Quantcast Beta API discussion - Page 9 - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-25-12, 09:17 AM   #161
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 354
Originally Posted by Maul View Post
... But, some of the crash related stuff seems to be connected to slash commands in general.
Disabling the taintLog resolves these game client crashes.

Speculation:
It's probably just a bug, but this build may have been pushed in the midst of a reworking of the way taint debugging is done. I wouldn't get my hopes up though.
 
07-25-12, 09:37 AM   #162
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Originally Posted by Talyrius View Post
Disabling the taintLog resolves these game client crashes.
Not entirely, I turned the taint log off and still had issues until I narrowed down my crash issue to modifying a custom gametooltip (like used for tooltip scanning). I eliminated the modifications as well as the :GetRegion() calls on the custom tooltip and only then did the crashes stop.

And I still crash on a /reload occasionally with the taint log off.
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: [email protected] | Google Talk: [email protected]
 
07-26-12, 01:15 PM   #163
Meorawr
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 193
Not sure if these have been posted elsewhere, but the GetShapeshiftFormID() returns for Monk stances are as follows:

Stance of the Wise Serpent: 20
Stance of the Sturdy Ox: 23
Stance of the Fierce Tiger: 24

Paladin seals/Death Knight presences still don't have returns, Metamorphosis does but Dark Apotheosis doesn't.
 
07-26-12, 01:43 PM   #164
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Originally Posted by Meorawr View Post
Not sure if these have been posted elsewhere, but the GetShapeshiftFormID() returns for Monk stances are as follows: ...
I updated the GetShapeshiftFormID page on Wowpedia.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
 
07-27-12, 09:41 PM   #165
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 797
07/27 patch, WorldMap_GetPOITextureCoords has been changed to GetPOITextureCoords
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle and Move Pad Plus.
 
07-28-12, 01:04 AM   #166
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
With the 7/27 beta patch [petbattle], [possessbar] and [overridebar] are all in and working just fine so far.

[extrabar] I have not been able to test yet, but I presume it works as well.
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: [email protected] | Google Talk: [email protected]
 
07-28-12, 08:26 AM   #167
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,610
What is the proper action IDs for overridebar, possessbar and petbattle?
I'm not at home so I cannot test myself.

Also, the quest you were testing so furiously with, does that trigger possessbar or overridebar?
 
07-28-12, 09:09 AM   #168
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Last I looked, the pet battle UI does not use action ID's nor secure templates. This may have change in this last patch, but I did not look. For me, the important part was being able to hide/show elements of my addon securely via the [petbattle] macro conditional, which does work.

My goal right now is to let the Blizzard implementation of the pet battle UI to be used when someone is using my action bar addon and not replace it. I was more concerned with a player getting into something like PVP combat while in a pet battle and being unable to re-assert action bars securely.

[possessbar] uses ID's 133+

[overridebar] uses ID's 157+ (though, I suspect there *may* be override bars that could also use ID's 133+)

And yes, [overridebar] works for that one quest with ID's 157+
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: [email protected] | Google Talk: [email protected]
 
07-28-12, 12:43 PM   #169
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,610
Trying to figure out what ID to bind the keys to during pet battle right now, blizzard didn't make it too easy on us

Also, even though vehicles use the OverrideBar frames aswell, they only respond to [vehicleui]
 
07-28-12, 05:43 PM   #170
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Updated GlobalStrings.lua for all locales in build 15913:
https://github.com/phanx/wow-globalstrings
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
 
07-28-12, 06:01 PM   #171
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
I updated the initial post with some generally useful links which was long overdrue
 
07-29-12, 12:23 PM   #172
Saiket
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Saiket's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 154
Not sure when this was added, but GetInstanceInfo() now returns the current MapID as its 8th result, so addons can detect the current instance/continent without relying on localized map names. For example, 1 is Kalimdor and 530 is Outlands.
____
Edit: Also, string.dump seems to have been removed from the standard library.

Last edited by Saiket : 07-29-12 at 12:35 PM.
 
07-29-12, 01:27 PM   #173
Ketho
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 846
Originally Posted by Saiket View Post
Not sure when this was added, but GetInstanceInfo() now returns the current MapID as its 8th result, so addons can detect the current instance/continent without relying on localized map names. For example, 1 is Kalimdor and 530 is Outlands.
Seems to have been added around build 15508, for reference

Last edited by Ketho : 07-29-12 at 03:08 PM.
 
07-29-12, 07:25 PM   #174
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Originally Posted by Saiket View Post
Not sure when this was added, but GetInstanceInfo() now returns the current MapID as its 8th result, so addons can detect the current instance/continent without relying on localized map names. For example, 1 is Kalimdor and 530 is Outlands.
MapID has been available for a long time; see GetCurrentMapAreaID.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
 
07-30-12, 12:46 AM   #175
Trelis
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
UnitInParty

I haven't seen this one documented on any of the change sites.

When solo, if you do UnitInParty("player") or on player's name instead of "player" it used to return 1, now it returns nil.
 
07-30-12, 09:33 AM   #176
Saiket
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Saiket's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 154
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
MapID has been available for a long time; see GetCurrentMapAreaID.
Not the MapAreaID like the illustrated world maps, but the MapID of the instance/continent that changes on PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD. The terminology's a little muddled in the Lua API; Maybe we should call it a "WorldID" for consistency with PEW.
 
07-30-12, 11:30 AM   #177
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,390
Originally Posted by Trelis View Post
I haven't seen this one documented on any of the change sites.

When solo, if you do UnitInParty("player") or on player's name instead of "player" it used to return 1, now it returns nil.
Did you get an error saying the function didn't exist? It seems that all of the party/raid functions are being replaced by a "group" equivalent. Try UnitInGroup().
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

 
07-31-12, 11:31 PM   #178
Jarod24
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
So far ive not been able to test dugeon scenarios myself.

Does anyone know if GetInstanceInfo() returns a different 'difficulty' value for Scenarios?
(ref: http://wowprogramming.com/docs/api/GetInstanceInfo )
 
08-01-12, 10:53 AM   #179
eiszeit
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
eiszeit's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 152
Is it just me or /console taintLog 0 and following /reload does not do anything? I'll still get a crash and in my config.wtf there isn't any taintLog entry. :x
__________________
Lyn • I'm a mess of unfinished thoughts
 
08-01-12, 11:00 AM   #180
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
Yes, on almost every character my client crashes after reload. It then takes about three consequent launches and crashes before it is usable again.

I have to relog every time I make a change to an addon because of this, but the client even crashes on login sometimes.

This is without taintlog enabled.
 
 

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Archived Beta Forums » MoP Beta archived threads » Beta API discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off