Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-20-13, 04:47 PM   #1
BadCo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
I Lost my GUI

A couple of months ago, I lost the GUI control panel or options frames. When I shift-click on the Ion icon in my Banana bar, I get an empty frame where the options used to be. I've been limping along without the ability to change any of my Ion options. The Ion-GUI folder in my addons folder has files dated 27 Nov 12, so I think they are current, but I can't get to the options in game at all.

Also, I'm still suffering the "sometimes assigned icons for the macro buttons work and sometimes they don't" malady. I can make macros, and the macros work, but the icons I assign to them don't show up. If I have a spell in the macro and use the #showtooltip line at the top, the icon works great. But when I assign a particular icon it seldom works.

Love the addon... been a big fan since early Macaroon days. Hopin to get help with the GUI problem.
BadCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-13, 07:32 PM   #2
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,259
Try deleting all of the Ion* folders from your AddOns folder, and then downloading a fresh copy of Ion and reinstalling it by hand. Also, delete the Cache folder in your base WoW folder; cache corruption can interfere with addons.

As for the macro icon problem, I don't know... Maul doesn't seem to have the time and/or interest to work on Ion these days, and I've been using Bartender4 since MoP came out.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-13, 07:44 PM   #3
BadCo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Thanx Phanx... that falls trippingly off the tongue.

I can't see my settings to write down the sizes, etc. I do have my dozens of macros in a text file so that's no problem, but, boy howdy there are so many settings that I don't have recorded that reinstalling and deleting files that might have settings are daunting to me. I'll have to get a macro addon because I'm a fan of long ones exceeding 255 characters.

I even took a look at Bartender4, but I'm reticent to make the switch because I do use about 120 buttons on about 6 bars. But I reckon that I'll be headed that way soon enough

Thanx for taking the time to reply.
BadCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-13, 09:22 PM   #4
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,259
Deleting the addon folders doesn't delete your settings; those are stored separately in your SavedVariables folder(s).

Also, you can have both Ion and BT4 running at the same time, to help migrate settings. I don't have any suggestions for handling more/longer macros, though, since I don't use that many macros and the ones I do use fit in the Blizzard macro UI.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-13, 04:40 PM   #5
Thrumbar
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
To get the Config window you need to

1. /ion config
2. rightclick on any ion frame (extar button or actionbar)

should cause the menu to appear properly
Thrumbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Ion Engines, Engage! » I Lost my GUI

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off