Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-03-10, 07:20 PM   #1
Dreadrel
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
nUI6 - Ouch!

After installing nUI6 alpha and logging on, everything looked ok and I had no error messages. I then logged off and disabled nUI6. When I logged back on all my addons were messed up. When I logged off and went to the Add on page ALL of my add ons had been enabled for ALL my toons. Ugh! I hope you can fix this. It will be awhile before I try nUI6 alpha again.

Dreadrel
Dreadrel is offline  
Unread 06-03-10, 07:26 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
nUI6 would *NOT* have caused all of your addons to be enabled... it's not capable of doing such a thing. That functionality is entirely handled by Blizzard and I couldn't even break that if I wanted to as it would be a HUGE security hole if an addon could do what you describe.

I'm not sure what happened there, but I assure you it had *NOTHING* to do with nUI6... jus' sayin'
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 06-03-10, 10:56 PM   #3
Dreadrel
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
I hear you. All I know is that after disabling nUI6 (and nothing else) and relogging all my addons were enabled. It may be a mystery, but it did happen.
Dreadrel is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 01:41 AM   #4
Drugekull
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23
I didn't have the same problem I disabled NUI6 yesterday just to run a few 5 mans and everything went back to the way it was so I don't think NUI6 caused your problem
Drugekull is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 08:56 AM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,629
(Just fyi, an addon can enable/disable other addons, but I'm sure spiel would know if he had EnableAddOn("blah") in his code. )
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 11:13 AM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I was unaware that addons could disable addons... I knew they could load them, etc. Seems like a huge hole to me... but okay.

To be sure, I definitely have *no* Enable/DisableAddon() calls in any of my code.

And thanks for the education... now I can wreak havoc on addons I don't like ~grin~

(kidding)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 11:15 AM   #7
Dreadrel
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
This morning I decided to see if I could reproduce the problem....nada...My most likely explanation is that after disabling nUI6 and moving my mouse on the Add-on screen to click "OK," I indadvertantly clicked on "Enable All." At this point I think it was a false alarm.

Dreadrel
Dreadrel is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 03:57 PM   #8
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,034
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
I was unaware that addons could disable addons... I knew they could load them, etc. Seems like a huge hole to me... but okay.

To be sure, I definitely have *no* Enable/DisableAddon() calls in any of my code.

And thanks for the education... now I can wreak havoc on addons I don't like ~grin~

(kidding)
Psst . what about your infopanel addons rofl. I know I use DisableAddon to stop an infopanel addon from running if the one thats running overrides it.

EG. DecursiveOmen InfoPanel turns off Decursive and Omen InfoPanels if they are loaded as it seems to not like multiple infopanels for the same addon rofl.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-04-10, 04:58 PM   #9
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I don't use that command in any of my code. Even plugins.

Until today, I didn't even know you could do that.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » nUI6 - Ouch!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off