Thread Tools Display Modes
07-07-10, 10:38 PM   #1
axxeman
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Need help with NUI+ and Eyefinity

First off I'd like to take a sec and thanks for giving access to such a great interface. I have been using it for about a month now and love it.

My question/problem is related to Eyefinity. I just set up Eyefinity this evening (3 Asus 24" monitors and 2 ATI 5870's in Crossfire). WoW runs fine with it's standard interface but when I enable NUI+ it becomes distorted and "stretches" the interface across all 3 monitors. Is there anything I need to do settings wise to correct this? Or is this a known problem?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
07-08-10, 04:06 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
This is going to be an issue with nUI5 as it tries to fit itself to the full width of the display and with your change, the display is three monitors wide which is making nUI try to be three monitors wide.

That said, there are other users using similar setups that have nUI working. It takes some tweaking. See this post for instructions on how to do it... http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=20917

nUI6 has built in support for viewports to address this problem, but modifying that is not currently possible in the alpha.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-13-10, 10:27 PM   #3
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Same situation here.
any body got a starting point for the settings..
running 5760x1080 and everything I tried made it worse..
I think I am missing something in what Scott has in the post he linked to..
and my life just doesnt offer much time to play with it and get any game time in...
Thx in advance for any assistance...
oh.. And Great Job on nUI Scott.. having lots of trouble playing without it now..
 
08-14-10, 06:04 AM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I may be wrong, but I would start here...

Code:
nUI_Options = {
    ["scale"] = 1,
    ["hScale"] = 0.75,
    ["vScale"] = 0.64125,
    -- all the rest of your WTF settings
}
To make your UI narrower across the display area, reduce the value of hScale and visa versa. To make your UI shorter up and down the display area, reduce the value of vScale and visa versa.

You do have to log your character out (but do not have to exit WoW) between attempts to change the WTF file. So... log out, change the settings in your WTF file, log back in and check. If you don't like the results, rinse and repeat.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-14-10, 06:55 AM   #5
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
well that seems to be a step in the right direction except every thing is shifted left .. or rather the interface elements start on the left and dont make it to the right side of screen..
this picture shows my left and center screen...
if I could get stuff centered.. I would be very happy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0056.JPG
Views:	1403
Size:	647.2 KB
ID:	4702  
 
08-14-10, 08:10 AM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
This may or may not work, so you might have to "undo" it. We'll see.

Edit the file [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua ]... go to the very bottom of the file and add the following...

Code:
nUI_MasterFrame:SetHeight( 1080 );
nUI_MasterFrame:SetWidth( 1920 );
nUI_MasterFrame:ClearAllPoints();
nUI_MasterFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", UIParent, "BOTTOM", 0, 0 );
nUI_MasterFrame:SetPoint( "TOP", UIParent, "TOP", 0, 0 );
Save the file then do a '/nui rl' and see if it centers the console and dashboard.

EDIT: Note... this is specifically for your own display resolution which appears to be three 1920x1080 displays. If your center display resolution is not 1920X1080 then you will want to use that display's resolution in the SetHeight and SetWidth calls above.

REEDIT: The scale appears to still be off... so, if this "fix" does center the dashboard, then you're going to want to play with the hScale and vScale values in the WTF files to make the dashboard fit in the one monitor and to make your action buttons square again... reduce hScale to make the dashboard fit inside the one monitor, then once that fit is "right" reduce the value of vScale to make the action buttons square and you're all set.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 08-14-10 at 08:14 AM.
 
