Thread Tools Display Modes
09-12-13, 09:57 AM   #2741
echospazz
A Kobold Labourer
 
echospazz's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Awesome UI

Thank you so much for maintaining this UI, I've been using many different UIs over the past few months before I found this one. I've had this one for a long time and loved it ever since. This is one of those UIs you'd want to stick with forever.

Alkzar@Ravenholdt
 
09-12-13, 10:08 AM   #2742
Gethe
RealUI Developer
 
Gethe's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 942
Originally Posted by vaizard View Post
@dodgerslim
Hey dude! I got you code and now I make it to work Dynamcis! I'm Tuning and make a better code but take a look <snip>
Nice! though you can shorten the names by feeding the string through this:

Lua Code:
  1. string.match(nameString, "%w*");

I haven't tested this in-game, but it should return e.g. Elder Charm of Good Fortune -> Elder.
__________________
Knowledge = Power; Be OP

 
09-12-13, 11:02 AM   #2743
vaizard
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by Gethe View Post
Nice! though you can shorten the names by feeding the string through this:

Lua Code:
  1. string.match(nameString, "%w*");

I haven't tested this in-game, but it should return e.g. Elder Charm of Good Fortune -> Elder.
Thank for the tip
 
09-12-13, 12:28 PM   #2744
soulesschild
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by vaizard View Post
@dodgerslim
Hey dude! I got you code and now I make it to work Dynamcis! I'm Tuning and make a better code but take a look
Nice work. It's along the lines of what I'm trying to do as well. What's frustrating is that none of my chars or at least from what I noticed, if your character hasn't encountered Warforged seals, then it actually doesn't get returned when you do

GetCurrencyInfo();

Which...makes trying to test annoying

But hopefully maybe Gethe or Nibs can comment, what I wanted to do was add an option menu in real ui config that would first parse all the currency that a character can show, then have check boxes that a user can check to show. Essentially, a user could show only gold, or could show everything, even outdated currency they have that doesn't show by default if they wanted.
 
09-12-13, 12:40 PM   #2745
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,600
Originally Posted by soulesschild View Post
Nice work. It's along the lines of what I'm trying to do as well. What's frustrating is that none of my chars or at least from what I noticed, if your character hasn't encountered Warforged seals, then it actually doesn't get returned when you do

GetCurrencyInfo();

Which...makes trying to test annoying

But hopefully maybe Gethe or Nibs can comment, what I wanted to do was add an option menu in real ui config that would first parse all the currency that a character can show, then have check boxes that a user can check to show. Essentially, a user could show only gold, or could show everything, even outdated currency they have that doesn't show by default if they wanted.
Would be quite a bit of work, but doable. I'd probably set the Currency display to show the standard currencies (gold, VP, CP, etc), then have the option to display any more that the player wanted. Though this kind of ties back into the whole default UI and being able to track 3 currencies on the Bag frame dealio.

Wouldn't be too hard to add a "Customize shown currencies" line to the currency display that when clicked would open a small options window.
 
09-12-13, 12:43 PM   #2746
soulesschild
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
Would be quite a bit of work, but doable. I'd probably set the Currency display to show the standard currencies (gold, VP, CP, etc), then have the option to display any more that the player wanted. Though this kind of ties back into the whole default UI and being able to track 3 currencies on the Bag frame dealio.

Wouldn't be too hard to add a "Customize shown currencies" line to the currency display that when clicked would open a small options window.
Sounds good. Hard work was never bad for anyone Already kind of have it working . Just need to read up more on making the customizable options.
 
09-12-13, 01:14 PM   #2747
vaizard
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by soulesschild View Post
Sounds good. Hard work was never bad for anyone Already kind of have it working . Just need to read up more on making the customizable options.
I used GetBackpackCurrencyInfo(id[1 to 3])

Here a new version

The idea here is get from to currency table the currency that u have marked to show on bagpack. Now it's dynamics if u change the default wow configuration the UI will update too.

I think it's a little different what u have mind.

Now I have a question. Whitch u guys think its better:

1 - have the amount + abbreviation (aka Timeless Coin to tc) + Icon?
2 - amount + abbreviation (my choice)
3 - amount + icon

Last edited by vaizard : 09-12-13 at 01:17 PM.
 
09-12-13, 01:21 PM   #2748
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,600
Originally Posted by vaizard View Post
I used GetBackpackCurrencyInfo(id[1 to 3])

Here a new version

The idea here is get from to currency table the currency that u have marked to show on bagpack. Now it's dynamics if u change the default wow configuration the UI will update too.

I think it's a little different what u have mind.

Now I have a question. Whitch u guys think its better:

1 - have the amount + abbreviation (aka Timeless Coin to tc) + Icon?
2 - amount + abbreviation (my choice)
3 - amount + icon
+1 for Amount + Abbr.
 
