Quantcast When is GlobalStrings? - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-23-16, 01:41 AM   #1
siweia
A Black Drake
 
siweia's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 84
Where is GlobalStrings?

It is used to be in the FrameXML/GlobalStrings, but not in LEG.
Does anyone know where it goes?

Last edited by siweia : 06-23-16 at 11:50 PM.
 
05-23-16, 05:45 AM   #2
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
it got moved to a data file within the game client, no longer publicly accessible via framexml

its still viewable via townlong-yak, who have extracted it and hosted it as it existed previously in a dummy file:
https://www.townlong-yak.com/framexm...balStrings.lua
 
05-23-16, 06:57 AM   #3
myrroddin
A Molten Giant
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 878
Silly question, maybe. Can you still use GlobalStrings the same way as previous?
Lua Code:
  1. print(ABANDON_PET)
  2. -- >> Are you sure you want to permanently abandon your pet? You will never be able to summon this pet again."
 
05-23-16, 07:00 AM   #4
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,183
Yes, you can - it's just loaded in via C now. Otherwise, plenty of things (including the default UI) would be broken.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
 
05-23-16, 08:30 AM   #5
Rainrider
A Scalebane Royal Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 444
You could look them up here. Don't know how they got them though, but the strings are probably in some db file right now.

EDIT: Sorry for the useless reply

Last edited by Rainrider : 05-23-16 at 08:31 AM. Reason: Ups, refresh your tabs before answering
 
05-23-16, 11:05 AM   #6
galvin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Does moving stuff to a db file speed things up some how vs using lua?
 
05-23-16, 11:33 AM   #7
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 874
Either way, they get loaded into memory so no real advantage at run time. The db file probably means they only get loaded once.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle and Move Pad Plus.
 
05-23-16, 12:00 PM   #8
Predicate
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
The reasoning for this was discussed on IRC; the primary advantage for Blizzard is that db2 files use the CASC streaming data system, so they can update GlobalStrings as needed without having to push a client update.
 
05-23-16, 12:20 PM   #9
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
Without having thought it through.. when will that be useful?
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!
 
05-23-16, 02:01 PM   #10
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,729
GlobalStrings.lua was an exported list of localized strings. This was before they started injecting values directly into Lua globals. It makes sense to skip importing an exported list and just inject the strings directly. In the long run, manipulating the Lua backend to do so probably results in marginally quicker load times compared to relying on setting the values through the Lua engine. This also allows centralized storage of all localization and easy correction of localization errors.
__________________
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
 
05-24-16, 12:23 AM   #11
galvin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Wish they would do this for tooltips. Tooltips can be out of date for months on live before a patch comes along.
 
05-24-16, 11:19 AM   #12
TOM_RUS
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 92
Originally Posted by galvin View Post
Wish they would do this for tooltips. Tooltips can be out of date for months on live before a patch comes along.
They can update nearly everything without patching client in Legion, including tooltips.
 
05-28-16, 07:04 AM   #13
Simca
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Simca's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
Originally Posted by TOM_RUS View Post
They can update nearly everything without patching client in Legion, including tooltips.
Whether they actually will do that remains to be seen though. They don't like to get things out of sync between localizations, and hotfixes to tooltips would require all of their localization teams to be doing high-priority localizations in the middle of other things.
__________________
Assistant admin for MMO-Champion
WoW database file expert - ask me anything
 
 

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Archived Beta Forums » Legion Beta archived threads » When is GlobalStrings?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off