Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-03-13, 11:52 AM   #1
arith
A Murloc Raider
 
arith's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
MPQEditor - the order to open the patch files

I want to extract the DBFilesClient folder, I try below order in merge mode, seems not working well
/merged misc.MPQ enUS\locale-enUS.MPQ /patch wow-update-base-16016.MPQ wow-update-base-16048.MPQ wow-update-base-16057.MPQ wow-update-base-16309.MPQ wow-update-base-16357.MPQ wow-update-base-16486.MPQ wow-update-base-16503.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16016.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16048.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16057.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16309.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16357.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16486.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16503.MPQ

And the try only the patch mode:
/base enUS\locale-enUS.MPQ /patch wow-update-base-16016.MPQ wow-update-base-16048.MPQ wow-update-base-16057.MPQ wow-update-base-16309.MPQ wow-update-base-16357.MPQ wow-update-base-16486.MPQ wow-update-base-16503.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16016.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16048.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16057.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16309.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16357.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16486.MPQ enUS\wow-update-enUS-16503.MPQ

The open didn't show any error, but the extracting keep saying my order is wrong.

Any idea?
arith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-13, 01:11 PM   #2
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 504
The file WoW.mfil in the root directory contains a url made by taking one of the "location" variables and appending the "manifest_partial" to the end of it. If you open that url you actually get a list of the files in the order they're loaded in.

That being said, in my experience every patch is applied in numerical order.

edit: I don't think ladik's mpq editor is actually extracting the patched files even when you open them correctly.

I don't know what other options are available, but if you can figure out how to use stormlib it does work.

Last edited by semlar : 02-03-13 at 02:04 PM.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-04-13, 06:18 PM   #3
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 992
I keep getting 403 forbidden on the directory and 404 not found on the manifest_partial script.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-04-13, 06:49 PM   #4
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 504
Here is an example WoW.mfil with the important bits in red:
Code:
version=2
server=akamai
	location=http://dist.blizzard.com.edgesuite.net/wow-pod-retail/NA/15890.direct/
server=limelight
	location=http://llnw.blizzard.com/wow-pod-retail/NA/15890.direct/
manifest_partial=wow-16357-AE4379D2E6B819E4CC486D91FA298AC8.mfil
This would construct the url http://dist.blizzard.com.edgesuite.n...1FA298AC8.mfil.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-04-13, 10:32 PM   #5
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,099
If you're trying to exctract the UI code and/or artwork, it's much easier to use the client's built-in export function.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-13, 10:39 AM   #6
Kagaro
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 45
the ptr mpq files are not extracting correctly. ive got stromlib tool i use form my mac it opens live correctly however for the ptr it bombs out verifying the files. so they may have changed something with a recent patch as it was working 2 weeks ago.
Kagaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-13, 02:20 PM   #7
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 504
Don't load patch 16634.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-06-13, 09:01 AM   #8
arith
A Murloc Raider
 
arith's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
The problem come again. I was able to extract in patch mode with patches up to 16790; but now it's 16853 and then 16911, I am not able to extract mpq with the latest patches.
Any idea?
arith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-06-13, 09:17 AM   #9
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 759
I find it to depend on many things, mostly what base you use.

For extracting the DBC I use this at the moment:
Code:
MPQEditor.exe /merged "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\misc.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\locale-enGB.MPQ" /patch "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16016.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16016.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16048.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16048.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16057.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16057.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16309.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16309.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16357.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16357.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16516.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16516.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\wow-update-base-16650.MPQ" "C:\Games\World of Warcraft\Data\enGB\wow-update-enGB-16650.MPQ"
Using version 3.5.0.740 - some builds ago there was an issue with the patcher function, it got fixed later on. Check that you don't use an older version than mine.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-06-13, 10:03 PM   #10
arith
A Murloc Raider
 
arith's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
My main purpose is to extract the DBFilesClient folder.
So I use patch mode, put the locale-enUS.MPQ as the main one, and rest of the patch files (wow-update-enUS-xxxxx.MPQ) in the patch field (GUI interface).
This works till patch-16790. But if I added patch-16853, it will fail.
arith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » General Discussion » General WoW Chat » MPQEditor - the order to open the patch files

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off