Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-14, 07:39 PM   #1
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 563
So, what do you think? Is adding a machine translation a good idea?

I'm currently thinking about the localization of my addon. In the past I experienced that it is a problem to get people who are willing to provide localized strings.

I recently saw some authors who used machine translations (google, bing, don't know). But, in my experience those translations are very, very poor. They are often difficult to understand, and sometimes incomprehensible.

So, what do you think? Is adding a machine translation a good idea? Or is it even worse than showing english texts if there's no localized data?
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-14, 08:07 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,522
Do what others have done. Post your Google translate here and let anyone correct it. Easier than getting them to do all the work from scratch.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-14, 01:37 AM   #3
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,942
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
So, what do you think? Is adding a machine translation a good idea? Or is it even worse than showing english texts if there's no localized data?
Worse. Add a note to your download page indicating which languages you need translations for, and then just show English for any untranslated strings. Mangled machine translated garbage is not useful for anyone.

That said, for single words, using a dictionary or machine translation is probably fine. Google in particular will show you a list of possible translations, along with a list of English words each translation is used similarly to, so you can easily figure out which is the best option.

And for common phrases like "font size" or "background color" you can just copy from another addon.

If you're posting your addon on Curse too, I highly recommend adding all your translatable strings on the localization tab of your project page, and leaving them open so that anyone can submit translations. You don't need to be using the CurseForge/WowAce packager to use the localization system there -- when you want to update the translations in your addon, just use the "export" feature and copy/paste the whole batch into your addon file. The only downside is that there's no notification of any kind when someone adds or updates a translation, so you have to remember to check on it before making a release.

In my experience, you're most likely to get Chinese (both varieties), Russian, German, and occasionally French translations. I've very rarely had anyone send me Spanish, Italian, or Portuguese translations. Even Grid didn't get full Italian translations for probably 2 years after Blizzard launched the Italian version of WoW. I'm not sure if players in those languages just don't use very many addons, or if they all speak English and just don't prefer their native language strongly enough to bother with translations, or what. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-14, 03:34 AM   #4
10leej
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 426
I have the benefit of living near a majority of the native speakers for my localization's I have yet to finish setting up.
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-14, 06:04 PM   #5
Tonyleila
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 287
No machine translation dosen't make any sense. Sometimes using some of blizzards translations works fine but not for everything.

I personaly hate localization system of curseforge. You can't test the strings ingame and so most times you are translating blind without testing if it fits into the place or if it is even the right translation at this place.

However if want a translation for "BAB Bars" just add English file and an empty German one and I'll do it.

Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Even Grid didn't get full Italian translations for probably 2 years after Blizzard launched the Italian version of WoW. I'm not sure if players in those languages just don't use very many addons, or if they all speak English and just don't prefer their native language strongly enough to bother with translations, or what. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
My experience from about 20 visits in Lago di Garda and Roma many Italians only know very little english, I think most of them are not able to do a localization from English to Italian!
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________

Last edited by Tonyleila : 04-02-14 at 06:11 PM.
Tonyleila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-14, 07:59 PM   #6
10leej
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 426
ooh I forgot about the italians....
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-14, 01:11 PM   #7
humfras
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 92
Originally Posted by Tonyleila View Post
However if want a translation for "BAB Bars" just add English file and an empty German one and I'll do it.
Ja genau Ulf, wir helfen dir, in deiner Muttersprache zu schreiben!

@Topic:
Since English is the default language, using short and simple descriptions and adequate localized strings from the default UI is the easiest way.
If the AddOn is ready-to-use and its features' functionality or description is quite obvious or easy to understand, then there's no need for an extra translation.
__________________
Author of CursorCastBar OptiTaunt Poisoner RaidMobMarker
humfras is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-14, 09:25 AM   #8
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 563
Originally Posted by humfras View Post
Ja genau Ulf, wir helfen dir, in deiner Muttersprache zu schreiben!
Well, how could he know?
Thanks for offering this Tonyleila.

So, I'll try to find some support here in the forum if the addon is ready to translate.
I don't like curse that much, and don't plan to upload the addon there too at the moment.

btw: I realized that Bliizard localization table is surprising big today. It's absolutly worth a look for common one or two worded terms.

I'm still not sure how good or bad Google translates some languages. The german translations are often very odd. But german is a complex language, which is not easy to translate. I'm sure there are other less complex languages with much better results. Like spanish? Is a spanish native speaker here who knows how the quality of those translations is?
Nevertheless, the most translations seem to be bad or worse. I can't even imagine how a Google translation to chinese must sound to a native speaker.

Last edited by Duugu : 04-04-14 at 09:33 AM.
Duugu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-14, 12:46 PM   #9
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,942
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
I'm sure there are other less complex languages with much better results. Like spanish? Is a spanish native speaker here who knows how the quality of those translations is?
Not a native or even fluent Spanish speaker, but in my experience Google does an okay job with simple sentences. Once you start throwing in clauses or even too many adjectives, though, all bets are off.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » So, what do you think? Is adding a machine translation a good idea?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off