03-27-17, 11:42 AM   #1
Lorsaire
A Kobold Labourer

Group Finder Addon - Possibilities

I was thinking about what I'd like to see when putting together groups, and realized I've never really seen a good addon that has what I'd like for the Group Finder. I've searched before, haven't really found what I'm looking for. I asked below in the WoW Forum, but figured I'd come to a community that specializes in Addons to do more research. I'm a software engineer by trade, so I'm not intimidated by the prospect of making my own UI, I'd just need to learn how to do it and find the time. But, first things first. I don't even know if the Addon interface even allows what I'm thinking, so I figured I'd ask those who have more knowledge first:

-------------------------------
For those skilled in creating addons, I'm curious if it is even possible to make a new addon that would add functionality to the Blizzard Group Finder addon.

It does a pretty decent job of certain things. But, for the manual groups we put together, there are things that could enhance its functionality for group leaders trying to put together teams.

Is there any way to grab more information about players than currently shows up in the default addon?

I'm thinking about things from the Wow armory, statistics & achievements, but also stuff like you find at (or could maybe import from), Wowprogress or Warcraft Logs.

Things like:

For the dungeon/raid involved, the # of times an individual has killed each boss at the difficulty level in question (or maybe cluster for things like m+ like they do for Wowprogress (# 2+, 5+, 10+, 15+...).

Not just bag iLvl, but also equipped iLvl, Artifact Traits #, Sim DPS, Wowprogress PVE score or Mythic+ Score.

Achievements like AotC, or Keystone Master, not just their PG level.

Or even stats from the Warcraft Logs page (for the Raid & difficulty) like Max & Avg Rank % (and iLvl adjusted %), and Max/Median DPS...