Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-22-12, 05:23 PM   #1
Coasty
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 116
How Do You Turn This Off in V5.057

When you look at the screenshot I attached, just overhead of the NPC my toon is facing, you can see a Carbonite small screen display for HP and MP stats which, so far, I haven't been able to turn off (they're too darn small for me to easily read which bugs the hell out of me, plus nUI also makes them completely redundant and unnecessary).

I was told elsewhere that I can turn off this Carbonite stat display off by either:

Right clicking on the mini-map, click on show, and then on Show 1-2 (or something like that, don't remember the specific name it was given) to remove it.

or

By going to the Options/Modules section and turning off "show info windows".

The mini-map option doesn't show up anywhere in any of the mini-map right-click options on my system, and neither does turning off "show info windows" in the main options remove them. The bottom line is that neither suggestion for turning the stat display off works.

How in heck do you turn off this set of stats that Carbonite is displaying?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_112212_145720.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	870.8 KB
ID:	7405  
__________________
Paul Stout
nUI User and Contributor
coasty63@comcast.net

Last edited by Coasty : 11-22-12 at 05:49 PM.
Coasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-22-12, 07:26 PM   #2
mjumnito
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
mjumnito's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 106
well it definitely looks like the info windows. have you tried to mouse over them and right click then close them that way?

actually if you right click the "C" in the mini-map button and show/hide info window 1 2

Last edited by mjumnito : 11-22-12 at 07:47 PM.
mjumnito is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-22-12, 07:45 PM   #3
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,056
I'm not much help in finding the solution, I wasn't aware there was any part of carbonite that would create info plates like that.
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 07:12 PM   #4
Coasty
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 116
Originally Posted by mjumnito View Post
well it definitely looks like the info windows. have you tried to mouse over them and right click then close them that way?

actually if you right click the "C" in the mini-map button and show/hide info window 1 2
Nope, those info windows are transparent to mouse clicks, so I can't shut them down that way.

As for "right click the "C" in the mini-map button", my main question is, what "C" and mini-map button are you talking about? I've reset Carbonite back to its defaults and there is no such button on my screen.

Rythal: I'm not much help in finding the solution, I wasn't aware there was any part of carbonite that would create info plates like that.
Heh, neither was I aware! This info window first showed up around version 5.054, at least I think that's when they first showed up. At first I just ignored it but, over time, the longer it was up the more annoyed I got by it. I double-checked earlier this morning, and it's definitely Carbonite that's putting up that info window display. I turned off all plugins and the display went away, then turned back on just Carbonite and the info window immediately came back. What in the heck caused it to start displaying is beyond me. Right now I guess I'll just have to leave Carbonite as the only running plugin and start turning on/off features to see if I can it to go away. One thing though is definitely for sure, none of the suggestions I've gotten so far work at all because they all seem to involve right clicking on C in the mini-map button and then clicking on a "show/hide info window 1 2" option choice. Except, all I can say, is... "What mini-map button", Carbonite isn't displaying one for me, even after I reset all the options to Carbonites "defaults", and I have no idea why it isn't appearing. So, somehow I suspect that going through the main options to try and remove that info window isn't going to do me much good.

Heh, there's one bright spot though... I did some Halfhill cooking dailies yesterday and, I'll be darned, one of the dailies quest blobs actually had the quest area highlighted to show you the general area of where the quest activity would take place. Naturally, of course, it only worked for just one quest instead of all of them, but at least it showed that the code for that stuff is actually trying to work as intended. Quite sporadic but, what the hell, at least it worked this one time.
__________________
Paul Stout
nUI User and Contributor
coasty63@comcast.net

Last edited by Coasty : 11-23-12 at 07:45 PM.
Coasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 07:16 PM   #5
Vis
Premium Member
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,782
Did you look in the nUI button bag for the Carbonite button?

It also looks like you have one of the modules to Auctioneer running that plays with buttons. The gold rectangle on the right side of the screen just above "Water Elemental". If that's a pull out/click out menu of all your minimap/ldb buttons then it may be in there also.
__________________

Last edited by Vis : 11-23-12 at 07:22 PM.
Vis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 08:06 PM   #6
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,056
I'll be damned... it is the Info 1 2 thing, I just turned it on then off again

As Vis said, the carbonite C should be in the button bag
Rythal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 08:13 PM   #7
Coasty
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 116
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Did you look in the nUI button bag for the Carbonite button?

It also looks like you have one of the modules to Auctioneer running that plays with buttons. The gold rectangle on the right side of the screen just above "Water Elemental". If that's a pull out/click out menu of all your minimap/ldb buttons then it may be in there also.
Heh... I know the Auctioneer button bar you're talking about, but at the moment Carbonite is the only plugin running. I reset Carbonite to its defaults in case it might of gotten off-screen somehow, but that didn't work.

