Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-11, 01:22 PM   #21
wacko1
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 48
Originally Posted by evlyxx View Post
but fails in Throne of the Tides
i have the same problems with the water as the rest of the posters

but this caught my eye cause its the only instance that messes with my graphics , cant see my target "circle" on the floor and all aoe effects are messed up ,in that i cant see them , not my own and not the mobs.

my other comp without nui but the same addons doesnt have the problem.

running win7 64 with a dx9 card so its not related to dx11

:edit
my other comp is has the same videocard so thats not the problem

Last edited by wacko1 : 05-08-11 at 02:53 AM.
wacko1 is offline  
Old 05-07-11, 01:53 PM   #22
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 751
Disappearing water, objects, e.g. is a problem that is not addon related. Happens to me too sometimes, mostly with specific objects tough. I read that looking at the green lines on Venoxis could make them disappear on some drivers, funny ey? :P
Vlad is online now  
Old 05-08-11, 07:37 PM   #23
Tappin
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by wacko1 View Post
i have the same problems with the water as the rest of the posters

but this caught my eye cause its the only instance that messes with my graphics , cant see my target "circle" on the floor and all aoe effects are messed up ,in that i cant see them , not my own and not the mobs.

my other comp without nui but the same addons doesnt have the problem.

running win7 64 with a dx9 card so its not related to dx11

:edit
my other comp is has the same videocard so thats not the problem
Same problem, same zone. Dx11 and Win7 64. Using Sunnart Viewport, so it does seem to be related to Blizzard's implementation of viewport calls and not the addons themselves?
Tappin is offline  
Old 05-09-11, 08:58 AM   #24
anotherbiffname
A Cliff Giant
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
So im confused is this or is this not an addon problem, it is rather annoying and i tried turning liquid detail to low and it didnt fix this, is there a fix to this?
anotherbiffname is offline  
Old 05-09-11, 09:40 AM   #25
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
This is not an addon problem, it's a Blizzard bug. However, for now, if you have that problem, you can work around the bug by following the instructions in this post...

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...24&postcount=3
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-09-11, 10:18 AM   #26
anotherbiffname
A Cliff Giant
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
Alright thanks that fixed it.
anotherbiffname is offline  
Old 05-09-11, 05:42 PM   #27
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
how would you get this to work with nUI6?
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
tinyu is offline  
Old 05-09-11, 05:54 PM   #28
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Look in the skin layout file. That's where the viewport is defined for nUI6
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-12-11, 09:56 AM   #29
unionthugg174
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
I am having the same water issues. I switched from directx9 to 11 with nui still disabled and the water was gone. I changed liquid detail to low, enabled the addon, and the water came back. I still have the issue of the graphics not on the same plane as my charactet at certain angles. Pc with windows7
unionthugg174 is offline  
Old 05-12-11, 10:04 AM   #30
unionthugg174
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Tried to repair file. What program should I use to open nui.lua file?
unionthugg174 is offline  
Old 05-12-11, 10:28 AM   #31
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Any plain text editor, like Notepad, should work.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-12-11, 11:36 AM   #32
Belgarius
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Disabling WorldFrame:SetPoint in nUI.lua does remedy the problem, but, and with no offense to Scott nor any other addon author using viewport mods, Blizzard needs to step up and actually fix this, instead of beating around the bush, and pretty much placing the blame on the addons being used.

I've been following the threads pertaining to this on the WoW forums, and what it pretty much has boiled down to, in spite of users making the effort to link discussions with addon authors regarding this NOT being an addon issue, but instead, a problem with the way the aforementioned function is being implemented by Blizzard, is simply this: Since disabling your addon makes the problem go away, there is no problem to begin with.

Can't say as how I am surprised by this, honestly. I can, however, applaud the time and patience put forth by those authors who have to deal with this sorry attitude.

Edit: I R gud speeler
Belgarius is offline  
Old 05-25-11, 12:31 AM   #33
GravityStorm
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
disabling viewport

I disabled teh viewport as was suggested in the first reply on this thread, made the changes exactly as specified, saved the file, completely exited wow, restarted wow and everything works fine. so if that fix isn't working for others i would venture to guess you did not make the change correctly.

Scott, my email address changed... how do i update my email for your mailing list regarding nUI+ updates?
GravityStorm is offline  
Old 05-25-11, 04:02 PM   #34
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by GravityStorm View Post
Scott, my email address changed... how do i update my email for your mailing list regarding nUI+ updates?
Whenever you receive a newsletter e-mail from me, there's a link at the top of it you can click the update your e-mail address. If you've got a copy of an old newsletter laying around, just use that link.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 06-01-11, 11:12 PM   #35
brian90
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
graphic "bug"

Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
This is not an addon problem, it's a Blizzard bug. However, for now, if you have that problem, you can work around the bug by following the instructions in this post...

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...24&postcount=3
if it's a blizz problem how come when NUI is disabled the "bug" isn't there? in Throne of the Tides it's also bugged i don't think u may call it a Blizz problem therefor because if nui is disabled the "bug" disapears
brian90 is offline  
Old 06-02-11, 02:17 AM   #36
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Originally Posted by brian90 View Post
if it's a blizz problem how come when NUI is disabled the "bug" isn't there? in Throne of the Tides it's also bugged i don't think u may call it a Blizz problem therefor because if nui is disabled the "bug" disapears
The bug happens when the viewport is modified. Any addon that changes the viewport, or at least moves it up (or down I suppose) will have this bug.
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.
Seer is offline  
Old 06-02-11, 12:10 PM   #37
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
What Seer said -- and there are already instructions posted (several times) for how to remove the viewport from nUI if the bug is bothering you. Myself, I just ignore it in the zones for the benefit of having the normal viewport working in all the places where it isn't broken.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 06-10-11, 12:21 PM   #38
shammou
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Are you two playing on a Mac or a PC?

If you would, open the file [World of Warcraft > Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua ] in a plain text editor and look for this line...

Code:
        WorldFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );
and change it to look like this...

Code:
        --WorldFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );
then save the file and reload WoW. Does the problem go away?
i am using an i7 960 3.3ghz, 285gtx and have the settings for video at max... i used this to make the change in the file and everything is working great now...no more floating fish and seperated mounts =) tyvm
shammou is offline  
Old 06-14-11, 07:10 PM   #39
unknowndead
A Cyclonian
 
unknowndead's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 41
having an issue finding the code to fix this can some one post a screen shot of where the code is or upload a copy of the modified lua
unknowndead is offline  
Old 06-14-11, 09:20 PM   #40
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Just open [World of Warcraft > Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua ] in a plain text editor like notepad and do a search for this line...

Code:
WorldFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );
.
and change it to look like this...

Code:
--WorldFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );
.
then save the file and reload WoW.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » graphics issues

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off