Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-10-12, 06:29 PM   #1
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
strange to ask but "mount addon" :-)

It is strange to ask for a mount addon ( I have checked dozen) but I could not find a "working" mount addon that can do a very simple thing.

1) create simple mount categories (es. ground, flying, repair, combo, special etc etc ... )

2) use addon to randomize a mount from that category.
es. /addon category_name

stop, finish, the end.

no fancy things no smart control you can fly or you can swim ...
I wanna decide which mount I wanna to summon by myself :-)

Thanks :-)
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 07:38 PM   #2
Coote
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Coote's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 429
Mounted does exactly what you're looking for.
__________________

"This is the fifteen-thousandth four hundredth and ninety-eighth occurence".
Coote is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 08:18 PM   #3
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by Coote View Post
Mounted does exactly what you're looking for.
I have tried mounted before and after your kind answer I have given it a secon try ...

But I have to say a couple of thing.

1) the addons probably is also too far complex for what I'd like to do ... and probably I was not succeded in configuring it very well ...

2) it stops working after a few moments with an empty config panel :-(

Probably I miss something.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	img-000.png
Views:	276
Size:	1.10 MB
ID:	7371  
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 08:57 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,561
I have no idea what all of your categories are... (repair?) but did you look at sCompanions?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 08:57 PM   #5
Coote
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Coote's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 429
Are you using the latest alpha build on the downloads page? The release version on Curse, and here on WoWInterface are way out of date. If it's still not working, open a bug ticket on the project site, and Yssaril will likely get around to it soon.
__________________

"This is the fifteen-thousandth four hundredth and ninety-eighth occurence".
Coote is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 09:59 PM   #6
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
I have no idea what all of your categories are... (repair?) but did you look at sCompanions?

ground = ground mounts
flying = flying mounts
repair = mounts with a repair vendor (Traveler's Tundra Mammoth)
combo = ground and flying mount (Winged Guardian/Celestial Steed)
special = rare mounts (Thundering Ruby Cloud Serpent/Phosphorescent Stone Drake/TLPD)
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
tinyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-12, 11:40 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,561
Yeah, I got what he meant by repair when I came back to check the thread.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 12:34 AM   #8
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Yeah, I got what he meant by repair when I came back to check the thread.
Hi,
thanks Seerah for the reply.

I tried sCompanions (not found before because I search for mount :-) but it is not now the addon I am looking for.

A lot of the mount addons I checked start from the basic idea that the user like ALL the mounts so they tried to cast mount on all of them. (and probably it is correct and I am only an exception :-)

But I don't want to summon my random mount from all the 150 mount I have, but I like only a small subset of them and I want to use only them.

Then I like the idea to summon a random repair mount and a random transport mount.
Same thing with flyings things.

Now I imagine that Scompanion could be perfect if I could define the categories in a file (categories.lua ??) like:

category1 = {
["Green Mechanostrider"] = true,
["Bombay Cat"] = true,
["Wintersaber"] = true,
}

and then cast like /scompanion category1

and so on ...

Thanks very much for your answer (and for your addons ... I am using a lot of them :-)
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 12:43 AM   #9
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by Coote View Post
Are you using the latest alpha build on the downloads page? The release version on Curse, and here on WoWInterface are way out of date. If it's still not working, open a bug ticket on the project site, and Yssaril will likely get around to it soon.
Hi, thanks for the reply.
I have used the latest alpha from wowace (29.10.2012) .

The problem could be that, alas, I am using the client in italian.

Btw the addon is very cute, complete and do a lot of things... but probably too many for what I am looking for :-)

As I wrote I was looking something that let me define only some custom categories in my mounts and then use a cast command on them.

Only this. I really don't need priority and zone preferences. I have a really simple need :-)

Thanks anyway for your good point.
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 12:43 AM   #10
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by tinyu View Post
ground = ground mounts
flying = flying mounts
repair = mounts with a repair vendor (Traveler's Tundra Mammoth)
combo = ground and flying mount (Winged Guardian/Celestial Steed)
special = rare mounts (Thundering Ruby Cloud Serpent/Phosphorescent Stone Drake/TLPD)
Exactly :-)
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 01:24 PM   #11
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,561
You can set up an ignore list if you read the instructions in the folder.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 03:14 PM   #12
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
You can set up an ignore list if you read the instructions in the folder.
Seraah,
as I pointed out is not so confortable to create a ignore list of about 140 mount when you want to use only 10 ... :-) And if you use the client in english (for raid) and italian you have to duplicate it to.

and then remain the feature of the list (repair, combo, special and so on) ...
I think it is an interesting thing to a mount addon and I really don't understand why noone has :-)

Btw thanks for your kind answers.
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-12, 07:12 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,561
Originally Posted by gmarco View Post
Seraah,
as I pointed out is not so confortable to create a ignore list of about 140 mount when you want to use only 10 ... :-) And if you use the client in english (for raid) and italian you have to duplicate it to.
I don't think you pointed that out already, but fair enough. There aren't very many people that use the client in more than one locale, so ignoring mounts by name is the easiest option for most players. But good luck in your search.