OK, I just got through turning Auctioneer on and Carbs button showed up in Auctioneer's LDB right side screen edge button bar. That did the trick and I got the Carb stats display turned off. I then went to Carbs main options and noticed that in /Modules the "show info windows" option also got turned off. I'm guessing that one of Rythal's updates must of turned that /Modules option back on and I never noticed it. I doubt, going some years back to when I first installed Carb, that it has ever been turned on, before whatever update did it for me, as up until now I'd never seen that particular stat display.

In any event, problem solved, and thanks for reminding me of the Auctioneer LDB button bar (which I normally never think of or use).

Oh well, at least Rythal and I learned something new, so it wasn't a total waste of time...
__________________
Paul Stout
nUI User and Contributor
coasty63@comcast.net
Coasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 08:49 PM   #8
mjumnito
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
mjumnito's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 106
in the event anybody else runs into this(not being able to find the "C" button you can turn info 1 and info 2 off by using
Code:
/carb winshow nxinfo2
and 
/carb winshow nxinfo1
info 1 shows, from what i can tell, cast cool downs
info 2 shows hp/mana/rage?

Last edited by mjumnito : 11-23-12 at 08:52 PM. Reason: spelling
mjumnito is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 09:04 PM   #9
Coasty
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks...

That's a much better solution then just turning off both of them as, now that I know about it, leaving Info 1 turned on is much more preferable.

Not to mention that I'd of saved myself some aggravation by remembering about the chat window commands in the first place.
__________________
Paul Stout
nUI User and Contributor
coasty63@comcast.net
Coasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 09:29 PM   #10
jeruku
A Theradrim Guardian
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Info 1 shows player health, power(mp, rage, etc.), cooldowns, and other miscellaneous data.
Info 2 shows similar data for player target.

If you unlock them they should have a visible/clickable frame when hovered over. You can edit, create/delete, and move Info windows. Creating a new one immediately shows durability and time to level, another shows Wintergrasp/Tol-Barad, time and FPS, and finally rested xp. This is assuming you're aim is to not remove them but use them. Completely forgot about all this until I saw this posted again and began toying with the options.

Sadly, I too forgot about the /slash commands. Sorry Coasty for not being of much help in the other thread before, hope this helps.
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison
jeruku is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-12, 09:57 PM   #11
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,798
From the "CarboniteReadMe" plain text file that is in every Carbonite installation (in the main Carbonite folder):
-- Info Windows

Info windows show various bits of information in a small movable list.
Info #1 to #6 come with various default text in them.
Right click the Carbonite minimap button and select "Show Info 1 2" to make #1 and #2 visible. These are setup for the health and mana of you and your target.

To move or edit them, you need to unlock them on the Info Windows page of the Carb Options window.
Left click and drag the window title bar to move them around.
Right click a line in an unlocked info window and select "New" to show Info #3. Again will show #4 and so on.
Right click a line in an unlocked info window and select "Edit Item" to change the text for that line.

Info text:

<xxx> runs a command.
<c> is the color from the last command.
<t> is the text from the last command.
xxx is raw text.

Example:

<THealth><c>HP <t>
This runs the target health command, sets the color, shows the text "HP " and shows the text from the command.

You cannot currently add new lines to an Info Window, but Info #3, 5 and 6 have an extra blank line in them, which can be edited.

Info Window defaults:

#1 Your health, mana, DK runes, rogue combo points, global cooldown bar, casting bar.
#2 Target health, mana, casting bar.
#3 Durability, time to level.
#4 Battleground queues, start, duration, honor, stats.
#5 Time, FPS.
#6 Rest %
It continues to amaze me how many people (even long time Carbonite users) either don't know, or don't care, about this one simple resource for Carbonite. Although, without a doubt it could use some editing.

By the way, for those of you that use LDB displays, there is always the Broker Carbonite addon. It would be really nice to see some native LDB support in Carbonite for those of us using LDB displays, but, this works. 8^)
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-12, 12:00 AM   #12
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,865
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
there is always the Broker Carbonite addon. It would be really nice to see some native LDB support in Carbonite for those of us using LDB displays, but, this works. 8^)

Oooo, I didn't know about that LDB addon. Thank you! Ten nana's for you!!!!!



I also second the notion for native LDB support for Carbonite.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-12, 03:45 PM   #13
Coasty
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 116
Heh.... Add 'totally forgot' to that "don't know, don't care' list of people, or maybe that should be 'age induced brain damage' instead...

Petrah, I'm with you. Until that was mentioned I had no clue there was a 'Broker Carbonite' addon. How in heck did I miss that one!!! Ah well, it's on my Bazooka bar now.
__________________
Paul Stout
nUI User and Contributor
coasty63@comcast.net
Coasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-12, 07:35 PM   #14
jeffy162
Premium Member
 
jeffy162's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,798
Yeah, there's actually two of them by two different authors. The one I posted earlier (tinyu is listed as the author on the information page), and This One on Curse.com by computerpunk.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?

jeffy162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: General Discussion » Can Anybody ID This???

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off