Thread Tools Display Modes
07-28-10, 03:22 PM   #41
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Originally Posted by Deimous View Post
Resetting the chat windows did not work. lol. It put the combat log and the general log together. I did a /reload, and now it's back to one line again... unlocked the window, resized it, locked it again... /reload... and the tabs are back above where they should be again.

Again and again, if I move it and do /reload, it keeps putting it back up above... is there something special NUI does during /reload that could be resetting something in the chat-cache.txt file?
If it is, it is via the blizzard FCF functions which are called to update certain aspects of the chat frame. Such as locking the frame or docking. Outside of that I can't see anything in the chatframe file at any rate.
__________________
 
07-28-10, 04:12 PM   #42
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Ah, another idea.

See if you can tally up the following events and see if they are happening together.

Error Message - Tabs not appearing
No Error Message - Tabs appearing

I'm working on a new addon and I just noticed when I had an error occur on login the tabs didn't appear. But if I log in with no error they appear fine. At least so far. Will have to watch for more occurences like this and see if it becomes a consistent event.
__________________
 
07-28-10, 06:12 PM   #43
Deimous
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 50
From what I'm seeing, if I get the error message that I posted above, the tabs are working perfectly. No error message and it's one of the other scenarios we discussed (chat above where it should be, wrapped into one line, or expanded really huge down below).

But, in all cases, now, all of the tabs are there. So, I don't need to /reload anymore to get my tabs back.

Oh, on a side note, I was having this issue where my info box (that tooltip box that would show up when you hover over any player or whatever) was always showing up right in the center of my screen instead of where I told NUI Movers to move it to... (which is on the left side of my screen). A /reload would fix this and move it back to where I wanted it... but now, as testing this stuff... It's showing up where I wanted it every time... I wonder if it's linked.
 
07-28-10, 06:31 PM   #44
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
hmm possibly but that would point to the nUI wtf file being messed up a bit.
__________________
 
07-28-10, 08:24 PM   #45
reddrumjay
A Black Drake
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 85
OK - my head is swimming from reading all this power debugging!

I haven't tried any of these fixes yet, but my problem initially presents the same as Deimous'.

I do use Prat, I do not use RealID. Disabling Prat has no impact on the problem.

Now as for the version difference, well... I'm an idiot. <runs for cover>. nUI wasn't enabled on the alt. D'oh!

So, I logged in on the alt, saw my custom tab there, and realized the nUI interface wasn't there. Logged out, enabled nUI, logged back in, custom tab is gone. /nui rl and it appears.

I am running prat on both toons, so could be nUI and prat are not playing well with each other, however, disabling prat doesn't fix anything.

Gotta raid - I'll check back later.
 
07-28-10, 08:55 PM   #46
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
my changes:

Code:
    elseif event == "UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS" then
--      reparentChatFrame();
--    elseif event == "UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS"
--    or     event == "UPDATE_FLOATING_CHAT_WINDOWS"
     or     event == "BN_CHAT_CHANNEL_CREATE_SUCCEEDED" then
        reparentChatFrame();
I'm wondering what happens if you make the change I highlighted above Xrystal.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
07-28-10, 10:55 PM   #47
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS or BN_CHAT_CHANNEL_CREATE_SUCCEEDED ?

Yeah tried that and it seemed to work the same as UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS but then I don't use realID stuff to see the effect.

Strangely enough though I am wondering if there is still some intermittent event order issues at play here. But with all the different addons working with the chat frames at once its hard to see whos doing what to them and when and how.
__________________
 
07-29-10, 06:51 AM   #48
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Probably what will have to happen is for nUI to anchor the chat frame the first time and then not touch it at all, ever, after that if Prat or Chatter is installed.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
07-29-10, 08:42 AM   #49
Deimous
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 50
Did some testing this morning, and nUI without Prat enabled works perfectly. When I enable prat, I start seeing the positioning bug again (but the chat tabs are all working great). If it's possible to just say "Hey, chat frames, you go here and don't move even if something else tells you to move" then, that'd be good. I was playing with some settings in prat after I manually moved the chat window to where it should be, and when I checked some boxes, it moved my chat windows back to the out of place above the nUI interface spot again.

I did a little research on the .lua error, and they say it's fixed... but, I just downloaded the latest release, and found that it was not fixed, so I don't know what's going on there... lol
 
07-29-10, 05:51 PM   #50
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- I'm going to have nUI set the chat frame location for the main frame if you have Prat or Chatter installed and then get out of the way. Hopefully that will solve the problem with Prat and nUI bumping heads.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
07-30-10, 12:40 AM   #51
timtheenchan
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
timing

I don't use prat at all but do use nui+ on all my toons. But i do have realid. I have noticed on the toon that the chat windows work on they are sometimes not all there, but the little box is there. So i am wondering if it is a loading sequence/timing issue with realid enabled?
 
