Quantcast BFA - Alpha tester - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-13-18, 01:27 PM   #1
Svegan
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Svegan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 97
BFA - Alpha tester

I would love to test carbonite on the Alpha of BFA. Are there any branches on the github repos for BFA?
  Reply With Quote
04-13-18, 08:05 PM   #2
ebonyfaye
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
ebonyfaye's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 19
Can not use add-ons in alpha it's normaly a beta thing
  Reply With Quote
04-14-18, 02:00 AM   #3
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 593
We are waiting till beta to test BFA. Then we will make special branch for this expansion.
  Reply With Quote
04-21-18, 11:53 AM   #4
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,221
They've opened the Alpha up to addons, now, so maybe you should think about getting Carbonite ready. Hopefully they haven't changed things around enough to break it.

I mean, I can't play WoW at all ('cause I don't have and can't afford a computer) but it seems like a good idea! Well, to me, anyway.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote
04-21-18, 02:40 PM   #5
Xrystal
Premium Member
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,087
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
They've opened the Alpha up to addons, now, so maybe you should think about getting Carbonite ready. Hopefully they haven't changed things around enough to break it.

I mean, I can't play WoW at all ('cause I don't have and can't afford a computer) but it seems like a good idea! Well, to me, anyway.
Well they have changes quests and maps significantly ... so it may have been affected badly.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
04-21-18, 05:40 PM   #6
Nimhfree
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Maps are radically changed. At least they are unifying on one unique mapId and no longer doing dungeon levels. The C_Map API are overhauled and pretty logical it seems. There are still things missing that would make life so much easier. Most of the normal quest events seems to provide the basic information in the same way. At least in build 26476.
  Reply With Quote
04-22-18, 02:58 AM   #7
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 593
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
They've opened the Alpha up to addons, now, so maybe you should think about getting Carbonite ready. Hopefully they haven't changed things around enough to break it.

I mean, I can't play WoW at all ('cause I don't have and can't afford a computer) but it seems like a good idea! Well, to me, anyway.
I dont have access to Alpha.

Last edited by ircdirk : 04-22-18 at 03:01 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-22-18, 09:00 AM   #8
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,450
Unfortunately neither do I.

It does seem reading up what's been found so far it's going to be fun to rebuild, as the 2 main things Carb used to function are changed drastically, or completely missing now.

Last edited by Rythal : 04-22-18 at 09:14 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-22-18, 11:47 AM   #9
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,221
Don't forget, Rythal, that this isn't "carved in stone" yet. I don't know how much the information will change before release, but, you can be sure it will (this is an Alpha release of the game, after all)!
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote
04-22-18, 01:35 PM   #10
Xrystal
Premium Member
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,087
Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
Unfortunately neither do I.

It does seem reading up what's been found so far it's going to be fun to rebuild, as the 2 main things Carb used to function are changed drastically, or completely missing now.
If you ever had an idea you wanted to implement but would need a big code base change .. this may be the expansion to do it in, assuming they don't change their mind and put it all back rofl.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
04-22-18, 10:19 PM   #11
Svegan
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Svegan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 97
testing maps

I have alpha, loaded carbonite maps, and new ace librarys, trying to find and change the lua errors, as they happen, in the fork i made, so I can keep the updates I make, and let rythal and ircdirk see them. right now, there are no player mapping functions, so it may be hard to make maps and questing work, if the player position can not be found.
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 01:22 AM   #12
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 593
Originally Posted by Svegan View Post
I have alpha, loaded carbonite maps, and new ace librarys, trying to find and change the lua errors, as they happen, in the fork i made, so I can keep the updates I make, and let rythal and ircdirk see them. right now, there are no player mapping functions, so it may be hard to make maps and questing work, if the player position can not be found.
UnitPosition works in BfA so if we know lengths of maps we could rewrite GetPlayerMapPosition...

Also there is https://github.com/tomrus88/Blizzard...dMapAreaID.lua which maps old mapids to new uimapids.

Last edited by ircdirk : Yesterday at 01:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 10:34 AM   #13
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,450
Originally Posted by ircdirk View Post
UnitPosition works in BfA so if we know lengths of maps we could rewrite GetPlayerMapPosition...

Also there is https://github.com/tomrus88/Blizzard...dMapAreaID.lua which maps old mapids to new uimapids.
For overland that will work, but for scenario's, dungeons, micros, and instances the old drawing methods will no longer work since dungeon levels are gone. That means we can no longer draw the entire thing tiny and zoom/scale to it adjusting based on your dungeon level. It also no longer provides the filenames of the maps being drawn, so that will have to be mined and added for every possible map we want to manually create (as far as I can tell so far).

