Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-13, 12:50 PM   #1
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 529
Get info from target

I trying to get a specc info from the target by:

Code:
local id = GetInspectSpecialization("target")
But it always returns 0, is there any other method to get specc from a target/focus/party/raid member?

Also is there any way to the the "Block chance" info from a target?
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 03:14 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,530
Are you calling NotifyInspect() first and waiting for the proper event before doing this?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 04:07 PM   #3
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
I'm thinking passing a unit to these functions is indicative of a future plan for addons to query inspect info on multiple targets at once. Right now, inspect info is still only available for one target at a time. As Seerah mentioned, you still need to call NotifyInspect() on the unit and wait for INSPECT_READY to fire with that unit's GUID. Otherwise, the game client will have no info for the unit.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 04:33 PM   #4
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 529
I see, i toguht it's working as like as GetSpecialization().
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 06:41 PM   #5
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,983
Nope. To get info about another player's gear, talents, spec, or achievements you have to use the inspection system, as SDPhantom outlined.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 06:52 PM   #6
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,495
I miss the inspection system from before Gearscore
__________________
Nibelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-13, 06:55 PM   #7
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 529
Well i pretty sure they nerfed it because addons caused an awful lot of inspect traffic.
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-13, 01:00 PM   #8
SDPhantom
A Molten Giant
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 945
I haven't really noticed any difference. Then again, I haven't worked with the inspect system for very long. I think I started using it in WotLK as a cross-faction level detection system since we were able to grab talent points spent/available on non-PvP players. It was less accurate in Cata since you were only given one point every 2 lvls for a big part of the leveling range.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
SDPhantom is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Get info from target

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off