I know you said that you searched the site for "mount", but did you look through our Mounts & Pets download category? http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/cat146.html


/edit: if your pool is small enough, you can create a macro to use a random mount (or even get an addon to have longer macros).
Code:
/userandom Green Mechanostrider,Blue Dragon Turtle,etc.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh


Last edited by Seerah : 11-11-12 at 07:14 PM.
Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 09:23 AM   #14
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
Hi Seerah,

I follow your suggestion and begin to look again in the mount category, but this time I try to learn how to code this little addon by myself.

It is the first time I program in LUA (even if I work in IT) and at the first it was a little bit strange.

Btw I succeded in making something that works like I want :-)
I'll be happy if you can check it because I'll have a lot of questions and good way of coding but I'll ask them in the right section of the forum.

Btw thanks very much to everyone for the kind replies.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MountRndCat.zip (1.4 KB, 227 views)
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 11:06 AM   #15
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,190
I don't think you can call CastSpellByName() like that.

It is a protected function.
Dridzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 11:26 AM   #16
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
I am a really newbie and have read about lua 2 hours... sorry about this error.
I'll try to read about it but I didn't find it because it was working nicely (only when it tries to summon the same mount if you are mounted it simply dismount, but I'll have to check why :-)

Btw I have stripped it down in this way.

One file only and a lot less things :-)

--

Code:
-- freely inspired by MountMe
-- http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info19197-MountMe.html
 
 mounts = { 
   
   flying = {
      "Draco Del Crepuscolo",
      "Draco Rosso",
   },
   
   ground = {
      "Fiera della Luna Rapida",
      "Fiera della Nebbia Rapida",
      "Fiera della Notte Striata",
   },
   
   repair = {
      "Mammut del Viaggiatore della Tundra",
      "Yak della Grande Spedizione",
   },
   
   -- add your custom categories here
   
   
}
 
-- Do not edit past this line --
 
-- Create slash command
SLASH_MOUNTRNDCAT1 = "/mntrndcat";
SLASH_MOUNTRNDCAT2 = "/mrc";
SlashCmdList["MOUNTRNDCAT"] = function(category) 

	if (category == "" ) then 
	
		print ("MountRandomCategory v.0.2")
		print ("Usage: /mrc category\n")
	
	else
		
		if(IsMounted()) then
			Dismount();
		end
	
		number = random(1, #mounts[category])
		print ("casting ... " .. mounts[category][number])
		CastSpellByName(mounts[category][number])
		
	end
	
end
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 11:33 AM   #17
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,190
It's nothing to be sorry about, I just meant that it shouldn't work.

Some Wow API functions are not meant to be called directly by addons, they are protected.
I'm pretty sure CastSpellByName() is one of them, does this code actually work?

You would probably need to use secure templates to achieve the functionality you're after.
Dridzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 11:52 AM   #18
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
I really don't know ...

"Casts a spell specified by name (optionally on a specified unit). Only protected (i.e. usable only by the Blizzard UI) if the given spell is castable (not passive) and is not a trade skill; can be used by addons to cast the "spells" that open trade skill windows."

How can I know if it is protected ? The code works for me ... What can I check ?

Thanks.
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-12, 01:32 PM   #19
gmarco
Premium Member
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 97
I tried to use a non protected code:

Code:
		-- Protected code
		-- CastSpellByName(mounts[category][number])
		
		-- Trying to use a non protected functions
		for index = 1, GetNumCompanions("MOUNT"), 1 do
			creatureID, creatureName, spellID, icon, active, mountFlags = GetCompanionInfo("MOUNT", index)
			if (creatureName == mounts[category][number]) then 
				CallCompanion("MOUNT", index) 
			end
		end
		-- End the non protected code
And it works .. :-)
Attached Files
File Type: zip MountRndCat-v0.3.zip (1.5 KB, 228 views)

Last edited by gmarco : 11-13-12 at 02:17 PM.
gmarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » strange to ask but "mount addon" :-)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off