Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-11, 09:30 PM   #21
RLD
A Defias Bandit
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Info to add to sticky for at least OSX 10.6.7

Bought a new Mac mini with OSX 10.6.7. I installed Little Snitch (LS) (outgoing network blocking filter) and activated OSX firewall (incoming only). The install jnlp kept failing to d/l the install. This worked fine on the old Mac with OSX 10.4.11.

After several false tries. I disabled LS and the OSX firewall. D/L and install went fine. Ran Minion and all worked fine. Closed Minion and reactivated LS and firewall. Ran Minion and none of the addons would show updates and all kinds of connection errors in the Minion UI. Closed Minion and added it to LS and firewall manually for access and all worked fine.

So what is happening is the firewall and LS do not see this java app/applets accessing the network interface and therefore causing errors or non-install.

This may also be an issue with windows firewalls.

IMO this is a bug with possibly Minion not notifiying the system properly. Vuze is also a java app and the system sees it trying to activate on the network and notifies the user.

i.e. definately not the preferred way of installing but; turn off all network filters/firewalls to install and then give Minion access thru filters/firewalls after the install and restart your filters/firewalls.

RLD
RLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-11, 10:55 PM   #22
Verttex
Super Monkey
 
Verttex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
It seems my java installer can not make folders. I have tried regular install and get a "Access Is Denied" error. Without modules it works fine, but when i need to update IN the program it errors out.

Help!

Thanks
Verttex
Verttex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-11, 05:41 AM   #23
Fleety
A Defias Bandit
 
Fleety's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
I just installed Minion on Debian 6.0 Squeeze and the interface starts up but shows <No Services Loaded> and <No Modulaes Loaded>? I have no idea what might be causing this.
Fleety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-11, 08:45 PM   #24
Verttex
Super Monkey
 
Verttex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Originally Posted by Verttex View Post
It seems my java installer can not make folders. I have tried regular install and get a "Access Is Denied" error. Without modules it works fine, but when i need to update IN the program it errors out.

Help!

Thanks
Verttex
Any update on this?

The error is "java.io.IOExecption:Access Is Denied"
__________________
Verttex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-11, 01:15 PM   #25
Fleety
A Defias Bandit
 
Fleety's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Thumbs down Effectively dead

This project is effectively dead. There seems to be no activity by the devs on this forum and no support. They seem to have given up and perhaps they're all using Curse Client.
Fleety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-11, 09:02 AM   #26
Sangre
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
My old machine died (and it worked there) so I reinstalled Minion... but it just fails at starting java.
I guess I'm back to updating manually.


Last edited by Sangre : 09-08-11 at 09:06 AM. Reason: Adding screenshot
Sangre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 12:16 AM   #27
holyheal
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Java 7

Java 7 just loads not running at all. As soon as i changed the link to run from JRE6 it works.

Just figured I would throw that out there so someone can look.

C:\Program Files\MMOUI Minion>"c:\program files\java\jre6\bin\javaw" -jar minion
.jar

Last edited by holyheal : 10-13-11 at 12:20 AM.
holyheal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-11, 08:46 PM   #28
Humage
A Murloc Raider
 
Humage's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Question Not Detecting Correct Environment

Either Windows or Java.

Attached is a screen collage of Windows depicting Windows environment, java version, folder and Minion's detection results. I'll upload log once I find it. (Installed with Minion's detected settings.)

Command line attempt
Code:
C:\Users\Jason>java -jar "C:\Program Files (x86)\MMOUI Minion\minion.jar"
Exception in thread "AWT-EventQueue-0" java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems.getDefault(Unknown Source)
        at sun.util.calendar.ZoneInfoFile$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at sun.util.calendar.ZoneInfoFile$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at sun.util.calendar.ZoneInfoFile.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
        at sun.util.calendar.ZoneInfo.getTimeZone(Unknown Source)
        at java.util.TimeZone.getTimeZone(Unknown Source)
        at java.util.TimeZone.setDefaultZone(Unknown Source)
        at java.util.TimeZone.getDefaultRef(Unknown Source)
        at java.util.TimeZone.getDefault(Unknown Source)
        at java.text.SimpleDateFormat.initializeCalendar(Unknown Source)
        at java.text.SimpleDateFormat.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at java.text.SimpleDateFormat.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at com.mmoui.manager.Log.logMessage(Log.java:345)
        at com.mmoui.manager.Log.logMessage(Log.java:328)
        at com.mmoui.manager.Log.notice(Log.java:203)
        at com.mmoui.manager.Log.<init>(Log.java:113)
        at com.mmoui.manager.Main.startup(Main.java:134)
        at org.jdesktop.application.Application$1.run(Application.java:171)
        at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.access$000(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
        at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
        at com.mmoui.manager.MinionSecurityManager.checkPermission(MinionSecurityManager.java:561)
        at com.mmoui.manager.MinionSecurityManager.checkPermission(MinionSecurityManager.java:574)
        at java.nio.file.spi.FileSystemProvider.checkPermission(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.spi.FileSystemProvider.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at sun.nio.fs.AbstractFileSystemProvider.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at sun.nio.fs.WindowsFileSystemProvider.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at sun.nio.fs.DefaultFileSystemProvider.create(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder.getDefaultProvider(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder.access$000(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder.defaultFileSystem(Unknown Source)
        at java.nio.file.FileSystems$DefaultFileSystemHolder.<clinit>(Unknown Source)
        ... 33 more

