Quantcast Patch 5.3 PTR Note Regarding Nameplates - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-05-13, 05:41 PM   #1
Clamsoda
A Frostmaul Preserver
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 268
Patch 5.3 PTR Note Regarding Nameplates

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/913...e-3_22_2013#ui

When using name plates, castbars will now display for all NPCs.
I am wondering if this implies that Blizzard will be providing events more reliably to tell us when units are casting, or is this a bug fix for the castbar of NPC nameplates when targeted?
 
04-05-13, 06:14 PM   #2
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
I believe they're referring to the fact that currently, the cast bar only shows up for the target, not for all units that are casting.

I wouldn't rely on any events being added for this considering nameplates are mostly handled C-side as it is and thus far we already need to use polling to find out when nameplates are created or their health bar colour changes.
 
04-05-13, 06:50 PM   #3
Clamsoda
A Frostmaul Preserver
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 268
Well, currently any AddOn that adds castbars to non-target nameplates has a lot of work to do, monitoring combat log events, caching units in several different ways, etc.

Hopefully this will be one step closer to removing the currently necessary bloat of nameplate AddOns.
 
04-05-13, 08:46 PM   #4
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 772
I fear they will go the easy route and simply call the Show/Hide on the castbar and update it properly, all from the C-side, so nothing new regarding lua events or API I reckon, sadly.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
 
04-06-13, 05:15 AM   #5
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,563
Back in the old days of WoW this was already in place. But they removed it to only show the castbar on the current target. Good that they added it back in.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
 
04-06-13, 02:16 PM   #6
Clamsoda
A Frostmaul Preserver
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 268
Oh, I wasn't aware of that Zork. Neat.

Hoping this is one step in the right direction for Nameplate AddOns
 
04-20-13, 02:39 AM   #7
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
So you can indeed see cast bars on all mobs now. You can also see the name of the spell they're casting, I believe this is turned on by default.

Nameplate cast bars have 2 extra regions now: the first is the spell name, the second is a kind of shadow texture under the name.

I can't see any events related to non-target cast bars; only a COMBAT_LOG_EVENT_UNFILTERED event, like before.

Last edited by Haleth : 04-20-13 at 02:44 AM.
 
04-20-13, 05:08 AM   #8
Clamsoda
A Frostmaul Preserver
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 268
That should provide a nice decrease in overhead for addons that provided a similar feature.

Good work Detective Haleth.
 
04-25-13, 09:08 AM   #9
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,563
I would love that Blizzard finally adds unit GUIDs to their nameplates. This would remove so much work addon authors have to do to fiddle out which nameplate is which unit.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
 
05-16-13, 10:00 PM   #10
Spyro
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Spyro's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Question

Does that apply to players too? So in Arena you will see the castbars of all Arena Enemies?
 
05-18-13, 10:01 AM   #11
Rainrider
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 358
Do you guys have an idea how to know if the unit is channeling. Up to now I just used UnitChannelInfo("target") as the castbar was only visible for the target. I use this to display remaining cast times on the castbar.
 
05-18-13, 10:44 AM   #12
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,460
You can monitor the statusbar and see in which direction it fills. Should be accurate enough.
 
05-18-13, 11:17 AM   #13
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 772
Since 5.3 is out next week, any changes from when the nameplate regions got changed, or still the same?
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
 
05-18-13, 11:54 AM   #14
def9
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
def9's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 219
Tidy Plates beta has been getting updated for the 5.3 patch. Maybe a few things that are changing are in the authors notes.
__________________
Epiria, level 100 Ret/Holy Paladin
Simkin level 100 Combat Rogue
Feldeemus, level 100 Arcane Mage
 
05-22-13, 05:04 PM   #15
Rainrider
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 358
The new spell name text and the background for it are the last 2 child regions (in that order) of the castbar of the nameplate. The spell name text is a FontString object type and the background is a Texture (Interface/COMMON/NameShadow). Both of them are by default anchored to the castbar.
 
05-27-13, 07:07 AM   #16
Coldkil
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Coldkil's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 50
So, if i get a handle on the castbar via frame:GetChildren(), i should be able to get to the 2 new regions via GetRegions().

Example:
Code:
cb.texture, cb.border, cb.shield, cb.icon, cb.shadow, cb.name = cb:GetRegions()
Am i right?

EDIT: my addon works correctly - i assume that not managing the two new regions will make the game automatically display the standard ones.

Last edited by Coldkil : 05-27-13 at 07:13 AM.
 
05-27-13, 09:25 AM   #17
ape47
A Murloc Raider
 
ape47's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
umm...

Code:
local texture, overlay, shield, spellicon, spellname, shadow = castbar:GetRegions()
__________________
 
05-27-13, 09:26 AM   #18
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 916
It's name > background not background > name. But yes, if you do not address them, "default settings" are used.

Code:
local cbtexture, cbborder, cbshield, cbicon, cbname, cbbackg = cb:GetRegions()
For instance, you'd want to manage those on a nameplate addon, to style (or get rid of) the castbar text.
__________________
Rock: "We're sub-standard DPS. Nerf Paper, Scissors are fine."
Paper: "OMG, WTF, Scissors!"
Scissors: "Rock is OP and Paper are QQers. We need PvP buffs."

"neeh the game wont be remembered as the game who made blizz the most money, it will be remembered as the game who had the most QQ'ers that just couldnt quit the game for some reason..."

 
05-27-13, 09:50 AM   #19
ape47
A Murloc Raider
 
ape47's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by Dawn View Post
It's name > background not background > name. But yes, if you do not address them, "default settings" are used.

Code:
local cbtexture, cbborder, cbshield, cbicon, cbname, cbbackg = cb:GetRegions()
For instance, you'd want to manage those on a nameplate addon, to style (or get rid of) the castbar text.
right, u know what i mean.
__________________
 
05-28-13, 01:23 AM   #20
Coldkil
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Coldkil's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 50
Thanks, managed to style out the two new things.
 
 

WoWInterface » Legion Beta » MoP Beta archived threads » Patch 5.3 PTR Note Regarding Nameplates

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off