Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-08-05, 03:53 PM   #1
Sathanas
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Sathanas's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Does my variable exist or not??!

Im flat out lost.

Im attempting to save a table into savedvariables for character-specific settings for a mod. However, theres a few problems.

First, the table seems to be in a state of limbo. I have 2 if statements checking the value of this table to determine something, and it WORKS. As in i can run my slash command that changes modes, and it works correctly, meaning the table is giving correct data to the if statement (there is no else, its one or the other so nil should do nothing, correct?)

However, in the game if i try to do /script message(Thingy[PlayerName]) the game tells me that the table is a nil value. wtf?

Whatever data is in the table is also never being saved to savedvariables.
__________________
--Sathanas
Sathanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-05, 04:04 PM   #2
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 771
you put it in the saved variables line in your TOC right?
Kaelten is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-05, 04:22 PM   #3
Gello
A Scalebane Royal Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
The table sounds local. Remove the local tag and it should be visible with /script message(etc)
Gello is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-05, 04:27 PM   #4
diiverr
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
I think I'm having a similar problem over here: What am I missing?

diiverr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-05, 08:08 PM   #5
Sathanas
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Sathanas's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15
Gello got it, i did indeed have it set to local. I coulda sworn i had it NOT local before, but i got errors, and stuck Local on there and it worked (to the point it was at)

Thank god, now at least i know how to save per-character stuff. That was one thing i was really having trouble with. Thanks for the help!
__________________
--Sathanas
Sathanas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Does my variable exist or not??!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off