Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-04-14, 10:18 AM   #1
emiaee
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Addon to just rename bags?

Hello

I could not find any working CT_BagMod like addon so I have to ask here.

I just want to rename my bags by clicking on them like CT_BagMod used to do, is there any standalone addon that does that?

Thank you!
emiaee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-14, 04:54 PM   #2
10leej
A Firelord
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 463
Originally Posted by emiaee View Post
Hello

I could not find any working CT_BagMod like addon so I have to ask here.

I just want to rename my bags by clicking on them like CT_BagMod used to do, is there any standalone addon that does that?

Thank you!
not that I'm aware of but I doubt the api calls to rename the bags have changed much so it's probably still possible
10leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-14, 11:06 AM   #3
myrroddin
Premium Member
 
myrroddin's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 401
All the CT_ AddOns were moved to their home page years ago. The authors choose not to have their suite hosted on either Curse or WowInterface.

http://www.ctmod.net
myrroddin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-07-14, 09:25 AM   #4
def9
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
def9's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 206
ct_mod has been on the curse site since January.. I'd guess the author rewards system may have enticed them to allow it there.

http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/ctmod
__________________
Krendis, level 90 Prot Paladin
Simkin level 90 Combat Rogue
Feldeemus, level 90 Frost Mage
def9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-08-14, 09:23 AM   #5
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 639
This is just hardcoded, but here you go updated for 5.4:

https://github.com/Resike/CT_BagMod

Last edited by Resike : 07-10-14 at 07:45 AM. Reason: Sorry, but had to remove the mediafire download, as per site rules --Seerah, It's ok i was lazy to create a repo for this.
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-08-14, 09:25 AM   #6
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 639
Originally Posted by def9 View Post
ct_mod has been on the curse site since January.. I'd guess the author rewards system may have enticed them to allow it there.

http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/ctmod
Actually from what i know curse asked them to remove their addons, because their servers couldn't handle the 2 millions download per month back then. But yeah now it's back on curse and maintained by me.
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 07:46 AM   #7
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 639
Link fixed.
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 08:54 AM   #8
Rainrider
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
getglobal? Hasn't this been looked at for the last 6.5 years?
Rainrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 10:28 AM   #9
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,066
Indeed.

You should replace:

Lua Code:
  1. getglobal(X)
with

Lua Code:
  1. _G[X]
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
Torhal is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 11:25 AM   #10
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,576
Originally Posted by Rainrider View Post
getglobal? Hasn't this been looked at for the last 6.5 years?
The last official version I could find was released in 2006, and was still using RegisterForSave, so I'd say the answer to your question is a resounding no.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 02:43 PM   #11
Resike
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 639
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
Indeed.

You should replace:

Lua Code:
  1. getglobal(X)
with

Lua Code:
  1. _G[X]
Well i just spend around 45 seconds to make it work. But yeah, i'll do it when it's gonna be a release.
Getglobal is still usable and working so i'm not sure whats the hype about it.

Last edited by Resike : 07-10-14 at 04:03 PM.
Resike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 03:16 PM   #12
Fizzlemizz
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Double handling, getglobal(x) will essentially just return _G[x] so every addon that uses getglobal is just adding unneccesary processing cycles
__________________
FizzleMizz Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle
Fizzlemizz is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 04:31 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,685
Plus, it was deprecated long, long (YEARS) ago. I'm surprised it's still in the game.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-14, 04:54 PM   #14
Phanx
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,576
getglobal(x) doesn't just essentially return _G[x] -- it literally does that:

Code:
function getglobal(varr)
  return _G[varr];
end
It's defined in FrameXML/UIParent.lua. There is absolutely no reason to ever use getglobal in actively maintained or newly written code. The only excuse for it to be used anywhere would be in ancient code that still works but is not being maintained by anyone.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, ShieldsUp, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
Phanx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Addon to just rename bags?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off