Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-08-13, 11:11 PM   #1
nion91
A Defias Bandit
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
RegisterAddonMessagePrefix and cap

Hi there,

I'm using Addon Messages in the addon i'm currently developping, i heard about a "soft" and a "hard" cap for prefixes. (http://wowprogramming.com/docs/api/R...nMessagePrefix)

For now i plan on using no less than 6 prefixes, cause i'm a lazy guy. Is it bad if i do so ? Is it bad if that "soft cap" is reached ?

Thanks
nion91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-13, 11:59 PM   #2
semlar
A Molten Giant
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 624
The prefix is meant to identify your addon, you shouldn't create a different one for every type of message you want to send.

Just prefix the message itself to differentiate between them.
semlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-13, 07:47 PM   #3
nion91
A Defias Bandit
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
merci ---------------
nion91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » RegisterAddonMessagePrefix and cap

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off