Quantcast Random addons installed - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-24-16, 03:26 AM   #1
niffboy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Random addons installed

I recently started using SyncUI and figured I'd start using Minion to help keep it up to date. The first time I ran Minion, it said all of my addons were out of date which I thought was odd because I keep Curse running in the background (although I had closed it prior to running Minion) and notice anytime an addon needs updating, but decided to update them with Minion anyway.

When I logged into WoW, my UI was a mess. The game froze up and Windows closed it. When I opened it back up, I looked at my addons and right off the bat I noticed addons I'd never even heard of and others I knew about, but don't use. There were about 6 different addons, (some with many modules) that I know I would never use that had been installed.

Oddly enough, SyncUI was not only NOT listed in Minion, but it was disabled in my addons when I logged back in.

Anyone else experience anything like this? If it wasn't for the fact that Minion comes from such a reputable site as WoWInterface, I would be worried about things being installed w/o my knowledge.

Addons Minion installed:

Discord Art
Discord Art Options
Discord Library
Discord Unit Frame Options

Dominos
Dominos Action Sets
Dominos Cast
Dominos Config
Dominos Encounter
Dominos Progress
Dominos Roll

Answering Machine

Examiner

FauxMazzle

HitsMode5

xCalc

XLoot
XLoot Frame
XLoot Group
XLoot Master
XLoot Monitor
XLoot Options

Last edited by niffboy : 06-24-16 at 03:43 AM. Reason: Added list of addons that were installed.
  Reply With Quote
06-24-16, 08:25 AM   #2
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,170
Thanks for posting your experience. Would you be able to post your minion.log as it logs its detection decision making. Go into Minion, click on the settings icon (cog icon in the upper right), scroll down to the option 'Open log'. Find and attach your minion.log here please.

Minion currently only checks if addons are a different version than whats on wowinterface.com. If it doesn't know if the installed version is the same it errors on the side of caution and flags the AddOn needing an update. Since version numbers are very subjective its difficult to tell what is newer. We are trying to come up with ways to combat this.

If we can get ahold of your minion.log we can get a better idea of why things were matched with the wrong addons.

Thank you for letting me know about SyncUI, it should now show up in Minion.

Minion works best if you download and install AddOns using it. Right now Minion has the most trouble when its trying to detect what you have in the wild (so does curse, ESO gamers experienced this). Some times it does a wonderful job, some times it does a horrible job (like in your case). We are however trying to make things better and if we can get your minion.log it will certainly help us.

Last edited by Dolby : 06-24-16 at 08:27 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-24-16, 06:47 PM   #3
niffboy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Minion.log

I'm having an issue uploading the minion.log. The file is 4.48MB and is too large to upload for a .log file. When I try to paste it into the thread, the page times out.

The 1st half of the log is "Addon Backup Thread" and I was wondering if that data is important as far as needing it to investigate what happened?
  Reply With Quote
06-25-16, 04:14 AM   #4
syncrow
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
syncrow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 139
btw. does the latest minion update support "suites"?

If not, this would explain the issue with SyncUI.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
06-25-16, 07:45 AM   #5
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,170
Originally Posted by niffboy View Post
I'm having an issue uploading the minion.log. The file is 4.48MB and is too large to upload for a .log file. When I try to paste it into the thread, the page times out.

The 1st half of the log is "Addon Backup Thread" and I was wondering if that data is important as far as needing it to investigate what happened?
The file should compress well, could you zip it up? If not email it to me dolby at mmoui.com
  Reply With Quote
06-25-16, 07:46 AM   #6
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,170
Originally Posted by syncrow View Post
btw. does the latest minion update support "suites"?

If not, this would explain the issue with SyncUI.
It does now.
  Reply With Quote
06-25-16, 06:06 PM   #7
niffboy
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Minion log zip file

Yeah, sorry I didn't think about compressing it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip minion.zip (227.8 KB, 65 views)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Random addons installed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off