01-02-16, 12:38 PM   #1
BloodyLycan
A Defias Bandit
Can't get any frames to display

Hello everyone!

Before I start, I should say that I'm an experienced software developer for web applications. I'd like to think that I have a good working knowledge of XML and the LUA language seems simple enough to figure out as I go.

My problem at this point, after pouring through the WoW API and XML tutorials, I can't really get a frame to display. I'm assuming it may be because there's nothing actually in the frame at the moment. I just want to get the frame to display, either on start up or through the ingame "addon screen".

I'm very sure that it's something I'm going wrong . The addon layout at the moment is basic with a single toc file, a main_ui.xml file and a main.lua file all in the same directory.

toc file:
Code:
## Interface: 60200
## Title: My Addon
## Notes: "Nothing to be done."
## Version: Dev

main.lua
ui_main.xml
xml file:
Code:
<Ui xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/..\FrameXML\UI.xsd">
    <!-- the addon's functionality is defined in here -->
    <Frame name="MyAddon_Frame">
     <Size><AbsDimension x="100" y="100"/></Size>
     <Anchors>
      <Anchor point="TOPLEFT"/>
     </Anchors>
    </Frame>
</Ui>
lua file:

Code:
message('HelloWorld')
MyAddon_Frame:Show()
Again, I am very sure that it is something basic maybe I'm not understanding how addons are run within WoW, or maybe it is something wrong with how I'm trying to instantiate the frame. Even a small nudge in the right direction would be very helpful.

Thank you all .
01-02-16, 12:47 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer

WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
You haven't told your frame what to look like.

PS.- It's much, much nicer to create your frames in Lua (not an acronym, by the way). You don't need XML unless you're dealing with creating secure templates.