08-14-10, 08:49 AM   #7
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
didnt work initially cuz I was too literal and put it at the very end..
then I put it just above this stuff:

Code:
 
frame:RegisterEvent( "PLAYER_LOGOUT" );
frame:RegisterEvent( "ADDON_LOADED" );
frame);
and it seems to work..
though more tweeking is required..
need to look at it more... I think I may have lost some stuff..
but it is possible I still have stuff loaded from trying to go without nUI..
(decided that was gonna be a hard job.. )
 
08-14-10, 09:01 AM   #8
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
ok... gonna have to do some from scratch installing to clean any possible other crapola..
because I have the default action button setup happening..
strangeness...
but gotta get some stuff done 'round that house before it gets to hot outside...
I will be working on this more in a bit..

oh.. and lest I forget
THANK YOU VERY MUCH...
was having thoughts of playing wow on single screen to get nUI to work..

Last edited by Roseknight : 08-14-10 at 09:04 AM.
 
08-14-10, 05:12 PM   #9
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
still no joy

I can get one of 2 ways... default buttons layout centered
or nUI button layout on left screen..
differnce is in the \WoW\interface\AddOns\nUI\Main\nUI.lua
file..
I can send you both versions of the file to see if you can spot what I'm doing wrong


Anyone out there that has gotten this working and could chime in I sure would appreciate it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0057.JPG
Views:	990
Size:	652.0 KB
ID:	4703  Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0058.JPG
Views:	1186
Size:	648.4 KB
ID:	4704  

Last edited by Roseknight : 08-14-10 at 05:53 PM.
 
08-14-10, 07:03 PM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
See if the attached file works for you. Install it in your [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main ] folder.

.
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI.lua (41.9 KB, 838 views)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-15-10, 08:44 AM   #11
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
No joy..
that leaves the dash on the left screen
 
08-15-10, 08:56 AM   #12
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Okay -- let's try again... see if this one gets it done for you.

.
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI.lua (42.0 KB, 861 views)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-16-10, 05:13 PM   #13
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
much closer..
Shifted a bit too far to the right
which lines should I be tweeking the numbers on to dial it in?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0059.JPG
Views:	1070
Size:	672.5 KB
ID:	4709  
 
08-16-10, 05:43 PM   #14
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
You're looking for this code section in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.lua ] -- the two lines I highlighted are the ones that set the position of the top and bottom UI elements. The number I highlighted in each is the one that moves the top or bottom element left and right. Change it to a negative number to move it left... the bigger the negative number, the more it will move to the left.

Code:
nUI_BottomBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_BottomBars );
nUI_BottomBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT", nUI_MasterFrame, "BOTTOMLEFT", 0, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_BottomBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "TOP", nUI_BottomBars, "TOP", 0, 0 );

nUI_Dashboard.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_Dashboard );
nUI_Dashboard:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_BottomBarsLocator, "TOP", 0, 0 );
nUI_Dashboard.Anchor:SetPoint( "CENTER", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );

nUI_TopBars.Anchor = CreateFrame( "Frame", "$parent_Anchor", nUI_TopBars );
nUI_TopBarsLocator:SetPoint( "BOTTOMLEFT", nUI_MasterFrame, "TOPLEFT", 0, 0 );
nUI_TopBars:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBarsLocator, "BOTTOM", 0, -115 );
nUI_TopBars.Anchor:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_TopBars, "BOTTOM", 0, 0 );
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-16-10, 05:59 PM   #15
Roseknight
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Scott,
I just gotta say you ROCK!!!!



-320 was the magic number in those slots for me...

now to add my other addons (very few due to the fantasitic nature of nUI)
and go play a bit and see if I have other issues related to the extra large screen size.. I've read about and seen some issues related to very large text size on things like combat damage numbers, xp, and title bars but those are unrelated to nUI.. though if you don't mind I might post my findings here just to have some documentation others facing the same issues can find..
(cuz it sucks to spend big $$ on nice equipment and find it screws up playing your favorite game)
 
11-24-10, 04:37 PM   #16
Psythe
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Another fix

If you add one line in the function nUI:setScale():
hScale = width / 2560;
add--> hScale = hScale / 3;
vScale = height / 1600;

It will work without changing anything else. Hopefully anyhow...
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » Need help with NUI+ and Eyefinity


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off