Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-14-12, 02:31 PM   #21
TSquared
Big Daddy!
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 505
Originally Posted by Ketho View Post
UPDATE_EXPANSION_LEVEL this must be the least firing event, ever
It's kind of like the death/rebirth of the pheonix. It happens once in a very long time, but when it appears it's glorious!
TSquared is offline  
Unread 06-14-12, 05:26 PM   #22
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,144
Doesn't Blizzard make you log out of the game before you can make any changes to your account like that anyway?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline  
Unread 06-14-12, 08:08 PM   #23
Fizzlemizz
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 259
It may be a mechanism to hype pre-expansion experience to get more people connected waiting for release a event which may actually be an event rather than just a message to start downloading. A bit like a timed easter egg.

I wouldn't be surprised to see it make it into a 4.x patch

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 06-14-12 at 08:12 PM.
Fizzlemizz is online now  
Unread 06-15-12, 05:05 PM   #24
Smashbolt
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Doesn't Blizzard make you log out of the game before you can make any changes to your account like that anyway?
Well, the comment in the linked LFDFrame.lua says it can change while logged in now.

Did Cata have a "live" release with no server reset? If so, my random guess is that it's there so they can try a seamless MoP release. Assuming we can buy and download the game data beforehand, maybe they plan to push some message at the moment of release that enables MoP content for the server and fires off that event on applicable accounts so you can stay logged in as the release occurs and go straight to new content without logging out and in?

That seems like a lot of trouble to go to though...
Smashbolt is offline  
Unread 06-15-12, 06:02 PM   #25
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,046
Originally Posted by Smashbolt View Post
That seems like a lot of trouble to go to though...
It would be for something like Cataclysm, yes - people hanging out in Orgrimmar would suddenly see the entire city completely transform before their eyes (or be teleported because there is suddenly a building where they were standing). For MoP, however, it would simply be a matter of bringing those servers online and telling the existing servers "I'm here. Spawn this set of mobs and run this scripted event."
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is offline  
Unread 06-16-12, 06:57 PM   #26
Talyrius
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 293
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
... It would be for something like Cataclysm, yes - people hanging out in Orgrimmar would suddenly see the entire city completely transform before their eyes (or be teleported because there is suddenly a building where they were standing).
Well, that theoretical situation would never happen because they always roll-out major terrain and building changes in a patch a couple weeks prior to the release of an expansion.

Cataclysm had a live release as well; I didn't have to logout and login after the midnight release before I could start leveling up. This event is just giving us the information that's already been available on the server side all along.
Talyrius is offline  
Unread 06-29-12, 07:13 PM   #27
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 565
Now AddOns have been enabled on Beta there is a Wowpedia page with API changes (mainly updated by Foxlit)
http://www.wowpedia.org/Patch_5.0.1/API_changes

I also updated my GitHub fork to build 15799

WowAce thread: Addons are now enabled on MoP

Edit: Just noticed Cairenn's mailing :|

Last edited by Ketho : 06-29-12 at 07:49 PM.
Ketho is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 08:42 AM   #28
Nimhfree
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 143
QueryQuestsCompleted() still is not implemented in the beta that allows addons to run.
Nimhfree is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 09:08 AM   #29
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,810
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
QueryQuestsCompleted() still is not implemented in the beta that allows addons to run.
My guess would be that it is not implemented yet simply because it just isn't necessary to allow it at this point. I would imagine it will be put in at some point right before MoP release so it can be tested by addon authors (although, I have absolutely no idea whatsoever if there is any empirical evidence, at all, to support my theory ).

On a slight side-track (sorry): Could someone please tell me where I can find the class color for the new Monk class (that's the only new class, right)? I apologize, but I really have absolutely no clue.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 09:17 AM   #30
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 565
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
[...]
On a slight side-track (sorry): Could someone please tell me where I can find the class color for the new Monk class (that's the only new class, right)? I apologize, but I really have absolutely no clue.
http://www.wowpedia.org/Class_colors
https://github.com/Ketho/wow-ui-sour...stants.lua#L67
0, 255, 150
r = 0.00, g = 1.00, b = 0.59
#00FF96
Ketho is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 09:35 AM   #31
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,233
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
On a slight side-track (sorry): Could someone please tell me where I can find the class color for the new Monk class (that's the only new class, right)? I apologize, but I really have absolutely no clue.
I listed it in my post.
p3lim is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 12:14 PM   #32
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,565
How to check talents of other players

Here is some additional information about checking talents that I found last night while fixing up TipTop.