C:\Users\Jason>C:\Program Files (x86)\MMOUI Minion
Had to kill process via TaskManager.

Can't seem to upload log file located at %APPDATA%\..\Minion\log.txt

Originally Posted by holyheal View Post
C:\Program Files\MMOUI Minion>"c:\program files\java\jre6\bin\javaw" -jar minion.jar
This works.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Minion_Environment_Detection.png
Views:	866
Size:	215.9 KB
ID:	6556  

Last edited by Humage : 10-22-11 at 09:02 PM.
Humage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-11, 08:53 AM   #29
Fleety
A Defias Bandit
 
Fleety's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Well no replies to my effectively dead post.

Not Minion, which I succeeded in getting working with Lubuntu and Mint just describes the Status of all my addons as Addon not available.

Meh. If I could only get Curse working in Linux.
Fleety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-12, 10:31 PM   #30
luxgeek
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Problem with WOW directory in Linux...

Well...your app has no way to show hidden files and WoW is INSIDE ~/.wine, which is a hidden dir, so how am I supposed to tell minion WHERE it is?

Thanks....look forward to using it...eventually :P

Last edited by luxgeek : 04-14-12 at 10:39 PM.
luxgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-12, 10:14 AM   #31
Wyll
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
server have the flu this morning?

getting 404 errors for all my addons :/
Wyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-12, 01:28 PM   #32
cormanthor
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
cormanthor's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 94
Originally Posted by Wyll View Post
server have the flu this morning?

getting 404 errors for all my addons :/
same here. somewhat relieved to know it's not just me!

Edit: All better now! Thanks!
__________________
Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...

Last edited by cormanthor : 04-23-12 at 06:17 AM. Reason: updated
cormanthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-12, 01:33 PM   #33
jackbytor
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
jackbytor's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Java 7 broke my Minion.. Went back to Java 6 and all is well.. Just an FYI for anyone else having the same problem.
jackbytor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-12, 01:49 AM   #34
Bererengar
A Kobold Labourer
 
Bererengar's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
I can confirm the above.

Java 6 runs the minion fine whereas Java 7 doesn't run it at all.

I wish this project would be picked up again by some skilled hands, I wouldn't mind donating a substential amount of cash to it either
Bererengar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-12, 07:10 AM   #35
Dohram
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
unable to launch

MissingFieldException[ The following required field is missing from the launch file: <jnlp>]
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.XMLFormat.parse(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.jnl.LaunchDescFactory.buildDescriptor(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.launchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main.continueInSecureThread(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Main$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Dohram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-12, 02:36 PM   #36
Sangre
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Just thought I'd mention this...
MMO Minion still doesn't work for me. (Hasn't for over a year or so.)
Figured I'll give it another shot, in case it's fixed.
It installs, but won't start.
Yes, I followed the instructions, and all it does is create one process after another.
I'm assuming this is still dead in the water.
Shame really, I used to like it.
Sangre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-12, 04:50 PM   #37
Rammoth
A Cliff Giant
 
Rammoth's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 73
An admin has stated recently that the project for that has been stopped. They no longer work on it. So you're better off just manually updating addons until they decide to make another project or something. Or, you could use Curse Client to update addons from curse. But that would mean you wouldn't be using addons here anymore. Right now that's the only viable solutions I can find.
Rammoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-12, 05:10 PM   #38
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 751
Being a part of the zam network, it isn't so much lack of money as lack of priority, really.

There was more motivation back when the idea of having one updater with modules for the various addon sites was not yet dead, it appears to be now tough.

Testing the site, it seems to work fine with Java 6 and 32-bit, as it was originally designed for, hurray! Just wish it had filters, table sorting and so forth.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead

Last edited by Vlad : 08-25-12 at 05:36 PM.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-13, 06:36 PM   #39
dlaselle
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Win 8 compatbility?

I've downloaded and installed it succesfull it refused to open. I've tried all the steps above including the .bat file. Any other suggestions, or does this not work in windows 8?
dlaselle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-13, 07:48 PM   #40
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,526
As mentioned, this project is currently on the back-burner (or discontinued, one could say). As others have said above, it requires Java 6, which you will need to download and install.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Minion Problems/User FAQ (updated Aug 24)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off