09-12-13, 01:28 PM   #2749
SDSJ
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Is there anyway to change the colour of the health bar?
I've tried the appearance tab but that only changes the colour of the health lost, if you know what I mean.
 
09-12-13, 01:37 PM   #2750
vaizard
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by SDSJ View Post
Is there anyway to change the colour of the health bar?
I've tried the appearance tab but that only changes the colour of the health lost, if you know what I mean.
U mean start with green? it's a good exemple for u question?
 
09-12-13, 02:18 PM   #2751
Massiveunit
A Black Drake
 
Massiveunit's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 81
Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
+1 for Amount + Abbr.
I like the first one 2.
Massive
 
09-12-13, 04:26 PM   #2752
soulesschild
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by vaizard View Post
I used GetBackpackCurrencyInfo(id[1 to 3])

Here a new version

The idea here is get from to currency table the currency that u have marked to show on bagpack. Now it's dynamics if u change the default wow configuration the UI will update too.

I think it's a little different what u have mind.

Now I have a question. Whitch u guys think its better:

1 - have the amount + abbreviation (aka Timeless Coin to tc) + Icon?
2 - amount + abbreviation (my choice)
3 - amount + icon
That's actually smarter than my solution in some ways heh. I only wanted to develop it so that if I don't give a darn about how much I have OTHER than gold then I can just show gold. I'm OCD like that

+1 to amt + abbr as well.
 
09-12-13, 06:18 PM   #2753
vaizard
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by soulesschild View Post
That's actually smarter than my solution in some ways heh. I only wanted to develop it so that if I don't give a darn about how much I have OTHER than gold then I can just show gold. I'm OCD like that

+1 to amt + abbr as well.
I really think your idea is the best of all. A way to 100% customize the currency view. However, for me, I will take a lot of time to make it.

So for now I can bring that idea . We can work on your idea for the future
 
09-12-13, 07:28 PM   #2754
Eulogee
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Not sure if this has come up already, but I'm having trouble getting my fonts to stick. Every time I log in, it goes back to the default font the UI uploaded with :-(
 
09-12-13, 07:34 PM   #2755
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,600
Originally Posted by Eulogee View Post
Not sure if this has come up already, but I'm having trouble getting my fonts to stick. Every time I log in, it goes back to the default font the UI uploaded with :-(
Having issue with any other settings not sticking? Sounds like your WTF folder has permission/read only issues. Make sure WoW isn't installed in Program Files and that your WTF folder isn't set to Read Only.
 
09-12-13, 08:55 PM   #2756
dodgerslim
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by soulesschild View Post

[...]if your character hasn't encountered Warforged seals, then it actually doesn't get returned when you do

GetCurrencyInfo();

Which...makes trying to test annoying

I have yet to do anything to get any Warforged Seals, and they're shown in my tooltip with the code change I made


Originally Posted by Gethe View Post
Nice! though you can shorten the names by feeding the string through this:

Lua Code:
  1. string.match(nameString, "%w*");

I haven't tested this in-game, but it should return e.g. Elder Charm of Good Fortune -> Elder.

To change the display name in the tooltip, edit InfoLine.lua and look for line 1257. Should be the first one mentioning the currency headers.
 
09-12-13, 09:38 PM   #2757
viallin
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Hey, love the add on, but iwas wondering if there was a way to change the bind on the hide/show UI elements from the CTRL key, is my only grip.

Thank you
 
09-12-13, 11:56 PM   #2758
Maddoxx
A Cyclonian
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Font issue

Hi Nib
I love your UI and I use it for a long time now *-*

but since 8.0 r15 chat font always resets after relog / restart / disconnect.. thats pretty annoying
can't find the cause of it :O

and also since 8.0 r16 fonts of info line, unit frames, minimap, watchframe... are out of control

8.0 r15


8.0 r16


first pic shows how it should be ^^ second how it is at the moment
(both with same config)
no matter what I do nothing changes

hope you can help me
 
09-13-13, 12:10 AM   #2759
Nibelheim
local roygbi-
 
Nibelheim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,600
Originally Posted by Maddoxx View Post
Hi Nib
I love your UI and I use it for a long time now *-*

but since 8.0 r15 chat font always resets after relog / restart / disconnect.. thats pretty annoying
can't find the cause of it :O

and also since 8.0 r16 fonts of info line, unit frames, minimap, watchframe... are out of control

8.0 r15


8.0 r16


first pic shows how it should be ^^ second how it is at the moment
(both with same config)
no matter what I do nothing changes

hope you can help me
What about the chat font is changing? The font itself? Are you on an enUS client, or another locale?
Type /realadv then go to Fonts. Post a screenshot of what you see there.
 
09-13-13, 12:13 AM   #2760
dodgerslim
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Just realized the second line in the currency tooltip (how much you've gained or lost during the session) isn't showing correctly because I didn't account for that when I added the other currencies :P
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » RealUI » RealUI


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off