Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-12-10, 03:10 PM   #1
Toecheese
A Murloc Raider
 
Toecheese's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
How do I move the Range TEXT up the screen?

Hi all
I've been putting together a transparent skin which is already in the art section, but have just noticed the Range text is now too low.

I've already managed to move the cooldown bar up to where I need it, but I can't find the code for the Range text.
I have found and moved the range icons on the mob portraits but thats not what I need.

I've looked all over but all I have found is the \AddOns\nUI\Layouts\Default\UnitPanels files which move the icons and the
\nUI\Layouts\Default\HUDLayouts\PlayerTarget

Neither of which appear to be what I need!

Any suggestions?
Toecheese is offline  
Unread 10-12-10, 08:54 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
The location of the range text is in the label section of the ["Range"] data block in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > HUDLayouts > {hud mode} > nUI_HUDSkin_{hud mode}_Target.lua ] where {hud mode} is one of PlayerTarget, HealthPower, etc.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 10-13-10, 02:41 AM   #3
Toecheese
A Murloc Raider
 
Toecheese's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
The location of the range text is in the label section of the ["Range"] data block in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > HUDLayouts > {hud mode} > nUI_HUDSkin_{hud mode}_Target.lua ] where {hud mode} is one of PlayerTarget, HealthPower, etc.
Thanks Spiel, I could have sworn I tried that already!

Ah well will have to wait for this patch to finish downloading now before I can try again.

Thanks for the speedy response
TC
Toecheese is offline  
Unread 10-14-10, 03:49 AM   #4
Toecheese
A Murloc Raider
 
Toecheese's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Yep that got it, thanks a bunch
__________________


What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, a rip-off artist at heart.
My brush has two colours, Copy and Paste, and my canvas is someone else's!


(Sorry Spiel2001 I couldn't resist )
Toecheese is offline  
Unread 12-16-10, 01:20 PM   #5
alester_veran
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
I was wondering if this was a designer question or a user question? The hud scale is perfect for me -besides- the fact that I don't need the range indicator, yet have no way to shut it off, so I have to scale the hud down to .85 to get the range out of my buttons.

Is there a way to get rid of the range indicator that i'm unaware or, or at least move it? I'm not very UI savvy, so forgive me if it's already been answered.

Edit: alright, it seeme the actual problem is the entire hud sets too low on one characters nUI incarnation, while on others, it seems higher up, a little larger, and completly out of the way. if there is a way to move the entire hud frame, that might be a better option x.x

This is the character that has the weird nUI.

This is the nUI style I prefer.

Last edited by alester_veran : 12-16-10 at 01:50 PM.
alester_veran is offline  
Unread 12-16-10, 01:38 PM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Rather than scale the HUD down, modify the vertical offset... this problem is being caused by the viewport bug in WoW 4.0 -- you can fix it with the command '/nui hud vofs 150' -- you might have to play with the number a bit to move it up and and down until you get it where you want it.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 12-16-10, 01:51 PM   #7
alester_veran
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks for the reply! I just was editing my post with some images. I'll try that out and see If I can find a good settting.
alester_veran is offline  
Unread 12-16-10, 07:03 PM   #8
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
If it matters any, the best way to include images in your forum posts is to use the paperclip icon in the message editor or scroll down the page to the "Manage Attachments" button -- that way we can see the images full size and they are attached directly to the forum post. Hosting them on other sites and linking them into the post makes them harder to view and if they get deleted off the other site, breaks the forum history.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » How do I move the Range TEXT up the screen?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off