08-01-10, 12:31 PM   #52
Evelarada
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
I also have to use the /nui rl to get the created tabs to show. I did notice one other problem tho. I can't post in my created tabs unless i go into bliz interface chat options and select IM style, If i use the classic style option i cant type anything into my created tabs. I am not using any chat programs at all.
 
08-01-10, 02:06 PM   #53
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah -- when you're using the classic style, the chat edit box is attached to the main chat frame and it's the only chat box. Since the main frame is hidden, so is it. I'll try and address that in the next update.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-03-10, 12:48 PM   #54
cdh555
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
OK first post, first off hello!
Second thanks for Nui I love it.

Now for the chat tabs, like others I run Nui wiht prat.
With prat's latest version 3.3.23, and Nui 5.06.29+ I have theproblem in that only my first tab (the one that is normally on the left) is shown which is what I believe this thread is about.
What I found was that switch back to Nui 5.06.28+ and all the tabs are returned and work as expected.
Hope this helps as to me it looks like something in the changes from 28 to 29 have caused this so should help in eliminating down what caused the hiccup.
 
08-03-10, 01:22 PM   #55
Deimous
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 50
In the .28 version, if you do a /reload, does it make the position of the tabs all weird at all?
 
08-03-10, 02:39 PM   #56
cdh555
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
Using nui 5.06.28+ both a /nui rl and a /reload work in that they don't mess up my chat tabs.
 
08-03-10, 04:39 PM   #57
XXXmahakalaXXX
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
hi,
only my main-chat is working, all other chats aren't showing on
regards

using nui+...29 and latest prat
 
08-04-10, 01:08 AM   #58
blademage727
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
blademage727's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by reddrumjay View Post
OK - my head is swimming from reading all this power debugging!

I haven't tried any of these fixes yet, ...
Ok, so I am having the issue everyone's been discussing here, in some form or another. And I have the same feeling of being lost in all the debugging. I am usually pretty good at figuring out coding stuff (I've managed to make a number of addons on my own, I have done a fair amount of programming outside of WoW, and am a Computer Science: Game Design major...), so I'm going to assume it's the fact that it's getting late, so I'm getting tired and my eyes are starting to hurt... ^_^"

Regardless, this is the problem I'm having:

Only the first chat tab is showing up. The info panel combat log is working as well. The other tabs won't show up. When I reload the ui, all the tabs show up. I use prat, but have tried disabling it and that didn't change anything.

Finally, there are these little icons that show up (seemingly) randomly. They look like the third icon (from the left) of the Recount window icons: a piece of paper that has lines on it and the top-right corner folded over. However, the icon(s) has been randomly appearing for a while now (long before 3.5 came out, possibly even before 3.3). I never knew what addon was causing them, but I think someone may have mentioned them in this thread, so I'm going to assume nUI is making them. I am not sure what event causes them to show up. Before 3.5, usually only one would show up (I think), and it would be on the x-axis of the screen (assuming a four-quadrant graph with the origin at the center of the screen) and a bit in from the left edge of the screen. Since 3.5, sometimes a second one will appear, also on the x-axis, but at a different distance from the left edge of the screen. Any ideas on what is causing this? (Also, what are they supposed to do in any case? They don't seem to react to any mouse clicks, with or without modifier clicks... ¬¬" )
 
08-04-10, 05:02 AM   #59
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
nUI is definitely not making that paper icon you're referring to... I'm not sure where's that's coming from and I'm not sure it's related to the chat tab issue.

The chat tab issue appears to be a conflict between nUI and Prat, but I'm not 100% sure that's all there is to it.

I've been dealing with a lot -- family and work -- for about a month now (or so it feels like to me) and have been behind the curve trying to work on nUI. I haven't even logged into WoW in all that time. However, things have stabilized and I delivered two critical projects Monday night. I took the day off yesterday (first day off in many weeks) and did squat. Felt nice ~lol~

Batteries recharged and time on my hands again, I expect to be back to work on nUI tonight. I'll start by addressing this issue is it's pretty much the only significant bug (aside from the FPS leak) in nUI5. Then back to nUI6. I don't know if I'll get a fix out for nUI5 tonight, but I'll get it out as soon as I can nail down a fix.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-04-10, 09:54 AM   #60
wykydwaze
Premium Member
 
wykydwaze's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
I think it has to do with the ReaID thing, when it first went live my chat was completely broken sometimes only one line of chat would display at a time. I turned on the chat bubbles so I could see what everyone was saying on runs and got dizzy from all the spinning around. lol
The first maintenance after it went live fixed some things and it has been functioning partially at least since then. I can't type in any but the main tab, I have a tab for guild and whisp, and one for just whisp, but if I want to awnser any of them I must return to the main tab to do so. I can see a shaded box from the chat window that is overlapping the buttons on the left it's not enough to prevent me from using them but, it's not click through. I can't create any new tabs either. The only other chat mod I had was chat watch that makes an audible when a guild or whisp comes in, but I disabled it when I first started having problems and have removed it completely now.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » Chat tabs are disappearing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off