldFrame, the SetCursor function will have no effect - cursor is locked to reflect what the player is currently pointing at.
Also, according to http://wowprogramming.com/docs/api/SetCursor

Normally used in a frame's OnEnter handler to change the cursor used while the mouse is over the frame. If used elsewhere, the cursor will likely be immediately reverted to default (due to the mouse handlers of other frames doing the same).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-10, 11:35 AM   #5
Amenity
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well crap. Guess the days of the custom cursor are over, then.

Did Blizz ever offer any reason behind why they've disallowed the old method (the putting of custom cursors in an Interface\CURSOR directory to overwrite the stock ones)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-10, 02:23 AM   #6
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,024
Originally Posted by Amenity View Post
Well crap. Guess the days of the custom cursor are over, then.<snip>
Not really - you can do a hack-job of it with screen coords in an OnUpdate.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » SetCursor borked?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off