Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-26-10, 03:22 PM   #1
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
5.06.20 The Death of Info Panels...

Something in 5.06.20 is causing a large number of the info panels to screw up. At first I thought it was just something with InfoPanel: Grid but after reinstalling SKata as well its baddly screwing with the UI.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-26-10, 03:45 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
What happens if nUI and Skada are the only two enabled addons?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 05-26-10, 03:51 PM   #3
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Testing now will update in a moment...
Ok with only nUI, SKata and Grid running I get a bug that will not let me copy or paste >_< But ya its only when useing SKata and Grid Infopanel that it screws up.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...

Last edited by AsheruWolf : 05-26-10 at 03:57 PM.
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-26-10, 06:32 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Odds are the problem is the Grid info panel -- has it been updated since the 5.06.17 release went out? If not, there's your problem.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 05-26-10, 08:27 PM   #5
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,783
Someone please correct me if I'm wrong, and test this at your own risk of course

In nUI_InfoPanel_Grid at lines 70-90 is this code block below. If you change both "VARIABLES_LOADED" events to "ADDON_LOADED" It may work again. Just a thought from seeing Xrystal playing with her Mageports addon and vaguely remembering what had changed, lol

Code:
-- master frame for the plugin

local plugin    = CreateFrame( "Frame", nUI_INFOPANEL_GRID, nUI_Dashboard.Anchor );
plugin.active   = true;

local function onGridEvent()
	
	if event == "VARIABLES_LOADED" then
		
		if not IsAddOnLoaded( "Grid" ) then 
			LoadAddOn( "Grid" );
		end
		
		plugin.active = IsAddOnLoaded( "Grid" );

	end	
	
end

plugin:SetScript( "OnEvent", onGridEvent );
plugin:RegisterEvent( "VARIABLES_LOADED" );
__________________

Last edited by Vis : 05-26-10 at 08:42 PM. Reason: hehe, I did forget which function changed
Vis is offline  
Unread 05-26-10, 09:16 PM   #6
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Vis sorry to say that didn't work. Thanks for the suggestion I guess we will have to wait and see if the author updates it.

spiel2001 what ever this is doing causes everything in nUI to stop working but the area in the center. I don't know whats up but just thought I would give you the heads up.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 12:02 AM   #7
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Hmm strange. I haven't upgraded to v20 yet .. but I'll grab it and the grid panel and see if I can get the same problem.

Have you got a screenshot or is it not a display issue ?
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 05:58 AM   #8
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Ok the first one is the normal UI without grid on.

And here it is with it on.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...

Last edited by AsheruWolf : 05-27-10 at 06:05 AM.
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 09:35 AM   #9
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Hmm that effect you are seeing happens with the plugin not being compatible with 5.06.17. I'll definitely see if I get the same problem.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 10:35 AM   #10
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Okay, installed 5.06.20 and the grid plugin and all seems to be working fine for me. But then again that VARIABLES_LOADED event change in 5.06.17 was due to the inconsistent timing of VARIABLES_LOADED so it's possible that I had a lucky event order run
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052710_173314.jpg
Views:	595
Size:	271.5 KB
ID:	4320  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052710_173305.jpg
Views:	597
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	4321  
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 03:05 PM   #11
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
So is it ok for me to hate you or should I just keep screwing around till I can get lucky?
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 03:08 PM   #12
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
I'm still trying to get it to not work but unlucky yet .. feel free to hate me but keep plugging away at it anyway.

Anyway else using the grid plugin and getting this problem ?
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 03:13 PM   #13
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Did you try just loading nUI and Grid/Infopanel only?
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 03:18 PM   #14
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Nope, I didn't .. it was with all my infopanel plugins. I'll do that though once I get my dailies done.

What infopanel addons do you usually use that were disabled for your test ? Because some of those chat based infopanels do not get rid of the chatframes if you just disable the plugin without using the slash command I added to disable the chat frame. I aim to fix that once I figure out a way to redock it on log out and undock it at log in. But that could explain some of those visual irks I spotted.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-27-10, 03:30 PM   #15
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Okay
Using Addon Control Panel I disabled all addons except it and the following:

nUI+ 5.06.20 and Grid and Grid Plugin : Screenshot 1
nUI+ 5.06.20 and Grid and Grid Plugin and Skada : Screenshot 2

Hmm, first error, repeated again once flight was over but nada.

Removed Skada. No error. Added Skada. Same error.

Removed Grid and kepts Skada. Same error.

Aha .. I know what the problem is ..

That error that I screenshotted is the cause of the problem. I am guessing you have Display Lua Errors turned off and you don't have some sort of bugwatching addon installed ?

I use bugsack and have lua errors displayed and it silently ignores minor bugs and lets it deal with its stuff which explains why I never saw anything until I turned off bugsack.

Hopefully this will help resolve the problem but for now downloading one of those bug swatting addons may at least ignore the little bugs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052710_222038.jpg
Views:	608
Size:	240.0 KB
ID:	4322  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052710_222239.jpg
Views:	606
Size:	302.5 KB
ID:	4323  
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 05-28-10, 11:51 AM   #16
AsheruWolf
Premium Member
 
AsheruWolf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 131
Grid issue is now fixed still no luck on SKata! Thanks for the help everyone.
__________________
The end is never really the end, its the start of something new...
AsheruWolf is offline  
Unread 05-28-10, 03:03 PM   #17
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Originally Posted by AsheruWolf View Post
Grid issue is now fixed still no luck on SKata! Thanks for the help everyone.
Well, thankfully, the skada issue might be resolvable by Scott but if not it might be in the realm of the creator of skada.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » 5.06.20 The Death of Info Panels...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off