As mentioned on http://www.wowpedia.org/Patch_5.0.1/API_changes some of the functions have had their names changed. Also, some of these have changed usage.

GetPrimaryTalentTree() has changed to GetSpecialization(). In addition, if you are inspecting someone, you need to use GetInspectSpecialization("unit"). This will return a number (not sure what it really represents or how it is determined...) which you can then pass to GetSpecializationInfoByID().

So... when inspecting someone for their talents... You call NotifyInspect("unit") and register for "INSPECT_READY" just as before. When the event fires, call GetInspectSpecialization("unit") to get that ID number and then, if the ID exists and is greater than 0 (cause, sometimes it's 0 for some reason), pass that ID to GetSpecializationInfoByID().

One additional reminder: it is sill a good idea to save the UnitGUID of the unit you are inspecting so that you can check that GUID with what is returned with "NOTIFY_INSPECT".
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline  
Unread 06-30-12, 06:36 PM   #33
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,810
Thank you very much, Ketho. That was exactly what I needed.

I apologize for asking for the information, but when I try to read through code (if I can even get a clue where to look to begin with) my eyes glaze over, I start babbling gibberish and drooling in about 30 seconds. That's pretty "normal" for me, but I try to keep that kind of thing to a bare minimum.

Thank you, again.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 12:42 AM   #34
yoshimo
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
QueryQuestsCompleted() still is not implemented in the beta that allows addons to run.
Try
Code:
IsQuestFlaggedCompleted(QuestID)
a lot weaker, but it seems to return 1 if completed and nil if not completed.
yoshimo is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 07:20 AM   #35
Talyrius
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 293
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
QueryQuestsCompleted() still is not implemented in the beta that allows addons to run.
I'm curious as to why. Hopefully, they aren't planning to completely remove it. This would make me very sad.

Originally Posted by yoshimo View Post
Try
Code:
IsQuestFlaggedCompleted(QuestID)
a lot weaker, but it seems to return 1 if completed and nil if not completed.
I hope this isn't excessively throttled if it's intended to be used in place of QueryQuestsCompleted().

Last edited by Talyrius : 07-01-12 at 08:18 AM.
Talyrius is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 08:54 AM   #36
Nimhfree
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 143
So for Grail I now check the runtime to see if QueryQuestsCompleted and GetQuestsCompleted exist. If not, I create an implementation that calls my "quest from server" updating routine. In it the call to GetQuestsCompleted is implemented to cycle through the quests and call IsQuestFlaggedCompleted for each one. On beta this seems to work and not cause the dreaded "your LUA code is taking too long" so I am leaving the code in place for now. Of course if Blizzard implements either of these two routines in the future, the old mechanism for either will still work (tested to still work in live).
Nimhfree is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 12:17 PM   #37
Silvanas
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
did some testing, while the functions have been renamed
GetNumPartyMembers() > GetNumSubgroupMembers()
GetNumRaidMembers() > GetNumGroupMembers()

the targeting still works on
UnitName("party".. i)
UnitName("raid".. i)
Silvanas is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 12:22 PM   #38
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,233
Originally Posted by Silvanas View Post
did some testing, while the functions have been renamed
GetNumPartyMembers() > GetNumSubgroupMembers()
GetNumRaidMembers() > GetNumGroupMembers()

the targeting still works on
UnitName("party".. i)
UnitName("raid".. i)
If anything behaves like it is supposed to, you don't need to report that.
However, if it doesn't behave like it should, please do!
p3lim is offline  
Unread 07-01-12, 04:57 PM   #39
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,565
I don't think he's "reporting" it, just documenting it for everyone else to use the correct function.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline  
Unread 07-02-12, 07:09 AM   #40
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,233
Anything printed in the chat doesnt show until someone actually says something (say, channels, /dump, emote, etc).
Happens with print() and DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage()

Also, you cannot compare items previouly slotted in ranged with stuff previously slotted in mainhand (wand vs dagger compare).
Sheating ranged weapons is a bit bugged aswell, having a wand + offhand atleast.

Last edited by p3lim : 07-02-12 at 07:14 AM.
p3lim is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » WoD Beta » MoP archived threads » Beta API discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off