Quantcast Windows Junction Setup? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-31-14, 07:25 PM   #1
Rythal
Featured Artist
Featured
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,447
Windows Junction Setup?

So I'm sure i read somewhere about creating junctions (kinda like sym links, i'm more use to linux :P).

Anyone able to better describe how to do this? Part of what slows me down, and makes commits more hesitant is I keep all my git on a networked drive, and edit those files then copy what I edited to my wow folder for testing. So much easier if I can edit live and not worry about copying constantly.
  Reply With Quote
01-01-15, 02:46 AM   #2
nelegalno2
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 132
If you are on Vista+ you can use:
Code:
mklink /D "C:\GAMES\WoW\Interface\AddOns\Carbonite" X:\DEV\Carbonite
P.S. You have to do this for each directory and need to map the network drive in order for this to work.
  Reply With Quote
01-15-15, 06:18 PM   #3
Crablouse
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Exclamation

Hi!
Under Windows 7 and later you need full administrator rights to create a link (including UAC context switch)
Normal Users cannot run mklink
  Reply With Quote
01-15-15, 09:46 PM   #4
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,251
HowToGeek article.

GUI wrapper.
or
Shell Extension.
  Reply With Quote
01-20-15, 01:14 AM   #5
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 789
The shell ext looks nice.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: Dev Talk » Windows Junction Setup?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off