Overland will also have problems as when you enter a microdungeon, your mapid doesn't change only your dungeon level so carb knows your still in the particular zone.. in the alpha it'll be an entirely new mapid so it won't know your still in vale of eternal blossoms instead of shrine of seven stars as the get current map will return 392 for first level, 393 for second level, 390 for in the zone itself and not the shrine.. each with it's own map that carb will need to handle, and table conversions to know what zone you actually are in.
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 11:06 AM   #14
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 593
Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
For overland that will work, but for scenario's, dungeons, micros, and instances the old drawing methods will no longer work since dungeon levels are gone. That means we can no longer draw the entire thing tiny and zoom/scale to it adjusting based on your dungeon level. It also no longer provides the filenames of the maps being drawn, so that will have to be mined and added for every possible map we want to manually create (as far as I can tell so far).

Overland will also have problems as when you enter a microdungeon, your mapid doesn't change only your dungeon level so carb knows your still in the particular zone.. in the alpha it'll be an entirely new mapid so it won't know your still in vale of eternal blossoms instead of shrine of seven stars as the get current map will return 392 for first level, 393 for second level, 390 for in the zone itself and not the shrine.. each with it's own map that carb will need to handle, and table conversions to know what zone you actually are in.
WorldMapFrame is rendered here: https://github.com/tomrus88/Blizzard...rame.lua#L1212 so we can see usage of those functions i describe below.

Textures of uiMapID are handled by GetMapArtLayerTextures function as it returns textures table:

Code:
Name = "GetMapArtLayerTextures",
			Type = "Function",

			Arguments =
			{
				{ Name = "uiMapID", Type = "number", Nilable = false },
				{ Name = "layerIndex", Type = "number", Nilable = false },
			},

			Returns =
			{
				{ Name = "textures", Type = "table", InnerType = "number", Nilable = false },
}
https://github.com/tomrus88/Blizzard...tation.lua#L76

Also GetMapInfo will return many information including map ParentID and UIMapType:

Code:
Name = "UIMapType",
			Type = "Enumeration",
			NumValues = 7,
			MinValue = 0,
			MaxValue = 6,
			Fields =
			{
				{ Name = "Cosmic", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 0 },
				{ Name = "World", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 1 },
				{ Name = "Continent", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 2 },
				{ Name = "Zone", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 3 },
				{ Name = "Dungeon", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 4 },
				{ Name = "Micro", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 5 },
				{ Name = "Orphan", Type = "UIMapType", EnumValue = 6 },
},
https://github.com/tomrus88/Blizzard...ation.lua#L291

Last edited by ircdirk : Yesterday at 12:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 01:17 PM   #15
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,450
From my understanding of it, the art function returns a "number" and is returning the reference to the ID in the map texture atlas that was added, not the file names.

And yes I know all about those tables, the base point is before hand to work properly carbonite only needed to know 1/3 of the possible ID's, now it will need to know all of them from what I can tell.. but I could be wrong and things will be very simple to change, with it taking 15 minutes to have it up and running.

really it's all mute and guess work until any of us get into the Alpha... which hopefully happens soon, since i'm not buying BfA.. so my work ends when it goes live.
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 03:31 PM   #16
Ammako
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Ammako's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 180
Originally Posted by Rythal View Post
really it's all mute and guess work until any of us get into the Alpha... which hopefully happens soon, since i'm not buying BfA.. so my work ends when it goes live.
Game will be upgraded to 8.0 regardless of having bought the expansion, so even Lv. 1-20 trial characters can be used to mess with 8.0 api. Though I guess there may still be some functionality which may require Lv. 111+ for BFA content to properly test, for which PTR will be upgraded to BFA eventually. That would depend on how willing you'd be to level a character from 110 on PTR, which is totally understandable if not.

My understanding was that there were still some functions missing and that the new map api wasn't yet complete by Blizzard, so maybe they'd just be adding more stuff in later. But I could be wrong and that's all there will be.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Yesterday, 06:36 PM   #17
Svegan
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Svegan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 97
Testing

@Rythal, when you do have something, you could make a branch, and I can get it from git and test it on alpha. I also intend to keep modding my fork, to see what I can make work, in hopes to relieve some of your burden in getting this ready.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: General Discussion » BFA - Alpha tester

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off