Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-15-09, 04:53 AM   #1
evlmnky
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Moving the focus frame

Hi first off i have been using nui+ and I am super happy with how its been working, the only thing I would like to be able to is move where the focus frame appears. Right now it is putting the focus frame right over the minimap screen in the bottom center of my ui. Is there anyway that I can move it? Thanks for the help
evlmnky is offline  
Unread 12-15-09, 05:40 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
You can move it, but it is not a trivial task because other frames are anchored to it and will move when you move it.

To move the focus, you'll need to edit [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > UnitPanels > {panel mode} > nUI_UnitPanel_{panel mode}.lua ] and locate the section for the focus frame, then change the "xOfs" and "yOfs" anchor values to move it.

Save your changes after you make them and then do a '/nui rl' to reload the UI and see your changes. You may then need to move other frames that moved with it.

That said, it's pretty rare that you need the focus frame and the minimap at the same time isn't it? But, if you are in a situation where you need both, you could always use the '/nui minimap' option to return the minimap to the upper right corner of the display.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 12-15-09, 02:30 PM   #3
Emriana
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Actually, I think moving the focus frame would be very helpful as well. There are a few boss encounters, Ony being one of them, where as people usually call out directions n,s,e,w, etc. during breaths. Being able to view the map in these instances is very helpful to me. I usually use my focus frame for my tank for heals on my priest or for passing them threat via macro without having to change targets on my rogue. I'll try the /nui minimap option you suggested. But the possibility of a movable focus frame does sound very nice.
Emriana is offline  
Unread 12-15-09, 03:41 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
In nUI6 everything will be movable. But I can assure you it won't happen in nUI5... much too hard to do.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 12-15-09, 11:35 PM   #5
evlmnky
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
thanks for the replys
evlmnky is offline  
Unread 03-18-10, 08:20 AM   #6
SuperOx
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
You can move it, but it is not a trivial task because other frames are anchored to it and will move when you move it.

To move the focus, you'll need to edit [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > UnitPanels > {panel mode} > nUI_UnitPanel_{panel mode}.lua ] and locate the section for the focus frame, then change the "xOfs" and "yOfs" anchor values to move it.

Save your changes after you make them and then do a '/nui rl' to reload the UI and see your changes. You may then need to move other frames that moved with it.

That said, it's pretty rare that you need the focus frame and the minimap at the same time isn't it? But, if you are in a situation where you need both, you could always use the '/nui minimap' option to return the minimap to the upper right corner of the display.
I'm going to have to try this as well. As a hunter, I need to MD as often as possible to the tank in order to manage aggro, with the focus frame up however, it covers my minimap as well as the buttons that remain on the minimap..... the problem here is that one of those buttons is my tracking button which I like to switch for encounters to the specific mobs I am fighting for the dps boost.... unless there is a way to just move the buttons?

Any help is greatly appreciated
SuperOx is offline  
Unread 03-18-10, 10:16 AM   #7
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
There is no way to move only the buttons. However, you could install the nUI_InfoPanel_Minimap plugin and move your minimap into the lower right info panel.

Note... moving the focus, alone, will not "uncover" the minimap. The dashboard minimap is hidden when you have a focus, not just overlaid.

The upside of moving the minimap into the info panel is that it is a significantly larger minimap and it can be displayed at the same time as your focus frame. The down side is that you can't have the minimap at the same time as you have the battleground map or the state frames displayed. However, in my experience, you rarely need both at the same time.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 03-18-10, 10:32 AM   #8
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,865
Originally Posted by SuperOx View Post
I'm going to have to try this as well. As a hunter, I need to MD as often as possible to the tank in order to manage aggro, with the focus frame up however, it covers my minimap as well as the buttons that remain on the minimap..... the problem here is that one of those buttons is my tracking button which I like to switch for encounters to the specific mobs I am fighting for the dps boost.... unless there is a way to just move the buttons?

Any help is greatly appreciated
They have addons to auto change tracking based on the mobs, but I could never get any of those to work for me. I ended up using a macro:

/run local Tt,t,c=Tt or {} for i=1,25 do t=string.match(GetTrackingInfo(i) or "","Track (.+)") if t then t=gsub(t,"s$","") Tt[t]=i end end c=UnitCreatureType("target") if Tt[c or ""] then SetTracking(Tt[c]) print("Tracking "..c) end

I also moved the MiniMap back up to the right top corner, and now use BasicMiniMap: http://www.wowinterface.com/download...icMinimap.html

Not sure if you would want this or if you already have it... it's a macro to Misdirect on your focus target:

#showtooltip Misdirection
/assist [target=focus]
/cast [target=focus] Misdirection


I hope this was helpful!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » Moving the focus frame

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off